1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Apps/games to EXTERNAL sdcard

Discussion in 'Android Lounge' started by javacookies, Jan 1, 2012.

1. javacookies

javacookies Lurker
    None

Jul 19, 2011
    good day, I'm new to android things. I'm actually from iOS for the past 4 yrs.
    I have Samsung Galaxy W and it only have 2gb of internal storage.
    i know about apps2sd or the option to move to sdcard. i used both of them. I tried it for plants vs zombies to move to sdcard and it worked! I saw the difference to my external storage but PvZ is a different case because it's apk includes the whole game unlike other big games like gamelofts that require additional downloads. I tried moving gta3 and other gameloft games to sdcard but i think only the app itself was moved not including the data files.I tried moving their data files to /external_sdcard/Android/data but the game don't detect it, What I don't understand is Xperia Play only has 400 mb and Galaxy Ace I think only have 100+mb so how do they install big games? I'm sorry for my long post but I'm seriously running out of memory. I'll really appreciate if someone would clear these thing sto me Thanks

Advertisement

2. darkuni

darkuni Android Enthusiast
    None

I'm afraid you've run into one of the major issues why cell phones don't make the best portable gaming devices. Well, that and horrible controls. :)

The bottom line is that game developers cannot rely on the availability, speed, size, etc. of external resources, so they use what is "guaranteed" - and that is wherever /sdcard/ is mounted.

I've heard of people rooting their phones and CHANGING the mount point of /SDCARD/ to actually BE the SDCARD, but it isn't easy and if you ever have issues with the SD, it can affect the whole phone.

Sorry, I know that isn't the answer you were looking for....

3. javacookies

javacookies Lurker
    None

Jul 19, 2011
    thanks for the reply. i appreciate it :)