1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Applied New Kernel, Backed Up Data...Now What?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by nklenchik, Dec 3, 2010.

  1. nklenchik

    nklenchik Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    590
    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2010

    Sep 23, 2010
    590
    53
    78
    Student
    Yew Nork
    I appled a Kernel from Rom Manager on my phone and it went through this time. Before I did so, I backed up my data with Titanium Backup Pro, but I'm not sure how to get my "everything" back in a sense lol.
     

    Advertisement

  2. saps

    saps Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    233
    Posts:
    5,092
    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010

    Sep 12, 2010
    5,092
    504
    233
    Top Secret
    WA
    Nothing Should have changed from your everything
     
  3. nklenchik

    nklenchik Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    590
    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2010

    Sep 23, 2010
    590
    53
    78
    Student
    Yew Nork
    It went back to stock lol. It was one of those Stupidfast kernels, but when I checked the settings>about phone>kernel version: it didn't show up...I ran everything on rom manager...
     
  4. davidnmegan6907

    davidnmegan6907 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,848
    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2010

    Nov 7, 2010
    1,848
    130
    163
    NC, USA
    U did a data wipe...if you did it completely through rom manager then only option is wipe cache/data been there
     
  5. nklenchik

    nklenchik Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    590
    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2010

    Sep 23, 2010
    590
    53
    78
    Student
    Yew Nork
    When I try this in rom manager one more time, can you explain the steps I should be doing? restoring all my stuff now
     
  6. nitsuj17

    nitsuj17 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    4,648
    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2010

    Aug 16, 2010
    4,648
    654
    213
    NJ
    If you want a kernel from rom manager select it.......let it download and then click ok to go to recovery and install....you don't need to wipe data

    You can always make a nandroid backup first if u are worried
     
  7. davidnmegan6907

    davidnmegan6907 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,848
    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2010

    Nov 7, 2010
    1,848
    130
    163
    NC, USA
    sorry was driving but it looks like nit helped ya ;)
     
  8. nklenchik

    nklenchik Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    590
    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2010

    Sep 23, 2010
    590
    53
    78
    Student
    Yew Nork
    Thanks guys. One more thing...my headphone jack seems to be staticy now when I use it. Any fixes?

    Tried, redownloading PowerAMP and different headphones...same result.
     
  9. nklenchik

    nklenchik Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    590
    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2010

    Sep 23, 2010
    590
    53
    78
    Student
    Yew Nork
    Bump.

    Fixed for now...rebooted the phone again and it seems to be clear (knock on wood)
     
  10. NOsquid

    NOsquid Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    634
    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010

    Sep 11, 2010
    634
    65
    78
    poweramp doesn't get along with a lot of kernels and roms, don't know if theres much to be done. Is it better when the screen is off or constant?
     
  11. nklenchik

    nklenchik Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    590
    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2010

    Sep 23, 2010
    590
    53
    78
    Student
    Yew Nork
    It's better when the screen is off, yes. Mainly it only happens when the music player is actually visible on screen.
     

Share This Page

Loading...