1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Apps using RAM in the background, how to manage them?

Discussion in 'Android Help' started by Android Question, Mar 19, 2016.

  1. Android Question

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    I have some apps that I use very rarely but would like to keep, like OneNote and Skype, that uses RAM in the background that I'd prefer they wouldn't. What is the best way to deal with them without disabling them completely? Is manually ''force stopping'' them whenever I don't use them the best option?
     

    Advertisement

  2. Fox Mulder

    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #48
    Points:
    443
    Posts:
    1,852
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2012

    Feb 19, 2012
    1,852
    1,497
    443
    NYC
  3. Shimeon

    Shimeon Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    42
    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2016

    Mar 12, 2016
    42
    15
    18
    Yeah, I just read a very good article about the subject which dispelled my fears. I'm new to Android, so excuse the noob question :p
     
  4. Brian706

    Brian706 I like turtles!
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #21
    Points:
    1,053
    Posts:
    9,433
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2012

    Jul 25, 2012
    9,433
    8,791
    1,053
    Drafter
    I believe the Android adage is "unused RAM is wasted RAM".
     
  5. Parayilhussain

    Parayilhussain Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    148
    Posts:
    393
    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2015

    Oct 26, 2015
    393
    106
    148
    Male
    Business
    Cochin
    Install " shutApp" app from google play store, this app will "force stop" all third-party apps with one tap.
     
  6. Fox Mulder

    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #48
    Points:
    443
    Posts:
    1,852
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2012

    Feb 19, 2012
    1,852
    1,497
    443
    NYC
    Which is a bad idea for the reasons stated in the linked thread.
     
  7. DB_Carwell

    DB_Carwell Guest
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    If you really concerned about data usage or RAM usage. Go into SETTINGS then locate data settings, and in each application where it says App Settings there you can turn off background usage. NOTE: By disabling an app background it renders that app useless until it is restarted.
     
  8. DB_Carwell

    DB_Carwell Guest
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    In most cases the stock launcher is the culprit of large amount of RAM usage. Try using a launcher that uses less RAM. CM Launchers, Halo Launchers is pretty good because most of them use very little RAM and DATA usage.
     
  9. MLSS

    MLSS Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    413
    Posts:
    2,243
    Joined:
    May 20, 2013

    May 20, 2013
    2,243
    1,485
    413
    Male
    Director of a non profit
    Nelsonville, Ohio
    Cm launcher is a Cheetah Mobile product. Stay far far away from them and their apps.
     
  10. kate

    kate Dreaming of Bugdroid.
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #35
    Points:
    618
    Posts:
    5,702
    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2013

    Turning off Background Data for an app will not close it or stop it from using RAM.

    If an app has Background Data disabled that means it wont use network data when you're not using that app.
     
  11. DB_Carwell

    DB_Carwell Guest
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    If I'm mistaken about any information that I gave you please feel free to correct me. I forgot to add in that same section in the settings an app can be Forced Closed if needed be also.
     
  12. psionandy

    Moderator
    Rank:
     #19
    Points:
    1,138
    Posts:
    5,863
    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009

    Dec 5, 2009
    5,863
    8,726
    1,138
    Male
    Gizmonic Institute - mug in a yellow jumpsuit
    liverpool

    Well.. where to start..

    By its own admission Cheetah mobile ISNT a mobile security company. Its a company who's business plan is to use your data to make it money.

    http://adexchanger.com/mobile/cheetah-mobile-hunts-its-next-prey-mobile-monetization/

    Most of its apps, are ways of it gaining information from you, rather than keeping it safe.

    If that was the only thing, you could argue that it was a fair trade... but many users have found that its flagship programs such as Clean Master have been guilty of lying to users about what they were actually doing

    http://androidforums.com/threads/pu...k-killers-ram-optimizers-and-the-like.896663/

    In order to do its job completely, any 'security' software must be trusted with a large amount of system permissions. If you cannot trust a company 100% to be trusted with these permissions (and there is a large amount of evidence to cast doubt on Cheetah Mobile) then you should not under any circumstances give them the full keys to all information on your device! In no way would I ever consider giving them the permissions that a full blown launcher would need.
     
  13. kate

    kate Dreaming of Bugdroid.
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #35
    Points:
    618
    Posts:
    5,702
    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2013

    I don't see anyway to stop apps from running in Settings -> Data using stock Android, but modified versions might.

    The most common place to stop an app:
    Settings -> Apps -> (Tap App) -> Force Stop

    But as mentioned above it's not good to force close apps. :thumbsupdroid: :)
     
  14. DB_Carwell

    DB_Carwell Guest
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    I've used them from years and never had an incident with credit card online banking using the same mobile device in which that launcher was installed on. Maybe it's an preference issue other than a suspected security issue.
     
  15. psionandy

    Moderator
    Rank:
     #19
    Points:
    1,138
    Posts:
    5,863
    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009

    Dec 5, 2009
    5,863
    8,726
    1,138
    Male
    Gizmonic Institute - mug in a yellow jumpsuit
    liverpool
    Who said anything about credit cards?

