1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support "Application not installed on your phone"

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Peltgrande, Sep 14, 2011.

  1. Peltgrande

    Peltgrande Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010

    Jan 13, 2010
    14
    1
    36
    Midwest
    Got the Bionic day it came out - love it! Having a few similar bugs as others, but want to know if anyone having this one:

    When I hold the 'home' button to access recent launched apps, then tap one of the apps to open it, it sometimes gives me "Application is not installed on your phone." and it doesn't open it.

    If I go to the app drawer and open it, it is there and opens fine. JUST an issue when holding home button to access recent opened apps.

    Anyone else have this problem or know of a fix? I can't really seem to pin it down to one app or instance.
     

    Advertisement

  2. New Rising

    New Rising Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    481
    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2011

    Jul 7, 2011
    481
    71
    53

    I just tested mine out and it works fine. What apps are you trying to open?
     
  3. HotDawg

    HotDawg Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    338
    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009

    Nov 24, 2009
    338
    33
    63
    data analyst
    We've had some discussions lately regarding problems with apps that are in the "media area" - did you move this app?
     
  4. Somniferum

    Somniferum Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    283
    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010

    Jan 14, 2010
    283
    65
    63

    I've noticed this problem when switching to SpeedTest. Other apps seem to switch fine, but I haven't tried them all systematically or anything.
     
  5. Peltgrande

    Peltgrande Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010

    Jan 13, 2010
    14
    1
    36
    Midwest
    It seems to happen with primarily my messaging apps- WhatsApp, Voice. And it is intermittent too. Not a huge issue, just wondering about a fix. Would much rather find a solution for my 3G connectivity issue and speaker crackles!
     
  6. jestexman

    jestexman Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    393
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009

    Nov 13, 2009
    393
    30
    43
    Mapping Specialist
    SE Dallas
    Noticed if with speedtest also
    Just tried again and it works..
     
  7. rsdmems

    rsdmems Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    20
    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2011

    Sep 9, 2011
    20
    0
    15
    Investor
    New York City
    I've had this problem several times (but not every time) with the Ameritrade mobile app.
     
  8. Somniferum

    Somniferum Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    283
    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010

    Jan 14, 2010
    283
    65
    63
    Seems to be caused by having apps installed to the Media Area. Moving them back to the Phone partition fixes it. Confusing part is that ALL apps seem to be listed under the Media Area tab in Manage Applications. Only the ones with a check in the box are actually installed there. Moved those back to Phone and problem solved.
     
  9. johnlgalt

    johnlgalt Antidisestablishmentarian
    Rank:
     #54
    Points:
    453
    Posts:
    9,454
    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009

    Oct 28, 2009
    9,454
    1,957
    453
    Male
    Graduate Research Assitant | That part time IT guy
    3rd Rock
    It's happened to me last night with Google Voice, and I have not moved anything to the Media area. I mean, 4 GB, come one....

    And I just checked, and Voice is not showing as having auto-installed in the Media are either (which is good, since I do have the widget on the home screen....
     

Share This Page

Loading...