1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Apps2sd not working after updating?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by LightOrion, Jul 1, 2011.

  1. LightOrion

    LightOrion Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    103
    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2010

    Oct 6, 2010
    103
    4
    36
    Hey guys, i've just updated from leedroid froyo yo leedroid gingerbread.

    From my understanding if you have apps2sd installed then internal memory will not decrease whenever an app has been installed, but after updating, my internal memory has been decreasing after installing an app and will only increase after i move an app to the sd card. Is something wrong?

    I have Quick System Info and it seems that my spp2sd storage does not decrease when installing an app but increases when i move an app to sd card.

    I'm quite new to this so please be lenient with me :eek:
     

    Advertisement

  2. williamj1

    williamj1 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    641
    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010

    Sep 11, 2010
    641
    214
    93
    UK
    Three things.

    1. With A2SD, the internal memory will still go down when you use and install apps. The app itself is stored on the SD card, but other parts such as caches are not. So the internal memory will still go down, just by not as much.

    2. Move EVERYTHING back to the internal memory. When using an A2SD ROM such as Froyo, remember you have an external partition created on your micro sd card. This partition on the micro sd tricks the phone into thinking it is part of the phones internal memory. If you move then to the SD, you move them out of the partition and onto somewhere else, so the memory goes down. It sounds confusing but its correct. Move EVERY app back onto the internal memory and it should go back up.

    3. Nothing is wrong, it seems to all be working fine.

    If you want to free up some more memory, open Quick System Info and on the tabs along the top, click the second one titled "Applications". Next, press the menu button on your desire, and click clear cache, then click OK.

    And if you are in need of further reassurance, how much internal memory do you have free, and how many apps do you have installed? and ill give my opinion if it seems ok :)

    Hope this helps. Let me know how you get on.
     
    LightOrion likes this.
  3. LightOrion

    LightOrion Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    103
    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2010

    Oct 6, 2010
    103
    4
    36
    Thanks for the reply.=)

    For no. 2, yea thats where the problem is. i understand how apps2sd works so i just installed the app without moving it so the sd card. however, the internal memory reduces drastically and soon i cant install anymore apps as it says i have low memory. but when i look at the Quick System Info, i still have a few Mbs left in my apps2sd storage.

    So is that normal?
     
  4. williamj1

    williamj1 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    641
    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010

    Sep 11, 2010
    641
    214
    93
    UK
    Sounds ok, but again give me specifics.

    How many apps do you have installed?
    What is left on your your internal memory?
    What is left on your ext partition?
    What is left on your SD in general?

    Clear cache before you check them.
     
  5. LightOrion

    LightOrion Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    103
    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2010

    Oct 6, 2010
    103
    4
    36
    Okay..

    Total apps installed i guss is arnd 100 - 200.
    Internal after moving most apps to sd card: 35.63 ( i cant move back to phone cost they will not be enough memory )
    left of ext partition i guess is Apps2sd memory so its around 209Mb ( i cant seem to make this amount go down )
    and 1.28gb left in sd card

    hope this helps...
     
  6. williamj1

    williamj1 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    641
    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010

    Sep 11, 2010
    641
    214
    93
    UK

    That doesn't make sense.

    When you move apps to the SD, using A2SD the internal memory should go down e.g. 15mb free > 30mb free.

    When you move them back to the internal, using A2SD, the internal memory should go up e.g. 30mb free > 15mb free.
     
  7. LightOrion

    LightOrion Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    103
    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2010

    Oct 6, 2010
    103
    4
    36
    Yup thats precisely what i'm confused about...thats why i thought maybe after updating the apps2sd might be disabled or something =/

    The apps2sd storage doesnt seem to be usable anymore. all that changes is the Internal storage and sd card storage. and when i move the apps from internal memory to sd card, it seems my internal memory increases. =/
     
  8. williamj1

    williamj1 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    641
    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010

    Sep 11, 2010
    641
    214
    93
    UK
    What ROM (specifically) (a link would be ideal) are you using?
    What Add-Ons too also if any?

