1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

App to monitor heat?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Kirch21, Jan 29, 2010.

  1. Kirch21

    Kirch21 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    293
    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009

    Dec 9, 2009
    293
    18
    38
    This might be a dumb question but is there an app to monitor the heat of your droid internally? You can probably guess why haha
     

    Advertisement

  2. Redflea

    Redflea Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,623
    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009

    Oct 6, 2009
    2,623
    289
    163
    BatteryLife widget, also Sensor List app.
     
  3. Kirch21

    Kirch21 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    293
    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009

    Dec 9, 2009
    293
    18
    38
    Thank you
     
  4. radikal

    radikal Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    928
    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009

    Nov 7, 2009
    928
    10
    63
    i will also thank you
     
  5. CobaltDragon

    CobaltDragon Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    107
    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009

    osmonitor, it rocks
     
  6. Geezer Squid

    Geezer Squid Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    168
    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2009

    Dec 16, 2009
    168
    4
    36
    Sales Rep
    Baton Rouge, LA
    So, how hot is your Droid running?

    I'm running the Bugless Beauty 800mhz. After 10 minutes of web browsing my temp was listed as 93.2 F with Battery Life.
     
  7. PetiePal

    PetiePal Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    761
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009

    Nov 17, 2009
    761
    44
    88
    I'd like to know too at 1Ghz it's gotta be hot
     
  8. Redflea

    Redflea Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,623
    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009

    Oct 6, 2009
    2,623
    289
    163
  9. CobaltDragon

    CobaltDragon Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    107
    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009

    Mine is running stock speed and OS.

    At idle, plugged into USB with battery fully charged and screen at about 80% brightness, it's 81F, up to 85F after a bit of browsing the market. After watching an 8 minute YT video, up to 89F - all while plugged into USB over 3G with wifi and BT off. I know it gets warmer when running off battery or when charging - I'm sure approaching or over 100F.
     
  10. Kirch21

    Kirch21 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    293
    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009

    Dec 9, 2009
    293
    18
    38
    im at 900 and i am running around 97 degress unplugged
     
  11. Geezer Squid

    Geezer Squid Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    168
    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2009

    Dec 16, 2009
    168
    4
    36
    Sales Rep
    Baton Rouge, LA
    I made a mistake in my post above. I was running Bugless Beast, not Bugless Beauty. BTW, I'm now running it at 1Ghz and the highest temp I've seen so far is 95F and that was after 10-15 minutes of hectic browsing (many different pages).
     
  12. Dustinmj

    Dustinmj Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    20
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009

    Nov 17, 2009
    20
    8
    16
    Web Development
    Seattle
  13. mykd99

    mykd99 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    67
    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009

    Dec 8, 2009
    67
    6
    16
    Bravura Live, Owner
    Just installed Bugless Beast 7.3 and loving it, but...

    Looking at SetCPU's 'System Info' option the battery temp. is 38C/100.4F and using OSMonitor it just says temp. is 38C/100.4F. And I'm guessing that those of you using the battery widget are getting the read from the battery temp.

    So my question is what temp. are we looking at here? Battery or CPU? I even adjusted SetCPU to run at 800MHz vs. the 'stock' 950MHz that comes with BuglessBeast and the temp. remained the same.

    Most importantly, should I (us) be worried to run our phones at 950MHz??

    EDIT: Temp Monitor downloaded from the link above reports the same temp.
     
  14. Vanteal

    Vanteal Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    118
    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2009

    Dec 16, 2009
    118
    3
    36
    Sorry, but how can I view temps in Fahrenheit rather then Celsius ? I only see temps in Celsius! grrrr...
     
  15. mykd99

    mykd99 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    67
    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009

    Dec 8, 2009
    67
    6
    16
    Bravura Live, Owner

Share This Page

Loading...