1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support AppBrain says update available for Flash 10.1

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by cary328is, Aug 20, 2010.

  1. cary328is

    cary328is Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #182
    Points:
    123
    Posts:
    840
    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010

    Mar 1, 2010
    840
    427
    123
    Male
    Electrical Engineer working in healthcare
    San Francisco, CA
    Hi -

    AppBrain is saying there is an update available for Adobe Flash 10.1 but there's no way of updating it. It keeps saying "requested item could not be found" because it's not on the market. Is there really an update for EVO 4G or is this an AppBrain bug? Our version is 10.1.72.7 but according to this:

    Flash Player 10.1 for Android 2.2 Release Notes

    The build number for Flash Player 10.1 for Android 2.2 is 10.1.92.8

    Any help would be much appreciated. Thanks in advance
     

    Advertisement

  2. cary328is

    cary328is Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #182
    Points:
    123
    Posts:
    840
    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010

    Mar 1, 2010
    840
    427
    123
    Male
    Electrical Engineer working in healthcare
    San Francisco, CA
    probinson and EarlyMon like this.
  3. anleva

    anleva Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    59
    Joined:
    May 29, 2010

    May 29, 2010
    59
    2
    16
    I have the same issue. It shows update available in AppBrain but it can't be installed via AppBrain. I'll take a look at the thread you linked.
     
  4. EarlyMon

    EarlyMon The PearlyMon
    Rank:
     #1
    Points:
    5,218
    Posts:
    57,632
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010

    Jun 10, 2010
    57,632
    70,424
    5,218
    New Mexico, USA
    Second link on that page.
     
  5. anleva

    anleva Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    59
    Joined:
    May 29, 2010

    May 29, 2010
    59
    2
    16

    EDIT: Nevermind, I see what you are referring to.
     
  6. EarlyMon

    EarlyMon The PearlyMon
    Rank:
     #1
    Points:
    5,218
    Posts:
    57,632
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010

    Jun 10, 2010
    57,632
    70,424
    5,218
    New Mexico, USA
    Sorry - the mediafire one.
     
  7. cary328is

    cary328is Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #182
    Points:
    123
    Posts:
    840
    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010

    Mar 1, 2010
    840
    427
    123
    Male
    Electrical Engineer working in healthcare
    San Francisco, CA
    EarlyMon et al thank you very much for responding. Please let me know if you guys notice any differences in performance. I've found most videos (animal planet, CBS, and Discovery Channel website) are now running much smoother but take a little bit longer to initially load.

    Oh and yes the correct link for download is:

    http://www.mediafire.com/?tn7q3335ltf5aag

    Sorry for the confusion
     
  8. EarlyMon

    EarlyMon The PearlyMon
    Rank:
     #1
    Points:
    5,218
    Posts:
    57,632
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010

    Jun 10, 2010
    57,632
    70,424
    5,218
    New Mexico, USA
    Probably a good idea for all of us to clear our browser caches.
     
  9. ARR22

    ARR22 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    600
    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010

    Apr 8, 2010
    600
    126
    113
    Male
    Network/System Administrator, I build and fix PC's
    Some where in Iowa. But born and rasied in Austin
    Does the update improve anything noticeable?
     
  10. cary328is

    cary328is Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #182
    Points:
    123
    Posts:
    840
    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010

    Mar 1, 2010
    840
    427
    123
    Male
    Electrical Engineer working in healthcare
    San Francisco, CA
    After a few days of use, I've noticed it plays a ton smoother than previous version. Actually performance is great! There's no longer a lot of jittery playback
     
    EarlyMon likes this.
  11. vinnyt225

    vinnyt225 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    71
    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010

    Jul 20, 2010
    71
    3
    16
    can anyone confirm if the total size is 12.52 MB in "manage applications" ? cuz that's what i have. thanks!
     
  12. EarlyMon

    EarlyMon The PearlyMon
    Rank:
     #1
    Points:
    5,218
    Posts:
    57,632
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010

    Jun 10, 2010
    57,632
    70,424
    5,218
    New Mexico, USA
    Yep - 12.52 MB.
     
  13. discdoc

    discdoc Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    May 31, 2010

    May 31, 2010
    5
    0
    5
    It seems as though these are all workarounds. Is there an "official" way to apply the update?
     
  14. EarlyMon

    EarlyMon The PearlyMon
    Rank:
     #1
    Points:
    5,218
    Posts:
    57,632
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010

    Jun 10, 2010
    57,632
    70,424
    5,218
    New Mexico, USA
    It's possible that at some point in the future Sprint will release this as part of an over the air update.

    As long as carriers and makers jealously guard updates these occasional incremental updates can be quite beneficial.
     
  15. sportsdude81

    sportsdude81 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010

    Aug 3, 2010
    10
    1
    16
    Has anybody tried Hulu with this flash update? Just curious :D
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...