    I wonder if it is actually enabled?
    Did you do a full wipe (including davlik cache) when you updated the rom?

    Try this...

    Download an app from the market called "terminal".

    Open it and type (without " ) ...

    "su"

    (then close and reopen app)

    "a2sd cachesd"

    Again, let me know how you get on :)
     
    LightOrion likes this.
  9. SUroot

    SUroot Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    23,925
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    23,925
    5,307
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK
    Dunno what script the new leedroid is using. But like wj1 says, could be dalvik related. You see space reduce when you "move to sd" because gingerbread moves the libs too. Something a2sd doesnt do yet.
     
    LightOrion likes this.
  10. LightOrion

    LightOrion Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    103
    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2010

    Oct 6, 2010
    103
    4
    36
  11. williamj1

    williamj1 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    641
    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010

    Sep 11, 2010
    641
    214
    93
    UK
    yes terminal emulator.

    Busy atm, ill help later today.

    In the meantime, I would try doing a full wipe (inc davlik) and then try flashing the rom again. Then after 10 minutes of it booting, do the su, a2sd cachesd thing I said above.
     
  12. LightOrion

    LightOrion Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    103
    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2010

    Oct 6, 2010
    103
    4
    36
    Ok i've downloaded terminal and after i typed in a2sd cachesd and pressed enter, it says a2sd not found.

    So i guess thats the problem? =/

    the reason i didnt do a wipe is because i didnt want to lose all my data..i know there is nandroid backup but after backing up i just dont know which file to copy back after wiping. And i the rest of backups only backup all the apps and data so its kind of troublesome.

    So should i be doing a wipe and reinstalling the rom?
     
  13. williamj1

    williamj1 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    641
    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010

    Sep 11, 2010
    641
    214
    93
    UK
    Specifically what is it that you want / would need to backup before doing a full wipe? A nandroid isn't appropriate here - it wouldn't solve the issue, as a nandroid restores it to an identical state. But that state is problematic.

    Everything, from texts to apps and app data can be backed up using apps on the market.

    Tell me what it is you need / want backed up and ill advise the best way to do so accordingly.
     
  14. LightOrion

    LightOrion Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    103
    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2010

    Oct 6, 2010
    103
    4
    36
    Well at first i would prefer it if everything was back to normal but since you have mentioned that a nandroid would not help, i guess i just want the apps and data to remain.

    So after i do a full wipe, do i have to partition my sd card again or just reinstall the custom rom?
     
  15. williamj1

    williamj1 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    641
    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010

    Sep 11, 2010
    641
    214
    93
    UK
    No no its easy.

    Download an app called MyBackup Root (free)
    Backup texts and so on
    Backup apps - choose apk's + data when prompted
    Turn off phone.
    Boot into recovery (volume down + power > 30 secs > recovery)
    Wipe data
    Wipe cache partition
    Advanced > wipe davlik

    Flash zip from sd
    Select whatever rom you want and press ok.
    Reboot system when done.

    Boot.
    Leave for 10 minutes.
    Terminal app
    SU
    A2SD CacheSD

    Done.

    ---------------

    That might seem a long process, but its very easy and quick once you learn what to do!

    Also, just out of interest, what rom are you wanting to use? I take it it is A2SD enabled?

    EDIT: I saw your above. Leedroid is an A2SD rom.

    I Should have asked this ages ago.

    HAVE YOU PARTITIONED YOUR SD?



    .
     
    LightOrion likes this.
  16. LightOrion

    LightOrion Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    103
    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2010

    Oct 6, 2010
    103
    4
    36
    I partitioned it when i was using leedroid's froyo months ago. My worry is that it maybe resetted or something like that hahah.

    Ok then i shall wipe it and get back to you after that. So i should copy the mybackup folder from my hp to my com then after flashing the rom again i shall copy it back to the empty sd card right?

