1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

App to make changes to the top bar?

Discussion in 'Android Apps & Games' started by DatacomGuy, Apr 7, 2010.

  1. DatacomGuy

    DatacomGuy Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    297
    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2010

    Mar 8, 2010
    297
    7
    36
    Male
    Atlanta, FL
    The notification bar or status bar or whatever you want to call it..

    Looking for an app to allow changes, such as removing the clock, changing appearance of the battery icon or etc etc...

    Such animal exist?
     

    Advertisement

  2. jwmacdon1231

    jwmacdon1231 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,139
    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009

    Nov 15, 2009
    1,139
    119
    143
    Student
    Houston, TX
    Unfortunately no.
     
  3. (G)

    (G) Android Expert
    Rank:
     #306
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    751
    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2009

    However, Bar Control lets you add apps to the Notification Bar, so that you can pull it down and start those apps from any screen in any program.
     
  4. TopShelf10

    TopShelf10 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    91
    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2010

    Apr 7, 2010
    91
    9
    16
    South Shore
    yah i use bar control, its a great concept....but i think youll find thta onc eyou have it you dont use it nearly as much as youd think you would

    as far as customizing appearance, that sounds like something that would require root access <:O
     
  5. jwmacdon1231

    jwmacdon1231 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,139
    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009

    Nov 15, 2009
    1,139
    119
    143
    Student
    Houston, TX
    TopShelf is right. You'll need to root to customize the notification bar.

    TopShelf is also right about Bar Control. Its a great concept but now that I have it I don't use it nearly as much.
     
  6. DatacomGuy

    DatacomGuy Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    297
    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2010

    Mar 8, 2010
    297
    7
    36
    Male
    Atlanta, FL
    Off to root I go then.
     
  7. jwmacdon1231

    jwmacdon1231 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,139
    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009

    Nov 15, 2009
    1,139
    119
    143
    Student
    Houston, TX
    Good luck.

    Sent from my Cliq XT using Tapatalk
     
  8. grainysand

    grainysand Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,580
    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010

    Feb 4, 2010
    1,580
    175
    143
    Like this?

    [​IMG]

    Yes, you need root.
     
  9. DatacomGuy

    DatacomGuy Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    297
    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2010

    Mar 8, 2010
    297
    7
    36
    Male
    Atlanta, FL
    I like that.. but i wanted to take one step further, and remove the clock.
     
  10. grainysand

    grainysand Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,580
    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010

    Feb 4, 2010
    1,580
    175
    143
    Already doable. You'll have to look up how to do it specifically for your device, however.
     
  11. DatacomGuy

    DatacomGuy Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    297
    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2010

    Mar 8, 2010
    297
    7
    36
    Male
    Atlanta, FL
    Beautiful. Gracias.
     
  12. milrtime83

    milrtime83 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    668
    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009

    Nov 4, 2009
    668
    74
    78
    Look into a program called xultimate over at alldroid for info on removing the clock.
     

Share This Page

Loading...