1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support App auto-update

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by adkinsjm, Aug 27, 2010.

  1. adkinsjm

    adkinsjm Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009

    Nov 8, 2009
    9
    0
    5
    Anyone get the Market auto-update function to work? It worked before the firmware update. Done a couple of factory resets.

    And yes, I know that the applications need to be updated because it says update in the Downloads section of the market and it's not an Update-Manual Only.
     

    Advertisement

  2. RJT185

    RJT185 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    550
    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2010

    Aug 21, 2010
    550
    51
    78
    Pittsburgh, PA
    Do you have the "Allow Auto-Update" checkbox marked for each app?
     
  3. adkinsjm

    adkinsjm Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009

    Nov 8, 2009
    9
    0
    5
  4. RJT185

    RJT185 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    550
    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2010

    Aug 21, 2010
    550
    51
    78
    Pittsburgh, PA
    I hate to keep asking questions, what about Background Data being enabled? Same with all the other CDMA connectivity options? Make sure you don't have the "Sync Only Over WiFi" selected.
     
  5. adkinsjm

    adkinsjm Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009

    Nov 8, 2009
    9
    0
    5
    It seems others have this same problem, and Google and Verizon refuse to address it.
     
  6. Old Man

    Old Man Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    271
    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010

    Jul 19, 2010
    271
    37
    43
    Marietta, GA
    I believe that the Android Market Auto Update functionality is part of Android 2.2, so if it is not working that seems to be a Google and possibly Motorola issue, so what does Verizon have to do with it unless it is a Verizon app being addressed?
     
  7. adkinsjm

    adkinsjm Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009

    Nov 8, 2009
    9
    0
    5
    Verizon has something to do with how the market works. Why do you think there is a separate Verizon or Sprint tab on the market home page? Verizon could be blocking auto updates. Who knows since other users seems to have the same problem, but Google isn't addressing the issue in public.
     
  8. Lightnspirit

    Lightnspirit Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    78
    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010

    Jul 17, 2010
    78
    0
    15
    WA State
    My apps auto update from the market, I do click the "auto update app" check box when I download something as well.
     
  9. defkorn

    defkorn Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    270
    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2009

    Dec 16, 2009
    270
    25
    43
    The market app checks what carrier you are on, then displays the appropriate tab. Verizon has nothing to do with auto-updating or any issues that may come up as a result.

    As someone else said, check your sync settings.
     
  10. RJT185

    RJT185 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    550
    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2010

    Aug 21, 2010
    550
    51
    78
    Pittsburgh, PA
    @adkinsjm

    It is a brand new feature, so it's possibly a bug or just hasn't been enable on the market side of things. I wouldn't go as far as accusing VZW of withholding features. Give it a couple weeks and let's see what the new fixes are with the new software update.

    In the mean time, try an app like "App Brain" to help you monitor what apps have updates available.
     
  11. adkinsjm

    adkinsjm Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009

    Nov 8, 2009
    9
    0
    5
    Apps started auto updating for me. Must have been a Market issue.
     
  12. hayesap8

    hayesap8 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2011

    Feb 1, 2011
    1
    0
    5
    I have exactly the same problem as the original poster, but this started happening after his was already ok. On my Droid 2/Froyo, apps used to autoupdate but do not any more. The autoupdate option is checked. I have tried reboots, going to the Market, Market/My Apps, checking and unchecking the Market option to notify of updates, checked my syncing, erased the Market data and tried again, and uninstalled Market updates (they came back after a reboot).

    One thing- while rechecking all my autoupdate check boxes after deleting Market data, the Market crashed. I'm about ready to enact the rest of the metaphor and jump out a window. Any ideas?
     

Share This Page

Loading...