1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Apps using A LOT of data that I never use!

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by MyUsernameRox, Jan 15, 2013.

  1. MyUsernameRox

    MyUsernameRox Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #160
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    604
    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2012

    Jan 5, 2012
    604
    36
    78
    Male
    San Luis Obispo, CA
    Since Jan 1st "Removed Apps" has used 250 MB, and Google Plus has used 25 MB.

    I never touch Google Plus, how is it using data? Also, aren't the removed apps the apps that I froze?

    How can I get these to stop using data?
     

    Advertisement

  2. Fox Mulder

    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #51
    Points:
    443
    Posts:
    1,853
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2012

    Feb 19, 2012
    1,853
    1,499
    443
    NYC
    I don't know what "Removed Apps" is. Don't see that in my data usage.
    If you want Google + to stop using data it should be disabled. Same for any other system apps you don't need and don't want using data. Even if you never open them they may still use data in the background unless you disable them.
    You can also turn on the switch for "limit data use" and check the box for each application in the data usage list to not use data in the background unless on wifi.
     
  3. Prepaidguy9081

    Prepaidguy9081 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    667
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2012

    Sep 28, 2012
    667
    54
    78
    Uninstall the apps
    If their system apps
    Root and use titanium backup
     
  4. MyUsernameRox

    MyUsernameRox Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #160
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    604
    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2012

    Jan 5, 2012
    604
    36
    78
    Male
    San Luis Obispo, CA
    I turned on the switch but didn't see the boxes to check that you mentioned?

    Also how do I disabled Google +? I only see a force stop button and uninstalled updates. When I did that it said the app would be replaced with the factory version.
     
  5. Prepaidguy9081

    Prepaidguy9081 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    667
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2012

    Sep 28, 2012
    667
    54
    78
  6. twogbsd

    twogbsd Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    193
    Posts:
    2,014
    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2012

    Uninstall all updates, then you will see the disable button :)
     
    MyUsernameRox likes this.
  7. Prepaidguy9081

    Prepaidguy9081 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    667
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2012

    Sep 28, 2012
    667
    54
    78
    To many hoops. Root then uninstall whatever you like lol.
    Me, I like being able to change the oil on my car instead of having the hood locked
     
  8. MyUsernameRox

    MyUsernameRox Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #160
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    604
    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2012

    Jan 5, 2012
    604
    36
    78
    Male
    San Luis Obispo, CA
    Every time I uninstall all updates I see a prompt saying it will be replaced with the factory version I never see a disable button.

    Edit: Okay I found how to do it, thanks!

    I have one more question if I disable any of the system app music players will that negatively affect Pro Player that I purchased from the market?
     
  9. sammyz

    sammyz LG Whiz Kid
    Rank:
     #55
    Points:
    423
    Posts:
    8,840
    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2011

    Jun 3, 2011
    8,840
    2,500
    423
    Male
    Video Production
    Sunrise, Fl
    Nope.
     
  10. MyUsernameRox

    MyUsernameRox Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #160
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    604
    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2012

    Jan 5, 2012
    604
    36
    78
    Male
    San Luis Obispo, CA
    Here. I have no idea what Removed Apps are nor why it consumes more data than anything else aside from Opera.

    [​IMG]
     
  11. Prepaidguy9081

    Prepaidguy9081 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    667
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2012

    Sep 28, 2012
    667
    54
    78
    Thats apps you have uninstalled that are still in the data usage list because you had used data with them. Its a stat list file in the root/data directory. [Log file]

    Its like if I installed say dolphin browser then run it for a week then uninstall it, it will show that data used under that now.

    I think
     
  12. SwoRNLeaDejZ

    SwoRNLeaDejZ Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    770
    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2012

    Dec 25, 2012
    770
    171
    93
    Male
    no comment
    ma
    Disabled apps may mean data they used prior to being disabled, just a thought..

    Plus aren't we all unlimited? Who really gives a damn?
     
  13. Prepaidguy9081

    Prepaidguy9081 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    667
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2012

    Sep 28, 2012
    667
    54
    78
    Disabeled dose not equate uninstalled.
    If u freeze an app in titanium backup it will srill show data used prior to freezing under its name.

    Example. If I have dolphin, crome, and firefox. And use 20mb on each. Then I freeze crome and firefox. And use 20 mb more on dolphin. Then...
    Dolphin wilk show 40mb
    Firefox 20mb
    Crome 20mb

    If I uninstall crome and firefox and other then that same as above then...

    Dolphin 40mb
    Removed apps 40mb [see how its lumped together]

    So your issue realy isint an issue. Its just the android os informing u that some apps u no longer have added that much to your total data usage. Otherwise, if it removed it compleatly ur datta usage wouldent be accurate at all and of little use if you did have a data cap.

    And what if his device is unlocked and on h2o wirless or att prepaid ect.
     
  14. SwoRNLeaDejZ

    SwoRNLeaDejZ Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    770
    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2012

    Dec 25, 2012
    770
    171
    93
    Male
    no comment
    ma
    Good point. I just looked at my data usage, for the first time mind you, and i am at 90mb for the month. I use my phone all the time, just have WiFi just about everywhere i am...
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...