1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Apparently I dont have an SD card...?!

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by evomattnc, Apr 13, 2011.

  1. evomattnc

    evomattnc Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    3,245
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011

    Feb 10, 2011
    3,245
    536
    213
    Mechanical Engineer for GE Nuclear
    NC
    Im super irritated. I was rocking the gb MIUI for about a week, running a2sd. Everything was well. Changed a theme last night (didnt flash one, used the built in theme manager and actually only changed the message style) whatever no problem. Turned on airplane mode and went to bed. Woke up it was running shitty so I hot rebooted ok that was better...got a voicemail notification and it froze...like completely froze. Had to battery pull. Now it will not mount the sd card. I didnt realize how much i need my sd card till it wasnt there :(. Its a class 10 patriot 16g btw.

    1. Ran a2sd check, partition exists not mounted
    2. ran mount|grep mmcblk2 and -l /dev/block/mmcblk2, no mount
    2. Removed a2sd to see if the apps would go back to /data but no go they remained on sd.
    4. of course attempted a pointless but SOP wipe of cache and dalvik
    5. pulled sd card and placed back
    6. us/ms toggle in recovery-wont mount to laptop
    7. laptop drivers are fine i used it yesterday, actually i got that it recognized android device it just of course wouldnt mount the removable storage of course
    8. card reader isnt here so i cant check the card itself

    any other suggestions?
     

    Advertisement

  2. evomattnc

    evomattnc Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    3,245
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011

    Feb 10, 2011
    3,245
    536
    213
    Mechanical Engineer for GE Nuclear
    NC
    Old SD card mounts just fine :( looks like a format and repartition is in order. Hopefully I can repair my patriot.
     
  3. youdoofus

    youdoofus Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,131
    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011

    Feb 26, 2011
    2,131
    747
    213
    Tech support rep for Knology
    so dak
    that would be my suggestion.... sd cards are either doa or work fine for darn near ever.... ive left a micro in my coin pocket in my jeans and washed it like a dozen times (yes, im horrible about leavin stuff in my pockets, lost over a dozen packs of smokes over the years this way LoL)
    point being, is that these things are tough lil buggers and i cant imagine that its effed...
     
  4. evomattnc

    evomattnc Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    3,245
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011

    Feb 10, 2011
    3,245
    536
    213
    Mechanical Engineer for GE Nuclear
    NC
    100 percent effed as far as i know. Used the card reader and stuck it in the sd slot on the laptop and nothing...
     
  5. evomattnc

    evomattnc Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    3,245
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011

    Feb 10, 2011
    3,245
    536
    213
    Mechanical Engineer for GE Nuclear
    NC
    if the card slot wont recognize or read i cant do anything with it= broked
     
  6. akazabam

    akazabam Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    4,418
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010

    Jun 7, 2010
    4,418
    1,387
    313
    Near Los Angeles
    So, you're saying that both the normal fat32 partition and the ext partition are inaccessible? Here are a couple of things you can try just for diagnostics (with the 16 GB card in the phone):

    1) From recovery, go to mounts, and see if you can try and mount it (either partition) from there. I don't expect it to work, but see what output it gives you.
    2) While booted up, open the terminal emulator, and run:

    su
    mount -o noatime,nodiratime -t auto /dev/block/mmcblk0p2 /sd-ext

    Notes:

    -Did you check for mmcblk2 or mmcblk0p2? Usually, it's the latter.
    -Assuming you can't access any apps (as they were on the card, correct?), you can get the terminal emulator from here if you haven't already.
    -Did you do an actual uninstall with a2sd from the command line (doesn't matter what method you used to get a prompt)? If not, /data/app might still be linked to the sdcard, and it'll make installing things a pain.
     
  7. evomattnc

    evomattnc Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    3,245
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011

    Feb 10, 2011
    3,245
    536
    213
    Mechanical Engineer for GE Nuclear
    NC
    Ummm...i put it in the card reader and into the laptop and i dont get anything, is there a point in continuing?

    tried to mount it from recovery and hboot, neither worked
    checked for mmcblk2 my bad there
    grab te from market already
    ran a2sd remove from te

    I can put i back in the phone and run the other command you listed...
     
  8. akazabam

    akazabam Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    4,418
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010

    Jun 7, 2010
    4,418
    1,387
    313
    Near Los Angeles
    Are you using windows? When you put it in the card reader, does anything show up in the device manager, at least? The point of running those commands on the phone is not to see if it will work (I have no doubt that it won't), but to see what errors it gives you. The only reason I'm going that route is because you said a2sd reported that the partition was found, but not mounted.
     
