1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

AppBrain made even better with Fast Web installer!

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by DarkNeo, Jul 8, 2010.

  1. DarkNeo

    DarkNeo Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    475
    Joined:
    May 30, 2010

    May 30, 2010
    475
    257
    88
    Los Angeles
    If you haven't already, download the "Fast Web Installer" app to enable automatic download and installation of apps to your phone from the AppBrain site while on your PC. So awesome now to just browse the AppBrain site, click install on all the apps you want, and walk out the door with them automatically downloading and installing. Only works for free apps but that's not a huge problem (it beats waiting for Froyo to enable this feature that's for sure). If you don't use AppBrain, now is a good reason to try it out. :cool:

    Fast Web Installer - Android app on AppBrain
     

    Advertisement

    Edricflo, skpd, Rob_A and 5 others like this.
  2. The Lorax

    The Lorax Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    34
    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010

    Jun 18, 2010
    34
    1
    16
    AppBrain is a great market replacement app and that is a really cool feature!
     
  3. DarkNeo

    DarkNeo Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    475
    Joined:
    May 30, 2010

    May 30, 2010
    475
    257
    88
    Los Angeles
    x2 :D
     
  4. DaDoc04

    DaDoc04 Guest
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

  5. Colorado_Al

    Colorado_Al Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    114
    Joined:
    May 6, 2010

    May 6, 2010
    114
    75
    53
    Only change I made today was adding this. Massive battery drain. Will try again tomorrow.
     
  6. htc.EVOlution

    htc.EVOlution Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    929
    Joined:
    May 10, 2010

    May 10, 2010
    929
    839
    163
    hmmm... good point about battery drain. Need to moniter that really quick
     
  7. DarkNeo

    DarkNeo Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    475
    Joined:
    May 30, 2010

    May 30, 2010
    475
    257
    88
    Los Angeles
    Havent notice any difference here, but I will be monitoring it.
     
  8. htc.EVOlution

    htc.EVOlution Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    929
    Joined:
    May 10, 2010

    May 10, 2010
    929
    839
    163
    honestly I haven't either, but I see one complain.
     
  9. DarkNeo

    DarkNeo Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    475
    Joined:
    May 30, 2010

    May 30, 2010
    475
    257
    88
    Los Angeles
    After a whole day, battery life was normal on my phone. No difference in drop or anything. I pushed probably about 5-7 apps and didnt notice a drop.
     
  10. bvbull200

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    999
    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2010

    Jun 5, 2010
    999
    197
    113
    North Richland Hills, TX
    I couldn't believe that this wasn't an option from the start. When I read about AppBrain, my initial assumption was that it could work in this fashion.
     
  11. skpd

    skpd Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    321
    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010

    Apr 12, 2010
    321
    84
    53
    same here. thanks OP
     
    DarkNeo likes this.
  12. DarkNeo

    DarkNeo Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    475
    Joined:
    May 30, 2010

    May 30, 2010
    475
    257
    88
    Los Angeles
    No Problem :D
     
  13. Edricflo

    Edricflo Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    23
    Posts:
    94
    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2010

    Jun 1, 2010
    94
    42
    23
    Online Content Management and Marketing Intern
    Berkeley, CA
    If anything, just have it on when you're actually on appbrain and shop around for a ton of apps at once. I just do like a daily round of apps so there's no need to leave the app on. Can it even be turned off actually?
     
  14. DarkNeo

    DarkNeo Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    475
    Joined:
    May 30, 2010

    May 30, 2010
    475
    257
    88
    Los Angeles
    No, you just run it once to enable the feature.
     
  15. RoboMonkey

    RoboMonkey Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,194
    Joined:
    May 12, 2010

    May 12, 2010
    1,194
    114
    143
    I see no need for appBrain. I no longer use it. I just download what I want and use Astro to back up and restore my apps. That way if they are ever pulled from the market I still have them.
     
  16. skpd

    skpd Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    321
    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010

    Apr 12, 2010
    321
    84
    53
    I find it easier to browse for apps on a computer when I have one handy.
     
  17. dxCoqui

    dxCoqui Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    102
    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009

    Nov 4, 2009
    102
    8
    36
    Rochester, NY
    Every time I turn off the phone and turn it back on I have to re-run this app. It does not do it automagically like I thought it should. Is there a way to do this.
     
  18. wase4711

    wase4711 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    801
    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2010

    Apr 24, 2010
    801
    157
    93
    outside chicaago
    me 2 :rolleyes:
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...