1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General APN types - explain to a newbie

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by runtmms, Jan 23, 2013.

  1. runtmms

    runtmms Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    164
    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2013

    Jan 5, 2013
    164
    32
    43
    Denver
    So I'm new to adding APNs and am confused by the 'type' field. 'default' appears to be for data access, 'mms' is self explanatory, what is 'supl'?

    Also, it seems like some people set up different APNs for each type - and insist it makes a difference, others do a single APN with multiple types. Does it matter?
     

    Advertisement

  2. Xyro

    Xyro 4 8 15 16 23 42
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #18
    Points:
    1,413
    Posts:
    12,876
    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009

    Dec 1, 2009
    12,876
    9,194
    1,413
    UK
    I'm not 100% sure, but from what I can gather from google supl is some kind of data transfer associated with "Assisted GPS". GPS is normally passive but this data transfer allows you to speed up the first lock by accessing information from the mobile network.

    As for whether to combine them or not - just go with the recommended APN on your carrier's website.
     
  3. Digital Controller

    Digital Controller The Real Bass Creator
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    953
    Posts:
    12,647
    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2012

    Sep 5, 2012
    12,647
    3,553
    953
    Male
    Civil Engineer
    Cincinnati, Ohio
    I think these are the APN settings for Solavei if you need them:

     
    runtmms likes this.
  4. EarlyMon

    EarlyMon The PearlyMon
    Rank:
     #1
    Points:
    5,218
    Posts:
    57,632
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010

    Jun 10, 2010
    57,632
    70,418
    5,218
    New Mexico, USA
    runtmms likes this.
  5. runtmms

    runtmms Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    164
    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2013

    Jan 5, 2013
    164
    32
    43
    Denver
    Thanks for the responses. I didn't have any luck with my own search. My Solavei APN settings are working fine. I was just trying to figure out why the recommended Solavei settings don't have a
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...