• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Help Apps won't download

Firstly, I am new here, so apologies if this has been asked a million times and is a massive known issue or whatever. I had quite a good look but couldn't find any solutions.

Anyway, after having an iPhone for a long time, I upgraded my contract and got an HTC Desire today. So far I am loving it, however, one thing is annoying me. I go to the Android Market and try to download apps, and it just stays on the 'Starting Download' screen forever, and just doesn't download. I have tried Twitter, Shazam, and a couple of themes, none of them work.

I read about the Google account things, and I think I have an account on my phone but I honestly don't know how to switch to gmail and all that, this is my first Android phone and I am still learning about it!

Any help is appreciated, thanks :)

Tried clearing the cache, and then downloading something, but it still just says 'Starting Download', so that didn't work, I think.

On the Googlemail issue, it is definitely a googlemail account, as I haven't seen gmail mentioned on my phone since I got it. I read somewhere that switching between the two may help, but like I said in my original post, I don't even know how to do that.

Thanks!

Upvote 0
Nothing, I don't think. It is weird, the little arrows flash at the top at the start, but then stop. It also keeps switching between 3G and 3G+, if that means anything. Sorry if this is all basic and everyone should know it, I honestly don't have a clue.

I have just tried to download an App from the Orange store, I downloaded Flixster, and that worked first time, if that means anything.

Upvote 0
Hi Overtick, I had the same problem for the first couple of days when I got my Desire, what i did was a factory data reset, (settings>SD&phone storage>factory data reset).