1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General Apps that we can now get (<1.6) / Bugs

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by W4LLY, Mar 4, 2010.

  1. W4LLY

    W4LLY Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    675
    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009

    Nov 28, 2009
    675
    36
    68
    NYC
    Share any apps that we could not have before 2.1. Also report any bugs/problems.

    Google Goggles - Tried to scan the apple logo on my water bottle, and my laptop...but it came up as null search. Maybe google is sticking it to apple :p

    HootSuite
    Twicca - Both are supposed to be really good Twitter apps, but I can't find them on the store. Normally if you can't find an app, it means that it wasn't compatibile.

    Look forward to growing and learning with everyone.
     

    Advertisement

  2. JAS_21

    JAS_21 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    116
    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010

    Jan 18, 2010
    116
    7
    36
    Sales Manager
    Orlando, FL
    I downloaded Google Earth. It installed fine, but when I went to open it, nothing happened. I uninstalled, reinstalled, still nothing. If anyone else tries it, let me know.
     
  3. W4LLY

    W4LLY Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    675
    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009

    Nov 28, 2009
    675
    36
    68
    NYC
    I heard it was having problems still. Also: is anyone else having problems with syncing facebook contacts?
     
  4. socaltrojans

    socaltrojans Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010

    Mar 4, 2010
    1
    0
    5
    Avoid installing Spare Parts. it renders the power button useless to putting the phone into standby.

    Had to do a hard reset to fix it.
     
  5. Caddyman

    Caddyman Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    233
    Posts:
    3,216
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009

    Nov 10, 2009
    3,216
    638
    233
    Mechanical Piping Designer
    Delaware
    SP works fine for me

    i can confirm, goog earth is jacked up
     
  6. rvpartsguy

    rvpartsguy Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    308
    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009

    Dec 29, 2009
    308
    25
    43

    Twicca is in the market now, saw that they recently updated app, maybe why it was missing from the market last night....just a thought
     
  7. OfTheDamned

    OfTheDamned The Friendly Undead
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    813
    Posts:
    9,692
    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009

    Oct 29, 2009
    9,692
    8,365
    813
    Right Behind You
  8. OfTheDamned

    OfTheDamned The Friendly Undead
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    813
    Posts:
    9,692
    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009

    Oct 29, 2009
    9,692
    8,365
    813
    Right Behind You
    Double post

    It worked before, but for those of you looking at twitter clients Touiteur is pretty nice.
     
  9. ChiTownJim

    ChiTownJim Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,380
    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010

    Jan 9, 2010
    2,380
    286
    163
    Restaurant Owner and Chef
    Denver
    I've got no problem with spare parts, I installed it almost imediatly after I updated.

    I did however try to make the resourcer killer more aggressive and it seemed to kill sense constantley so I had to set it back to normal
     
  10. renetrejo

    renetrejo Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    13
    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010

    Jan 13, 2010
    13
    4
    16
    Google Gesture - working pretty sweet.
     
  11. hempforvictory

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2010

    Feb 14, 2010
    10
    0
    15
    PDX
    Bank of America- won't load web page within the app (it's basically a wrapper), but will load fine in the browser. Anyone else having troubles with BoA?
     
  12. OfTheDamned

    OfTheDamned The Friendly Undead
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    813
    Posts:
    9,692
    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009

    Oct 29, 2009
    9,692
    8,365
    813
    Right Behind You
    There are a couple of apps that are having trouble connecting to the browser. I noticed that Urbanspoon won't let me go to their site from the app, but it will bring up google maps. It must be something to do with the new browser.
     
  13. rvpartsguy

    rvpartsguy Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    308
    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009

    Dec 29, 2009
    308
    25
    43

    when you open a link from Urbanspoon are you getting anything ? mine keeps telling me webpage unavailable.....

    edit: guess i should have read all the way down the list....duh
     
  14. rvpartsguy

    rvpartsguy Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    308
    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009

    Dec 29, 2009
    308
    25
    43

    Have you tried Twicca ? I like it alot more....... I have both on my phone now and was using Touiteur with 1.5...

    just an opinion.....
     
  15. W4LLY

    W4LLY Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    675
    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009

    Nov 28, 2009
    675
    36
    68
    NYC
    Im using Seesmic, debating on twicca or the other one with a t that OTD mentioned.
     
  16. n1ghtwish

    n1ghtwish Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    113
    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2010

    Feb 17, 2010
    113
    4
    36
    Las Vegas, NV
    I had that issue every now and then BEFORE 2.1, and now I have it constantly haha... I just deleted the app and threw a bookmark on my main page.
     
  17. startnew.jdr

    startnew.jdr Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    23
    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2010

    Feb 25, 2010
    23
    2
    16
    Retail Manager
    Massachusetts
    Where do I find this?
     
  18. wiattc

    wiattc Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    66
    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009

    Dec 11, 2009
    66
    1
    16
    Mobile, Al
    Market search Google Inc
     
  19. Eris Lover

    Eris Lover Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    289
    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010

    Jan 20, 2010
    289
    16
    58
    New Mexico
    I'm having same problems with spare parts. once installed i changed the setting of end button to home then sleep as i had before in 1.5 and the button did nothing so i tried changing setting back, then removing, rebooting and still have a non functioning end button. Phone only goes to sleep after timing out.

    Am I already gonna have to reset it?
     
  20. lgldrgdlr

    lgldrgdlr Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    717
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2010

    Jan 28, 2010
    717
    192
    93
    Burbs of Chicago
    Epocrates is now available. I was waiting for this. It's still in beta for Android though and I've noticed it freezes sometimes. Can't do anything while in epocrates. By pushing the "home" icon it will allow you to exit but when you open it again, it's still frozen on the same page. Reboot phone, then works fine again(until it freezes). I need this to work. May not be 2.1 issue though, since it's still beta. Just thought I'd share
     
  21. r2d2

    r2d2 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    46
    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009

    Nov 11, 2009
    46
    2
    16
    Had the same happen to me - I ended up re-installing the 2.1 update. A hard reset might have fixed it also, but I wanted to re-install some other programs from the market instead of the way I installed them prior from my SD card.

    You could try the hard reset if you haven't done so already.
     
  22. Eris Lover

    Eris Lover Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    289
    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010

    Jan 20, 2010
    289
    16
    58
    New Mexico
    OMG! So i did a hard reset on my phone to try to cure my non working end button and now it's telling me I have to call and activate my phone. Is this normal?
     
  23. Eris Lover

    Eris Lover Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    289
    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010

    Jan 20, 2010
    289
    16
    58
    New Mexico
    nevermind...no big deal just did the ota activation all is good!
     
  24. LiverpoolsNo9

    LiverpoolsNo9 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    258
    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010

    Having the same issue.
     

Share This Page

Loading...