1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Apps Won't Connect Over Mobile Data

Discussion in 'Android Lounge' started by BuddyBoy333, May 15, 2018.

  1. BuddyBoy333

    BuddyBoy333 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    May 15, 2018

    May 15, 2018
    3
    0
    5
    So I'm in Starbucks and connect to their WiFI and my phone automatically starts updating apps. Like a lot of my apps. If an app works like I want it to, I don't update it because nonsense like this happens all too frequently. You update and app and something goes wrong. This time it is a nightmare.

    I can make phone calls and send text messages over mobile data, but that's it. None of my apps will connect to the internet, not a single one. If I connect to WiFI everything is just fine, apps connect without issue.

    The basics like toggle airplane mode and reboot the phone didn't work. Resetting the network settings to default did nothing. Took the SIM card out and put it back in did nothing.

    I was confident that a full factory reset would fix it. Nope. The problem persists.

    Help!
     

    Advertisement

    #1 BuddyBoy333, May 15, 2018
    Last edited: May 15, 2018
  2. Hadron

    Hadron  
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #7
    Points:
    2,218
    Posts:
    22,365
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010

    Aug 9, 2010
    22,365
    15,645
    2,218
    Spacecorp Test Pilot
    Dimension Jumping
    This sounds like two separate problems. The obvious explanation for the Play Store problem is that the "auto update apps" function got turned on (Google like to drop little prompts or leave little buttons around to activate this, so one of these could have been hit by accident). Combined with your mobile data not working that could explain the "I log in to WiFi and this suddenly starts" effect.

    As for the mobile data, unless you are using VoIP for calls and MMS for your texts you aren't actually using mobile data at all: neither voice telephony nor SMS require it. This isn't just nit-picking: a problem where nothing can access mobile data is easier to understand than one where just two apps can use it. I'd start by checking your APN settings (will be in the mobile data settings somewhere), since if these are blank or incorrect then mobile data will not work (some service providers have a separate APN for MMS, so it's also possible for MMS to work but not data or vice-versa).
     
  3. BuddyBoy333

    BuddyBoy333 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    May 15, 2018

    May 15, 2018
    3
    0
    5
    Appreciate the reply. Your answer kinda confirmed for me that its the APN settings because out of everything I've come across to try and fix the issue, the APN issue I haven't been able to do anything about. There are two APNs.

    T-Mobile US LTE
    fast.t-mobile.com

    T-Moble US IMS
    ims


    The first one is selected and I have no way of selecting the other one. The option is just not available to switch over to it.

    I can tap both of the APNs and a menu for each one pops up but I have no clue what any of it means. I consider myself fairly intuitive and nothing in the menu jumped out at me as the obvious route to take.
     
  4. Hadron

    Hadron  
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #7
    Points:
    2,218
    Posts:
    22,365
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010

    Aug 9, 2010
    22,365
    15,645
    2,218
    Spacecorp Test Pilot
    Dimension Jumping
    No, APN settings are not intuitive. Best I can suggest is to compare them with the ones T-Mobile say you should have and edit if needed (tapping on a setting should give you the option to change it, though it may depend what phone you have). I'd make a note of the original setting first though!

    A quick web search brought up this page, which I'm hoping has the correct settings (since it's T-Mobile's own website): https://support.t-mobile.com/docs/DOC-2090
     
  5. BuddyBoy333

    BuddyBoy333 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    May 15, 2018

    May 15, 2018
    3
    0
    5
    You're a big help. Thanks. Gonna give it a shot.
     
  6. Hadron

    Hadron  
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #7
    Points:
    2,218
    Posts:
    22,365
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010

    Aug 9, 2010
    22,365
    15,645
    2,218
    Spacecorp Test Pilot
    Dimension Jumping
    Good luck
     

Share This Page

Loading...