  9. evomattnc

    evomattnc Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    3,245
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011

    Feb 10, 2011
    3,245
    536
    213
    Mechanical Engineer for GE Nuclear
    NC
    You think running the read ahead too far might have caused this?
     
  10. evomattnc

    evomattnc Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    3,245
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011

    Feb 10, 2011
    3,245
    536
    213
    Mechanical Engineer for GE Nuclear
    NC
    yes windows, lol didnt look in device manager (im super frustrated) just me computer
    Its back in the phone now, give me a sec to run a few checks, ill report right back
     
  11. evomattnc

    evomattnc Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    3,245
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011

    Feb 10, 2011
    3,245
    536
    213
    Mechanical Engineer for GE Nuclear
    NC
    in recovery mount /sdext
    cant mount dev block mmcblk0p2 for mmcblk0 no such file or directory
     
  12. evomattnc

    evomattnc Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    3,245
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011

    Feb 10, 2011
    3,245
    536
    213
    Mechanical Engineer for GE Nuclear
    NC
    no such device or address after running the command you listed
     
  13. evomattnc

    evomattnc Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    3,245
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011

    Feb 10, 2011
    3,245
    536
    213
    Mechanical Engineer for GE Nuclear
    NC
    a2sd check

    ext partition found but not mounted

    wtf
     
  14. evomattnc

    evomattnc Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    3,245
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011

    Feb 10, 2011
    3,245
    536
    213
    Mechanical Engineer for GE Nuclear
    NC
    more commands in te or onto the laptop now?
     
  15. akazabam

    akazabam Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    4,418
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010

    Jun 7, 2010
    4,418
    1,387
    313
    Near Los Angeles
    No. You could cause problems in the system, but not physically with the card.

    Do that next, and let me know what you see.

    Probably a bug with a2sd. I'd have to look into that later.

    I'm a bit busy today, so I don't have much time at the moment. Give me a bit, and I'll get back to you. I have some ideas.
     
  16. evomattnc

    evomattnc Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    3,245
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011

    Feb 10, 2011
    3,245
    536
    213
    Mechanical Engineer for GE Nuclear
    NC
    OK I get the SDHC driver but no disk drive
     
  17. akazabam

    akazabam Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    4,418
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010

    Jun 7, 2010
    4,418
    1,387
    313
    Near Los Angeles
    And that only happens once you put the card in the reader?
     
  18. evomattnc

    evomattnc Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    3,245
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011

    Feb 10, 2011
    3,245
    536
    213
    Mechanical Engineer for GE Nuclear
    NC
    It makes no difference to the controller whether there is a card in the card reader. The card affects nothing, nor is it listed as a disk drive.
     
  19. evomattnc

    evomattnc Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    3,245
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011

    Feb 10, 2011
    3,245
    536
    213
    Mechanical Engineer for GE Nuclear
    NC
    Just letting you know i had the drivers to recognize my card reader and that wasnt the issue
     
  20. akazabam

    akazabam Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    4,418
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010

    Jun 7, 2010
    4,418
    1,387
    313
    Near Los Angeles
    Okay, so you're just seeing card reader. That's not particularly helpful, I guess. Give me a minute to look something up.
     
  21. evomattnc

    evomattnc Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    3,245
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011

    Feb 10, 2011
    3,245
    536
    213
    Mechanical Engineer for GE Nuclear
    NC
    If i put in the good card it loads it as a disk drive, if i put in the bad card it does nothing at all
     
  22. akazabam

    akazabam Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    4,418
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010

    Jun 7, 2010
    4,418
    1,387
    313
    Near Los Angeles
    Right, I would expect that. The question is whether or not you can attempt to reformat it. If you put the bad card in, do you see anything in disk management? I'm going to guess not.

    EDIT: Regardless of whether or not you can see the card when you put it in the card reader, you might be able to reformat it. Do you have a partition manager of any kind? Try something like easeus. If that can't see it, and the card reader just can't read it, then you might just have a bad card. These things don't usually do that, though.
     
  23. evomattnc

    evomattnc Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    3,245
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011

    Feb 10, 2011
    3,245
    536
    213
    Mechanical Engineer for GE Nuclear
    NC
    Doesnt show up in disk management :(
     
  24. akazabam

    akazabam Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    4,418
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010

    Jun 7, 2010
    4,418
    1,387
    313
    Near Los Angeles
    Sorry, just edited my post above. Try and see it with a partition manager. Since you can't seem to see it anywhere else, I have my doubts, but check anyway.
     
  25. evomattnc

    evomattnc Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    3,245
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011

    Feb 10, 2011
    3,245
    536
    213
    Mechanical Engineer for GE Nuclear
    NC
    No go in easus either
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...