1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Apps to SD

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Clarke33, Jan 21, 2013.

  1. Clarke33

    Clarke33 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2010

    Nov 27, 2010
    10
    1
    16
    I'm rooted but for the life of me I still can't figure a way to move apps to the sd card. I have tried several apps but no luck. Anyone figure a way yet?
     

    Advertisement

  2. MrPib

    MrPib Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    11
    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2010

    Nov 23, 2010
    11
    0
    35
    No luck with Apps2SD Pro on my rooted PM.
     
  3. Clarke33

    Clarke33 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2010

    Nov 27, 2010
    10
    1
    16
    There has to be a way to do this. I have tried every app but with no results. I have tried the "pm set-storage-location 2" in terminal emulator but that doesn't work either. How stupid is it that this phone can't perform such a simple function.
     
  4. MrPib

    MrPib Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    11
    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2010

    Nov 23, 2010
    11
    0
    35
    Apps2SD Pro v2.73 says:

    The device does not have a real primary external storage,
    or the primary external storage is emulated. Moving app to
    SD function may not be supported by this device.

    Hmmm, looks like it's an Android issue, according to item #8 here:
    A0Soft Inc. - The #1 world clock shareware for Android handheld

    Luckily, the GS3, Note, etc. have the same issue, so people are actually working on it. Directory Bind seems to be the workaround:
    http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=1410262

    And there's also another potential solution, which swaps the internal and external drives:
    Move Apps to SD card (Directory Bind)

    I'll give the Directory Bind a try, using Dragon's Lair.
     
  5. MrPib

    MrPib Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    11
    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2010

    Nov 23, 2010
    11
    0
    35
    No luck with Directory Bind, or with manually creating links.

    I give up!
     
  6. Clarke33

    Clarke33 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2010

    Nov 27, 2010
    10
    1
    16
    I wonder if the vold.fstab folder can be modified to swap storage locations? I have read about other phones having the same problem and this mod working. Problem is I have no idea how to write the changes. I have found an ICS folder on XDA but don't know if it is generic or the changes are phone specific. Again, why did Pantech make this so difficult?
     
  7. The Old One

    The Old One Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2013

    Feb 6, 2013
    1
    1
    6
    Link2sd works.
     
    MrPib likes this.
  8. Clarke33

    Clarke33 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2010

    Nov 27, 2010
    10
    1
    16
    I must have not had the settings correct because I tried that app and it didn't work for me. Do you remember what all you checked when you set it up?
     
  9. MrPib

    MrPib Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    11
    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2010

    Nov 23, 2010
    11
    0
    35
    Whoo hoo! Works like a charm! I moved everything over 10mb to the card.

    I installed the app, and it said that I needed a 2nd partition on my SD card. So I popped out my 32gb SD and plugged it into my PC, and use Erasmus (or something like that) Partition Manager to reduce the single 32gb FAT32 partition to 20gb, and then created a new FAT32 partition with the available 10gb or so.

    I used the Link To SD option to move the apps.
     
  10. Clarke33

    Clarke33 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2010

    Nov 27, 2010
    10
    1
    16

    I was able to move apps to my sd using something else but every time I tried to use the app I would have to reinstall it. At that point I had a copy on the sd as well as one on internal sd. Does that happen with this app?
     
  11. MrPib

    MrPib Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    11
    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2010

    Nov 23, 2010
    11
    0
    35
    Nope. No problems whatsoever.
     
  12. Clarke33

    Clarke33 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2010

    Nov 27, 2010
    10
    1
    16
    I'll partition my card and try it again.
     
  13. Jeremias1008

    Jeremias1008 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2013

    Feb 20, 2013
    1
    0
    5
    I changed the vold.fstab file to moint the ext as sd and it reconizes it as such but I get an error when I try to move the apps. Is there any other file I should change?
     

Share This Page

Loading...