1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support App won't stay open, keeps minimizing

Discussion in 'Android Help' started by Lance2020x, Apr 20, 2016.

  1. Lance2020x

    Lance2020x Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2015

    Sep 4, 2015
    7
    2
    16
    For about two years now I've used an excellent app called "Time Card for Android", however for some odd reason it's just started malfunctioning on my new(ish) Nexus 5x.

    -Google Nexus 5x
    -Version 6.0.1 (not rooted)

    When ever I open the application, it will stay open for about 0.5 seconds, then minimize.
    It stays OPEN/RUNNING, it just minimizes too quickly for me to export.
    I'm afraid to uninstall/reinstall the app as that might lose me weeks of data and $$.

    I have tried:
    -Rebooting my phone
    -Rebooting the app
    -Searching for data through ES File Explorer (the only docs that seemed to carry the data in readable format were previous exports I've already sent in)
    -Sent email to the developer
    *No other app does this
     

    Advertisement

    #1 Lance2020x, Apr 20, 2016
    Last edited: Apr 20, 2016
  2. hjterry

    hjterry Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    21
    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2016

    Apr 19, 2016
    21
    0
    15
    The app looks extremely outdated, like it was developed to run on Android Gingerbread. Maybe you could use a different app?

    Or you could clear the cache and see if that helps, go to Settings>Apps>Time Card for Android> press 'Clear Cache'

    Hope this helps.
    Cheers
     
  3. Lance2020x

    Lance2020x Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2015

    Sep 4, 2015
    7
    2
    16
    Thanks for the advice, I tried it and it didn't do anything :-/

    I don't mind switching to a new app (after this experience I plan to), my problem is that I need to retrieve the data already in there. Is there a way to FREEZE the phone on a screen so that I can keep the app from minimizing itself?
     
  4. Brian706

    Brian706 I like turtles!
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #29
    Points:
    1,053
    Posts:
    9,339
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2012

    Jul 25, 2012
    9,339
    8,582
    1,053
    Drafter
    Did the app work before on that device and Android version or did it never work on your new device and/or after taking a software update on your device?

    I ask because it's possible the app needs to be updated to work with newer versions of Android.

    Whether or not that's the issue, probably the best thing to try would be to email the developer of the app. Let them know which device you are using and which version of Android you are using. Describe the issue you are having and politely ask if they have a solution.

    You can find their contact information in the play store at the bottom of their app listing. I have found that most developers tend to be responsive and very willing to troubleshoot issues with their apps.
     
    mikedt likes this.
  5. Lance2020x

    Lance2020x Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2015

    Sep 4, 2015
    7
    2
    16
    The app did work on the new phone before, but as of two days ago it now has this issue.
    As stated in the original post I have contacted the developers but still have not heard back. Thus my turning here for any possible workarounds I can't think of :-/
    I appreciate your advice, I'll keep trying to get in touch with the developers
     
  6. Brian706

    Brian706 I like turtles!
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #29
    Points:
    1,053
    Posts:
    9,339
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2012

    Jul 25, 2012
    9,339
    8,582
    1,053
    Drafter
    Sorry about that. I overlooked that detail. :oops:

    You could try catching a screenshot. Usually you do this by holding volume down + power at the same time, for a second.

    Also, I see that you tried clearing data and cache on the app already, so it might not hurt to try an uninstall/re-install. If you already cleared the data for the app in settings, then you would have already lost anything you were going to lose. Does this app store data within the app, or is it kept online/in the cloud somewhere? If it's online, you'll most likely still have access to your data.
     

Share This Page

Loading...