1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

APN Issues

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by YamR1, Feb 10, 2017.

  1. YamR1

    YamR1 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    81
    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2010

    Mar 28, 2010
    81
    3
    16
    Hello forum, just switched from verizon to straight talk on my s5 and now I have no data.. Seems I need to change APN settings but the phone wont let me. Anyone know how to fix or get around this issue? Thanks!
     

    Advertisement

  2. NickoPrime

    NickoPrime Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    26
    Posts:
    22
    Joined:
    May 17, 2016

    May 17, 2016
    22
    7
    26
    Male
    Student
    Europe
    Is your phone locked to Verizon? If so then the only way to get mobile data to work with other providers is by unlocking your phone (also known as rooting), which may cause irreparable damaga to the device.
    Otherwise I really don't know what is happening to your phone, I'm not an expert when it comes to mobile data stuff.
     
  3. Father Guido

    Father Guido Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    108
    Posts:
    425
    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2015

    Aug 24, 2015
    425
    425
    108
    Male
    Electrician
    SE Michigan
    Sounds like you have the wrong sim. Straight Talk uses at least 3 of the 4 major carriers AFAIK. If the phone was on Verizon, you need to get the correct sim (CDMA red). Unsure how you go about it with them as I use a different Verizon MVNO. Phone apn shouldn't be an issue then. I think I would contact St and explain the situation. They should be able to provide you with one or guide you where to get one and reprovision (program) it.
     
    #3 Father Guido, Feb 11, 2017
    Last edited: Feb 11, 2017
  4. Father Guido

    Father Guido Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    108
    Posts:
    425
    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2015

    Aug 24, 2015
    425
    425
    108
    Male
    Electrician
    SE Michigan
    All Verizon 4g phones are GSM unlocked. I believe that the issue is that they put the OP on one of their GSM networks instead of the Verizon (CDMA) one. The correct sim should solve the problem.
     
  5. YamR1

    YamR1 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    81
    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2010

    Mar 28, 2010
    81
    3
    16
    My phone is already rooted. Also it is already switched over to straight talk.. guess I should have given more detail. The voice and text work fine.. juts no data. I have called straight talk and verizon multiple times and get a different answer each time. Finally got some advice today that maybe makes sense.. I had my number ported from verizon and evidently its still in progress.. didnt know it would take days. Anyway, I was told it should clear up within a day or two so we will see..
     
  6. NickoPrime

    NickoPrime Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    26
    Posts:
    22
    Joined:
    May 17, 2016

    May 17, 2016
    22
    7
    26
    Male
    Student
    Europe
    I don't live in the US so I didn't know that, thanks for the info tho :)
     
  7. Father Guido

    Father Guido Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    108
    Posts:
    425
    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2015

    Aug 24, 2015
    425
    425
    108
    Male
    Electrician
    SE Michigan
    Root or not doesn't matter, it's the "carrier" that (you) or ST put you on. Verizon and Sprint are both CDMA, but different bands. If you are on a GSM platform, you can still get voice/text, but no data. Clear as mud I know, but I hope you fare well.

    Edit: porting vs a new number can complicate things considerably. If you are interested in ultimate portability, get yourself a Google voice number and simply forward everything to whatever device/carrier you want to use.
     
    #7 Father Guido, Feb 11, 2017
    Last edited: Feb 11, 2017
  8. wildonejnck31112

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2017

    Mar 5, 2017
    6
    1
    5
    How do you get a Google Voice number
     
  9. mydian

    mydian Android Expert
    Rank:
     #81
    Points:
    233
    Posts:
    1,437
    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2012

    Apr 8, 2012
    1,437
    679
    233
    Male
    2-Way Radio Repair Technician
    Chicagoland
    You can start using it here: https://voice.google.com
     
  10. mydian

    mydian Android Expert
    Rank:
     #81
    Points:
    233
    Posts:
    1,437
    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2012

    Apr 8, 2012
    1,437
    679
    233
    Male
    2-Way Radio Repair Technician
    Chicagoland
    delete (double post)
     
  11. SoonersChuck

    SoonersChuck Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    28
    Posts:
    17
    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2017

    Mar 19, 2017
    17
    11
    28
    Male
    if you have root, Get aptoide, or from Google Play, download Total Commander, enable the root options.search for apn...should show you 2 preferred apn settings...you can alter them if you choose
     
  12. SoonersChuck

    SoonersChuck Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    28
    Posts:
    17
    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2017

    Mar 19, 2017
    17
    11
    28
    Male
    if you have root, Get aptoide, or from Google Play, download Total Commander, enable the root options.search for apn...should show you 2 preferred apn settings...you can alter them if you choose
     
  13. Xavier Black

    Xavier Black Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
     #106
    Points:
    153
    Posts:
    660
    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2015

    Sep 21, 2015
    660
    257
    153
    Male
    Texas
    If you didn't get data from the start you probably won't get it..there's a video in YouTube that well give you some light how to bypass all of that..It's under "domestic unlock for galaxy s5"..it worked for me since I transferred from Sprint to T-Mobile..
     

Samsung Galaxy S5

The Samsung Galaxy S5 was announced in 2014 and was the company's first flagship of the year. The device featured a 5.1-inch display with a resolution of 1920 x 1080, 2GB of RAM, 16GB of storage, and a 16MP primary rear camera.

Share This Page

Loading...