1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Apps have gone missing after flashing Bravo Sense Table

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Sak01, Jun 10, 2011.

  1. Sak01

    Sak01 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    942
    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2011

    Mar 5, 2011
    942
    154
    93
    Male
    Help.

    I flashed the Bravo Sense table and followed the alpharev instructions below. After the nandroid restore I've found that pretty much everything has gone missing - apps, widgets, launchers, market.

    Actually, I can see the apps in Manage Applications but all of the icons and links have gone.

    This is what I did:
    1) Nandroid backup in recovery.
    *2) Verify the MD5SUM of the file you downloaded against the one in the table.
    3) Flash HBOOT with your phone in fastboot mode (Back+POWER) -> 'fastboot flash hboot bravo_alphaspl.img' (change into the correct filename for the HBOOT you downloaded)
    4) 'fastboot reboot-bootloader'
    5) 'fastboot erase cache'
    6) Boot recovery, wipe everything and restore.

    * I forgot to verify the MD5SUM but that shouldn't be a problem, right?
     

    Advertisement

  2. Rastaman-FB

    Rastaman-FB Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    6,113
    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009

    Sep 11, 2009
    6,113
    1,010
    313
    UK
    what recovery are you using?
     
  3. Sak01

    Sak01 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    942
    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2011

    Mar 5, 2011
    942
    154
    93
    Male
    edit: sorry it's actually AmonRa v2.0.1
     
  4. Sak01

    Sak01 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    942
    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2011

    Mar 5, 2011
    942
    154
    93
    Male
    I tried to nandroid restore again (after wiping). This time I got the error message:
    Code (Text):
    1. "cant nandroid restore error: run 'nandroid-mobile.sh restore' via adb!"
    so I did that but when i come to running that command in adb I get this error message:
    Code (Text):
    1. "error: unable to mount /system, aborting
    2. /sdcard/nandroid/SH0CJPL05354/BCDAS-20110610-1442"
     
  5. Rastaman-FB

    Rastaman-FB Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    6,113
    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009

    Sep 11, 2009
    6,113
    1,010
    313
    UK
    the reason i asked this is because i believe you must have done nand backup instead of nand + ext

    which means its not backed up your apps as its in ext

    edit, for the latter go into mounts and mount /system and all the other things that are not mounted then try it

    however if you reboot recovery it should restore

    to reboot recovery do
    Code (Text):
    1. adb shell reboot recovery
     
    Sak01 likes this.
  6. Sak01

    Sak01 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    942
    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2011

    Mar 5, 2011
    942
    154
    93
    Male
    Yes, that's right, I did nand instead of nand+ext.

    The problem is that I can't restore the nand I've already made, as described above. And I don't have space on my sd card for the second nand+ext backup and even if I did, since I've already wiped everything, it would only be backing up and restoring the ext apps, right?

    edit: there looks to be some error in mounting /system. Can't do it through adb or directly in recovery
     
  7. Sak01

    Sak01 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    942
    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2011

    Mar 5, 2011
    942
    154
    93
    Male
    I'm unable to mount /system. Everytime I do it in mounts, the list of mount options disappears for several seconds and when it reappears, /system is still not mounted.

    The phone is partially bricked at the moment as I'm not able to boot up. My next option would be to restore an older nand that I've got stored on my PC if I can't get this one to work but I really do need this one.

    Any suggestions?

    edit: and this is what I get with adb:
    Code (Text):
    1. / # mount /system
    2. mount /system
    3. mount: mounting /dev/block/mtdblock3 on /system failed: Invalid argument
     
  8. Rastaman-FB

    Rastaman-FB Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    6,113
    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009

    Sep 11, 2009
    6,113
    1,010
    313
    UK
    if youve wiped, try and flash a new rom without restoring nand and see if it rebuilds the system partition
    once done see if a nand restore will work (although it was done without ext :/)

    if not then it could be that the s-off partition table is a bit borked and your recovery got damaged by it

    well then have to go down the lines of reflashing amonRA from fastboot

    fastboot flash recovery recovernamethingemy.img

    see if that resolves it

    if it doesnt then you can manually flash hboot again

    redownload it and verify the md5 with winmd5

    never skip this step, flashing a bad hboot cos the download is corrupted can be catastrophic and will result and a dead weight (wont even boot to fastboot and will not get a charge light)
     
    Sak01 likes this.
  9. Sak01

    Sak01 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    942
    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2011

    Mar 5, 2011
    942
    154
    93
    Male
    Ok, but I don't have room on my sdcard for a rom, so I'll have to pull out the nandroid backup first. Can you check if this the right command to pull it, please (I've never pulled before :eek:):
    Code (Text):
    1. c:\adb pull /sdcard/nandroid/SHOCJPL05354/BCDAS-20110610-1442 BCDAS-20110610-1442
     
  10. Rastaman-FB

    Rastaman-FB Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    6,113
    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009

    Sep 11, 2009
    6,113
    1,010
    313
    UK
    how much space is left on the card?
    what sized card is it?

    do you not have a card reader?

    cant you use usb-ms toggle and connect it to the pc to pull the files off?
     
  11. Sak01

    Sak01 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    942
    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2011

    Mar 5, 2011
    942
    154
    93
    Male
    - 20mb left, I think
    - 4Gb
    - no card reader
    - I forgot about usb-ms toggle as I haven't used it for a long time. I'll use that instead. Will report back in a bit once I get a chance to do it.
     
  12. Rastaman-FB

    Rastaman-FB Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    6,113
    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009

    Sep 11, 2009
    6,113
    1,010
    313
    UK
    wow 20mb left is not a lot
     
  13. Sak01

    Sak01 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    942
    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2011

    Mar 5, 2011
    942
    154
    93
    Male
    Tell me about it. It was all those gameloft games I downloaded last week when they had the sale. I don't even play games that much so it's just a waste of space.

    anyway, good news..
    this worked. Thanks a bunch for that. Now at least I have use of my phone.

    Is there anything I can do about the lack of ext backup? All of the ext apps appear in Manage Applications they're just inaccessible.
     
  14. Rastaman-FB

    Rastaman-FB Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    6,113
    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009

    Sep 11, 2009
    6,113
    1,010
    313
    UK
    no, you might aswell start with a fresh rom, the files are there due to the simlink but they cannot be fixed :/
     
    Sak01 likes this.
  15. Sak01

    Sak01 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    942
    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2011

    Mar 5, 2011
    942
    154
    93
    Male
    damn. well, I guess I learned a lesson the hard way. I suppose it could have been worse.

    The funny thing is, I only flashed a new hboot because internal memory was getting lowish. Now I've solved that problem by wiping out my ext. Brilliant.

    Anyhow, thanks once again for holding my hand through this.
     
  16. Rastaman-FB

    Rastaman-FB Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    6,113
    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009

    Sep 11, 2009
    6,113
    1,010
    313
    UK
    no problem man
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...