• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Apps using data with Background Data off.

Knerd

Lurker
Apr 2, 2011
I'm new with this Android thing, a HTC Desire btw., and i'm playing around with the settings to get to know my phone.
But there is one little issue i can't figure out. I reacently downloaded a Weather App from the national weather forecast center (DMI), and placed 2 widgets from it on my homescreen. I have a 1G data limit pr. month, witch should be more than enough for my use, but i keep Background data turned off just to be on the safe side. When i installed Watchdog, i realiced that my phone can easily use 25Mb overnight if my wifi is off to save power. Background data is off. I kill almost all apps (including the DMI weather app, and apps i never use like facebook and a preinstalled news app) using Advanced Task Killer (free) before i go to bed.

So here is my 2 questions:
Why do some apps like facebook frequently show up on my list of running tasks eventhough i do not use them, and how do i turn that feature off (to save power)?
Why do some widgets and apps use data eventhough Background Data is off, and how do i make them stop without disabeling the mobile internet connection?

It seemed removing the DMI widgets reduced the overnight datausage, but acording to my Watchdog, i still use 2-5Mb overnight dispite the fact that Background Data is off, and the DMI app still shows up as a running Task in the morning.

Okay first, I've noticed that apps can start themselves too. Usually nothing to really worry about. However, if they're using your data and you don't want that the best way to block them is to root your phone and install droidwall. This way you can specify what apps can use your data. Personally I have all apps allowed access to wifi, but only SMS, maps, nhl, internet, etc. for 3G.