1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

AppBrain

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by fret, Jul 17, 2010.

  1. fret

    fret Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010

    Jul 16, 2010
    9
    2
    6
    AppBrain + Fast web installer works on the Captivate.just installed Easytetherlite and Pdanet free.
    AT&T blocks the tethering apps from the market place.;)
     

    Advertisement

  2. rlb4

    rlb4 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    253
    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2010

    Jun 27, 2010
    253
    12
    38
    NJ
    I asked that exact question in another thread. So with your ATT sim in, you do not see pdanet or easy tether in the market? But if you create an Appbrain account and use the fast web installer it just over the air loads it on your phone?
     
  3. fret

    fret Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010

    Jul 16, 2010
    9
    2
    6
  4. MrTony

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    260
    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010

    Jul 16, 2010
    260
    36
    43
    This is an issue I've been watching with interest. I figured AT&Greed would do that. Good to see it indeed can be gotten around by using AppBrain. I love that site! :D
     
  5. Vtec

    Vtec Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    96
    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010

    Jul 14, 2010
    96
    4
    16
    So this appbrain let's you sideload without rooting? Or am I just lost?
     
  6. fret

    fret Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010

    Jul 16, 2010
    9
    2
    6
    Yes,i believe only from the android market.correct me if i am wrong.
    it seems AT&T is blocking some apps. from installing.But no promblem with appbrain and fast web installer.

    Also i think this only works for free apps.
     
  7. MrTony

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    260
    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010

    Jul 16, 2010
    260
    36
    43
    Damn...I haven't tried any paid apps (I'm cheap :D ) so I honestly don't know about this. I'll have to try it out.
     
  8. timfick99

    timfick99 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010

    Jul 16, 2010
    4
    1
    6
    Thanks for the info! I'm a bit of a noob, so it took me a while to figure out how this works. Here are some directions for noobs like me:

    * Create an appbrain account on the web using a computer.
    * Install both the appbrain and fast web installer apps on your phone. Once installed, run them both and make sure they're both set up and you're logged in.
    * Go back to your appbrain account on your computer. Navigate to the apps you want to install. Click "Install", and they should immediately start installing to your phone.
     
    sonicanatidae likes this.

Share This Page

Loading...