1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Apps not being able to play embedded videos.

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Sam French, Jan 29, 2014.

  1. Sam French

    Sam French Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2014

    Jan 29, 2014
    4
    0
    5
    Centerville Tn
    Hello,

    I have two apps Nashville Predators and LA Clippers. They can not play videos. Nashville Predators, screen just turns black, LA Clippers I get a Webpage not available screen. Am using local wifi when using apps. Everything else works. Any help would be appreciated. By the way this is a Tracfone.

    Thank You

    Sam
     

    Advertisement

  2. Sam French

    Sam French Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2014

    Jan 29, 2014
    4
    0
    5
    Centerville Tn
    Obviously I am new to all of this. I know the chromecast browser works. I guess android has issues with flash videos. What do you guys think of this app?
    https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=mobi.browser.flfoxpro

    Would this help? Don't want to install another browser. Some say FireFox wold be a good one to use.

    Thank You

    Sam
     
  3. Sam French

    Sam French Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2014

    Jan 29, 2014
    4
    0
    5
    Centerville Tn
    Hello Everybody.

    I downloaded the Opera browser for Android. This did not help. Also cleared all data and cache of all browsers on phone. Still not working. Seems this is a widespread problem. Some people say delete the Youtube updates. Starting to think this maybe be a OS problem. Any Suggestions?

    Thank You

    Sam
     
  4. EarlyMon

    EarlyMon The PearlyMon
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5,218
    Posts:
    57,631
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010

    Jun 10, 2010
    57,631
    70,441
    5,218
    New Mexico, USA
    What version of Android are you running? Do you have Flash installed?
     
  5. Sam French

    Sam French Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2014

    Jan 29, 2014
    4
    0
    5
    Centerville Tn
    Hello,

    The phone has 4.0.4 OS installed. It has around 396MB Ram with the phone idle is running about 300MB used. I think this is WAY to high. But I have all apps I installed stopped. No I don't have Flash installed. Have read that Flash dose not support Android OS anymore. When I browse google play store. I see browsers that can support flash. However I don't surf the web with the phone at all. Don't know how to force apps to use a flash powered browser to play their embedded videos. Even read where people have new Galaxy S4's and other new phones as well. That have the same problem. Rebooted the phone a few times and still have the same result. Also have ALL cached cleared from every app and still have the same problem. This sure has been a learning experience.
    I also have NO game apps installed. Just couple a sports apps that have embedded videos. Other apps I use don't use embedded videos or links they function fine. Only one app runs all the time it doesn't access the web when in use.

    Data usage wide I have 2.21GB available. Do not have a SD memory card installed as well. Just downloaded Android HTML5 Support by The4d. Haven't installed it yet.

    Thank you for your help.

    Sam
     
  6. EarlyMon

    EarlyMon The PearlyMon
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5,218
    Posts:
    57,631
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010

    Jun 10, 2010
    57,631
    70,441
    5,218
    New Mexico, USA
    Getting Flash is fairly simple - get the apk, sideload it, use a compatible browser.

    Details - http://androidforums.com/samsung-galaxy-s4/714826-how-install-adobe-flash-player-galaxy-s4.html

    Since that post, other browsers have proven compatible, so try your favorites if you don't like Boat.

    Google Chrome isn't compatible, never will be.

    Whether your apps will use it or not depends on the apps.

    You're really shooting yourself in the foot killing apps to get free ram.

    Most task killers report free ram incorrectly.

    Android has its own built-in task killer and works on a sliding scale dividing apps and services into five separate categories.

    Killing apps on your own is confusing that process and wasting a lot of cpu cycles.

    Android is Linux, not Windows.

    Hope this helps! :)
     

Share This Page

Loading...