• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Apps App Reverse Engineered and relisted, what can I do??

I am a relatively new android developer (6 months with 5 very basic android apps released to date)
Before this I had no experience whatsoever and have thought myself everything I have needed to know as I went along.
I was aware that android apps can be fairly straight forward to reverse engineer so I made sure to use proguard to atleast offer some level of defence.

One of my applications was originally listed on the 11th of september and after the first month the downloads started to decline as it would no longer have been receiving any prominence in Google play. However afew days later I started to see a spike in my google analytics suddenly the app was getting an extra couple hundred downloads a day, but with no increased income, I looked through my stats and could see most of the downloads were for a version code which I had never released and although most of my downloads were showing as originating from certain countries I had practically no impressions showing for these countries in my admob, etc...

At this stage the downloads were still increasing, I was convinced that someone must have cloned my app and relisted it without removing the reference to my google analytics so I began looking through the app store for similar apps which were initially released when the increase in downloads began. It took less than 5 minutes to find it, and after a quick download and test I knew without doubt this was my application!!

The person had copied my icon but changed some colors(truth be told theirs looks better)
Changed the splash page ( once again an improvement on my own)