1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root app that roots, install roms, wifi tether for you

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by pilotcharles747, Feb 3, 2010.

  1. pilotcharles747

    pilotcharles747 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    55
    Posts:
    100
    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009

    Nov 19, 2009
    100
    0
    55
    aerospace
    ft campbell

    Advertisement

  2. Branndon

    Branndon Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    481
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009

    Nov 10, 2009
    481
    30
    43
    Website Developer
    Orange County, CA
    way cool! I'm already running Bugless Beast, but that's awesome.
     
  3. vincentp

    vincentp Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    128
    Posts:
    1,640
    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009

    Nov 11, 2009
    1,640
    59
    128
    Mortgage Underwriter
    Rochester, NY
    I've gotta say, that's pretty cool. I'm using Bugless Beast as well but those Sholes guys are at the top of the game.
     
  4. messenger13

    messenger13 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    3,133
    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009

    Dec 8, 2009
    3,133
    381
    163
    Director of IT
    Cleveland, OH
    From it's description, it appears to be limited to installing ONLY Sholes' ROMs. Better than nothing. But I'm so glad I can do it old skool. ;)
     
  5. pilotcharles747

    pilotcharles747 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    55
    Posts:
    100
    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009

    Nov 19, 2009
    100
    0
    55
    aerospace
    ft campbell
    True it is sholes and as you can see they will continue to update, but want you get everything installed for you i believe you should be able flash other roms. they just doing all the commands to get to that point. its a good app, if you already rooted then you good, but for those who havent its a good thing.
     
  6. Needsdecaf

    Needsdecaf Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    118
    Posts:
    1,005
    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009

    Nov 6, 2009
    1,005
    41
    118
    Northern VA
    I honestly don't think this is a good thing.

    At first, before I rooted, I wanted an app like this. I wanted "one touch" root access, etc.

    However, since there wasn't much like it out at the time I have had to do it all myself...with some help from kind forum members, of course!

    But now that I have and I know what I'm doing, I'm not afraid to play around and can fix issues when they arise. To be honest, there are opportunities for things to get screwed up when loading ROMS. And it's not you, sometimes it's the developer. But without screwing around, I'd have completely freaked out when my phone went into boot loop when loading a new ROM. Because I had learned to do things the right way, I had a nandroid backup and knew how to re-boot and restore from the nandroid backup.

    Same with moving and pushing files, etc.

    These types of tools have their use in making operations faster. But if you haven't rooted, I suggest NOT using them first. Just my $0.02
     
  7. Gunner

    Gunner Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    660
    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009

    Nov 9, 2009
    660
    89
    78
    Might be interested in this, if I could flash other roms (like BB). Anybody know if that's possible? Don't know why it wouldn't be.
     
  8. Doubledee90

    Doubledee90 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    357
    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2009

    anyone test it yet? sounds pretty interesting, I have been thinking of rooting and putting 2.1 on, but not sure yet
     
  9. ProfGreenMau5

    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    Im looking for something to help me root, install 2.1 and bugless beauty... any one have suggestions.. or can guide me in the right direction... im new to this.. sorry
     
  10. pilotcharles747

    pilotcharles747 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    55
    Posts:
    100
    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009

    Nov 19, 2009
    100
    0
    55
    aerospace
    ft campbell
    i along with a bunch of people tested the app and the developer is on the forum answering questions. ITS A GOOD app dont take my word for it check the forum

    App that roots/OCs/multi-touches and tethers for $5 - Page 29 - Droid Forum - Verizon Droid & the Motorola Droid Forum

    features wifi tethering, multi touch on default web browser, 5 screens, nicer wall paper, if flash and provides a back up for you. Again do not let me or anyone else decide for you check the forum, if you like install, if not that is good as well. I know i was on the fence about to jump off the root idea and that just help me to climb on to the root side.
     
  11. jnngill

    jnngill Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    44
    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009

    Nov 6, 2009
    44
    2
    16
    I donated the $5.00 right away. This is the kind of hard work that needed to be rewarded.
     
  12. joneee

    joneee Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    121
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009

    Nov 10, 2009
    121
    1
    36
    I just paid for it. Installed without any problems. Took about 30 minutes since it had to download the roms. Works really well!! Best $5 I've spent all year :)
     
  13. pilotcharles747

    pilotcharles747 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    55
    Posts:
    100
    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009

    Nov 19, 2009
    100
    0
    55
    aerospace
    ft campbell
    Glad to here it is working for you all, spread the word.

    im quoting this from droidforum.net because this is the common question:
    Originally Posted by pilotcharles747 [​IMG]
    Originally Posted by Miami1683 [​IMG]
    Originally Posted by Camel [​IMG]

    Just run the updater again; it'll send you through the install process again.



    ok ill try now


    Originally Posted by Miami1683 [​IMG]
    Originally Posted by Camel [​IMG]

    Yes, just uncheck the box to remove car home in the installer. I personally hate the thing; every time I put my phone in the car dock, a useless window pops up over what I'm doing.



    .

    I have to tell you thanks for the support and coming here. I think you'll find alot of people here really like this app and option. Great Job!



    my bad bro i posted the wrong one





    click on the sholesmod updater again install tar and follow the above instructions
     
  14. pilotcharles747

    pilotcharles747 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    55
    Posts:
    100
    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009

    Nov 19, 2009
    100
    0
    55
    aerospace
    ft campbell
    the app allows for you to remove factory installed apps, well some people actually used car home, amazon, facebook, and the other apps. so if you want to reinsatll it follow thos instructions. I am on droidforums.net if you have any more questions. I will try to check this thread again for questions.
     