    Anyways Thanks alot for your help so far =)
     
  17. williamj1

    williamj1 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    641
    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010

    Sep 11, 2010
    641
    214
    93
    UK
    Unlikely, in fact almost impossible that the sd partition would have been removed or reset, assuming it was there correctly to begin with.

    No no, when you wipe cache, data and davlik in clockworks it doesn't wipe the files on the sd card, only the stuff in the external partition on the sd (but it thinks that is a part of internal remember). MyBackup Root just saves the files it backs up onto the sd, same as camera pictures and music etc. So after a wipe, those will remain on. No need to back up the backup.

    Like I say...

    Backup stuff with MybackupRoot
    Boot into recovery
    Wipe Data
    Wipe Cache
    Wipe Davlik

    Flash new rom.
    Boot
    Wait 10 minutes.
    Do the terminal thing.

    Done.
     
  18. LightOrion

    LightOrion Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    103
    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2010

    Oct 6, 2010
    103
    4
    36
    Ok i did what you asked me to..and it seems it says a2sd not found! Omg so what do i do now???

    Okay i think i have bigger problems now. Some of my apps are not working. and i cant seem to install any app coz it says insufficient memory and when i checked my internal memory and sd card, they is still alot of memory left.

    I cant install quick system info as it kept on saying my memory is insufficient. Gosh i'm in big trouble now =/ please help T.T
     
  19. williamj1

    williamj1 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    641
    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010

    Sep 11, 2010
    641
    214
    93
    UK
    Well something isn't right.
    Tell me exactly what you have done?

    If you did a full wipe of data, cache and davlik, then all internal memory would have been reset. So when you flash the new rom, it would start with 120+mb free.
     
  20. LightOrion

    LightOrion Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    103
    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2010

    Oct 6, 2010
    103
    4
    36
    ok this is what I have done so far..

    I did the full wipe, then reinstall leedroid rom..after checking the terminal app you asked me to, it says there is no a2sd. So not knowing what to do next, I backup everything. And thats where the nightmare begins.
    Now, I just did a full wipe again and left the phone in that state.T.T
     
  21. SUroot

    SUroot Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    23,925
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    23,925
    5,307
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK
    What backup? Taken how? Causing what exactly?
     
  22. LightOrion

    LightOrion Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    103
    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2010

    Oct 6, 2010
    103
    4
    36
    I did MyBackup Root and restored all the apps and data i've backed up.

    After doing that, some of my apps cannot work and i cant install any apps as it says insufficient memory. but when i got to settings and see internal memory it still has 70+mb.

    I cant use quick system info as i cant install it due to insufficient memory.

    Should i restart the whole rooting process from partitioning SD Card?
    Coz my phone is now empty and has nothing on it.
     
  23. SUroot

    SUroot Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    23,925
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    23,925
    5,307
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK
    May be worth it yes. How big is the partition? Reformat the partition in gparted. Then instead of using mybackup to restore, just install things manually and carry on manually.
     
  24. LightOrion

    LightOrion Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    103
    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2010

    Oct 6, 2010
    103
    4
    36
    My previous partition was 512mb. Ok then do you mind helping me with a few questions.

    1) if I want to start the whole thing again then I just have do a full wipe right?
    So after doing a full wipe it means that I am rooted only without a custom rom right? This means i can immediately start the whole partitioning of sd card process correct?

    2) I've read the post about apps2sd and it talks about using gparted. But the part i'm not sure about is how to burn the gparted to the disc? And i cant seem to download from the link given in that post. Is there another link where i can download from? And I'm using windows, is it possible to use gparted?

    Ok that's the only questions for now. How you be patient with me a little =)
     
  25. SUroot

    SUroot Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    23,925
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    23,925
    5,307
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK
    Download here:

    GParted - Browse /gparted-live-stable at SourceForge.net

    You need to use CD burning software that allows you to "burn image to disc" or Burn iso to disk".

    Its a bootable cd so it doesnt matter what Operating system you have.

    It is best coming from a wipe in this case, yes.
     
    LightOrion likes this.
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...