1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Apps close when switched away from

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by JagShrapnel, Jan 16, 2012.

  1. JagShrapnel

    JagShrapnel Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    67
    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2012

    Jan 16, 2012
    67
    3
    16
    Most of my apps close when I switch away from them, notably Opera, Xscope, SoundHound. I have no idea why, Winamp tho for instance stays open.

    Any suggestions?
     

    Advertisement

  2. agentc13

    agentc13 Daleks Über Alles
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    823
    Posts:
    7,916
    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011

    Aug 31, 2011
    7,916
    5,482
    823
    Skaro
    How are you switching away from them? home key, back key, something else?
     
  3. JagShrapnel

    JagShrapnel Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    67
    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2012

    Jan 16, 2012
    67
    3
    16
    Usually home key, I never had this problem with the Optimus V. I cant remember if it did before I installed CM.
     
  4. agentc13

    agentc13 Daleks Über Alles
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    823
    Posts:
    7,916
    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011

    Aug 31, 2011
    7,916
    5,482
    823
    Skaro
    Well, I don't use any of those apps, but some apps will close when you hit the home key. Some will not, are you sure these are not supposed to close when you do that?
     
  5. Whyzor

    Whyzor Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,108
    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2011

    Jul 7, 2011
    1,108
    966
    213
    Are you running TG's CM7 B0.8? He changed the default lowmemkiller settings to leave more free RAM, so it's more eager to kill background processes. My TG-Reloaded ROM should behave more like stock ROM's memory management.
     
    agentc13 likes this.
  6. JagShrapnel

    JagShrapnel Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    67
    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2012

    Jan 16, 2012
    67
    3
    16
    I am running CM 7.1.0-TG-Beta-0.8-Triumph...

    Is there a way to switch off the app killer?
     
  7. Whyzor

    Whyzor Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,108
    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2011

    Jul 7, 2011
    1,108
    966
    213
    It's built into the Android OS, you can change the settings, by deleting the file /system/etc/99memory. Have to remount /system in rw mode beforehand too.

    Or if none of this make sense, just flash the new TG-reloaded ROM, it has other improvements too. Just wiping cache & dalvik-cache keeps your settings & apps.
     
  8. JagShrapnel

    JagShrapnel Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    67
    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2012

    Jan 16, 2012
    67
    3
    16
    Awesome I will try that thanks!
     

Share This Page

Loading...