    Did you read the links?
     
  16. DB_Carwell

    DB_Carwell Guest
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    Yes I read it and it doesn't carry any Merits on what I was talking about. You haven't presented any evidence on a reason why not to use that launcher.
    1) If it doesn't pose any threat to your banking security online what other reason why you shouldn't use it?
    2) like I stated it's more a preference reason other than a security reason why one should or should not install and use that CM launcher or any other that doesn't pose a threat to your personal security. Plus it doesn't use a lot of RAM on what this issue was meanly about.
     
  17. MLSS

    MLSS Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    413
    Posts:
    2,243
    Joined:
    May 20, 2013

    May 20, 2013
    2,243
    1,485
    413
    Male
    Director of a non profit
    Nelsonville, Ohio
    Cm will use your contact information as well as all of your contacts on your phone, they capture and steal other forms of data on your device as well. Basically any and everything stored on your device they will use to sell to the highest bidder.
    Their clean master app doesn't help your device at all, it actually hurts your devices performance and then when you hit the magic button poof! It makes it all better, but in reality all it does is force close apps that don't need to be forced closed and then as your Ram manager starts doing its job again and has to open up all the background processes that your device needed before it starts to use up more ram than it was before you hit the magic button. So now your device "slows down" for a bit and you have to hit the magic button yet again (all this time your battery is draining like a like a keg at a high school party, not to mention the stress your CPU must be under). I would also add that every time you press the magic button and you have a data connection, it sends little packets of data to cm, and given the permissions they require, pretty much everything on your device.......

    Educate yourself.
     
    Lordvincent 90 and psionandy like this.
  18. DB_Carwell

    DB_Carwell Guest
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    I'm new to this forum and I haven't got to navigate like I want to. Is there a way that I can add pictures to my comments so I can show you illustrations on what I'm talking about that's in my System settings? I taking screenshots on what I would like to show you but don't know how to post them here.
     
  19. mikedt

    mikedt 你好
    Rank:
     #5
    Points:
    3,238
    Posts:
    27,285
    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2010

    Sep 22, 2010
    27,285
    16,703
    3,238
    Teachaaa
    Jinan, China
    Cheetah Mobile of Beijing.

    Yeh, phoning home your personal and probably private data to their servers in the PRC and selling it to whatever third-parties. That's why their products are "free".
     
    Hadron and psionandy like this.
  20. MLSS

    MLSS Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    413
    Posts:
    2,243
    Joined:
    May 20, 2013

    May 20, 2013
    2,243
    1,485
    413
    Male
    Director of a non profit
    Nelsonville, Ohio
    Is your device showing lag? Or are any of these apps showing high data use while running in the background?
     
  21. DB_Carwell

    DB_Carwell Guest
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    No my Ram is running at 0.8% of 2 GB and it's like that most of the times until I play a high demanding graphic game.
     
  22. DB_Carwell

    DB_Carwell Guest
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    The only thing was running at 90% RAM was One Touch launcher and that why used CM launcher that was running under 13% RAM
     
  23. psionandy

    Moderator
    Rank:
     #19
    Points:
    1,138
    Posts:
    5,863
    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009

    Dec 5, 2009
    5,863
    8,726
    1,138
    Male
    Gizmonic Institute - mug in a yellow jumpsuit
    liverpool
    Ok.... I'll take you at face value. There are lots of reasons why you should be concerned about giving your information away online... and I'm still not talking about credit card numbers.
    https://www.linkedin.com/pulse/privacy-101-why-we-should-care-protecting-our-data-ragothaman
    http://www.theguardian.com/technology/blog/2013/jun/14/nsa-prism

    Cheetah Mobiles own Privacy policy for using the app recommends that you do not

    " disclose, any sensitive Personal Information (e.g., information related to racial or ethnic origin, political opinions, religion or other beliefs, health, sexual orientation, criminal background or membership in past organizations, including trade union memberships) on or through an Application"

    oh and of course the app has access to your browsing history... I take it you're fine with all that. And they admit that they will pass it on to anyone with a lawful reason to ask.. but you're fine with that as well.

    Most of the time, according to their business model,, they are using it to build an incredibly detailed profile of you (and your contacts) so they can sell advertising... They'll also pass this information on to anyone they trust to sell it to. But hey.. you've got nothing to hide.. thats why you keep the door open when you go to the bathroom isn't it.

    Whether you can trust them as far as you can through them is entirely up to you... The behavior of their leading flagship software (clean master) has been called into question on several occasions, and google have pulled their from the playstore on more than one occasion for deceptive practices.

    I certainly found that it was behaving less than honestly in the past

    http://androidforums.com/threads/cleaning-apps.984881/page-2#post-7186025


    If you trust this company with all of the data that you are giving to them, fine... Feel free to give them the keys to your front door as well...
     
    daffyducknj, El Presidente and mikedt like this.
  24. DB_Carwell

    DB_Carwell Guest
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    So Norton security pay app is not showing any flags on the app or is this a failure in that security app that I pay for?
     

Share This Page

Loading...