  15. pilotcharles747

    pilotcharles747 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    55
    Posts:
    100
    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009

    Nov 19, 2009
    100
    0
    55
    aerospace
    ft campbell
    any of you running the sholesmod updater app and you are having a problem with wifi here is the fix:


    1) (after you done the steps here: App that roots/OCs/multi-touches and tethers for $5) click on this link from your droid: wireless_tether_2_0-pre3_eclair.apk - android-wifi-tether - Wireless Tether for Root Users 2.0-pre3 *** FOR SUPPORTED ANDROID 2.x DEVICES ONLY *** >>> EXPERIMENTAL <<< - Project Hosting on Google Code
    it will download
    2) after its done click and say replace
    3) go into app, click allow
    4) go into set up and change ssid (make it ur name or something)
    5) on your lap top go into control panel and view network
    6) find the ssid you made
    7) because it will consider it unsecured you are going to have to click on it (on ur laptop) and allow. u will know it works when ur phone vibrate
    8) go into diagnostics and repair and repain the setting. u should get a yellow security dialogue box, accept.
    I just did this on 2 diff lap tops one is an old 2006 toshiba satellite running windows xp, and the other is a new toshiba satellite running windows 7. Its the same for both


    also posted here: After the $5 App Shole Root Wifi Tether fix?
     
  16. Fabolous

    Fabolous Superuser
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    3,635
    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009

    Nov 7, 2009
    3,635
    2,126
    313
    Multi-platinum Rapper
    Illinois
    For any of you with this app, the new Sholes.info 2.0.0 ROM is out and it looks promising.

    550MHz stock but OC'able to 800 and 1000.

    Option for JIT runtime

    FLAC support

    Multitouch browser, gallery, maps


    And for those interested but not willing to donate $5 to the Sholes team, it'll be available to the public tomorrow.
     
  17. pilotcharles747

    pilotcharles747 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    55
    Posts:
    100
    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009

    Nov 19, 2009
    100
    0
    55
    aerospace
    ft campbell

    just updated to it and it oc at 1000, has smoke glass rom and other features. it rebooted 3 times, but after it calmed down it was smooth/ Though it oc at 1000 im liking 800, ima keep it there.
     
  18. iamloco724

    iamloco724 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    61
    Posts:
    739
    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009

    Nov 6, 2009
    739
    4
    61
    If i install this and want to go back unrooted current version of my phone is it easy to do how is it done?
     
  19. Psychokitty

    Psychokitty Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    613
    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009

    Dec 14, 2009
    613
    64
    78
    In the forum dog house.
    This is definitely the way to go for me because I just don't know all of the vocabulary. I've been lurking the alldroid boards, and I just can't get a firm grasp of it. Even when members take time to lay out their step by step instructions in as basic a manor as they can just to help me, I stay stuck on step number 1!

    ...And 5 bucks is nothing for such capabilities. If there was a "performance model" Droid sitting next to mine in the Verizon store that did what this allows for $100 more, I wouldn't have hesitated grabbing it.
     
  20. bgish3

    bgish3 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    72
    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009

    Nov 8, 2009
    72
    0
    15
    i just bought this app last night and it is worth every cent even though they are going to give it away on the sholes website in a couple days but it is extremely easy to use and extremely fast....also on not being able to flash any other roms i think you can you just have to boot into recovery and select the other rom that you put on your sd card

    hope that helps you guys
     
  21. kbayer

    kbayer Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    417
    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009

    Dec 5, 2009
    417
    32
    43
    Houston, Tx
    Man, I'm all twisted up inside. I've already boxed my Droid up, ready to send it back (no verizon coverage at my home -- not Droid's fault):eek:, but seeing these apps and modification make me just wanna keep it and get a landline for home use. Wow... :eek:

    Can someone kinda lay out what the difference is in this modfication, vs bugless beauty, bugless beast, or other modifications? If you do this new $5 app, can you still do bugless? Would you want to or need to?
     
  22. dougwilson2000

    dougwilson2000 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    83
    Posts:
    521
    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010

    Jan 4, 2010
    521
    17
    83
    NW.Indiana U.S.A.
    Ok, if all this is good and safe ( I am leery of rooting ) why doesn't Google give this to every one?.
     
  23. kbayer

    kbayer Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    417
    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009

    Dec 5, 2009
    417
    32
    43
    Houston, Tx
    One other question -- when (if) the 2.1 update ever gets here, will I have to switch back to stock to get 2.1? Here too, would I want too?
     
  24. Keebs

    Keebs Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    28
    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009

    Dec 28, 2009
    28
    0
    15
    Sales Manager
    Cincinnati
    1.2.rom is oc'd @ 600

    2.0.0.rom @ 550

    how easy is it to oc the sholes 2.0.0.rom?
     
  25. pilotcharles747

    pilotcharles747 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    55
    Posts:
    100
    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009

    Nov 19, 2009
    100
    0
    55
    aerospace
    ft campbell

    Buy set cpu then go in to governor and switch it to userspace that fixed it for me.
     

Share This Page

Loading...