1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General App Max

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by tanner2007, Jan 16, 2009.

  1. tanner2007

    tanner2007 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    55
    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2009

    How many apps can you have installed?
     

    Advertisement

  2. devolio

    devolio Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    339
    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2008

    Oct 30, 2008
    339
    37
    43
    Developer
    Michigan
    Without modifications, you have about ~70MB of application space when you first get your phone. There's no specific number that it will stop at, but when your space is full you're maxed out - unless you root your G1, and move the Applications to the MSD/MSDHC card.
     
  3. tanner2007

    tanner2007 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    55
    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2009

    That brings me to my next questions

    1)how could i download then install to my SD card

    2)If I figure out how to download/install them to my SD card and lets say reset my phone how would i readd them if there on my card?
     
  4. dkaufman1

    dkaufman1 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    118
    Posts:
    1,202
    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2008

    Oct 24, 2008
    1,202
    29
    118
    Android Scientists
    The Lab
    Get the program astro, it does both. It copies a backup to your sd card (which you should backup to your PC regularly) and can restore from the sd card if you wipe your phone.

    Keep in mind it only does the .apk file, NOT all the settings as far as I know.
     
  5. kabbie_mcfeely

    kabbie_mcfeely Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    61
    Posts:
    547
    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009

    Jan 14, 2009
    547
    6
    61
    Remember that you can not run apps from your SD card at this time.
     
  6. dkaufman1

    dkaufman1 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    118
    Posts:
    1,202
    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2008

    Oct 24, 2008
    1,202
    29
    118
    Android Scientists
    The Lab
    Right you would need to re-add Astro first and then restore.
     
  7. devolio

    devolio Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    339
    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2008

    Oct 30, 2008
    339
    37
    43
    Developer
    Michigan
    Uhm, yes you can. All you need is root. Easily done.
     
  8. kabbie_mcfeely

    kabbie_mcfeely Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    61
    Posts:
    547
    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009

    Jan 14, 2009
    547
    6
    61
    For thoose of us that dont want to take the chance of screwing up our phones there is no way to safely run apps from an sd card.

    I will wait for a safe way to run apps from the sd card.
     
  9. devolio

    devolio Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    339
    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2008

    Oct 30, 2008
    339
    37
    43
    Developer
    Michigan
    Well, if you updated your phone from RC29 to RC30 (ota) you did the same thing (flashing) that you would be doing yourself. The way you get root is a leaked nbh from HTC - unless HTC is in the business of bricking their own devices, I'd almost go as far as to say that you would have to try pretty damn hard to make it brick your phone. I've not seen a single report of anyone bricking their phone, but to each their own.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...