1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

are carriers blocking tether apps from the market?

Discussion in 'Android Apps & Games' started by EVO-DROID, Nov 7, 2011.

  1. EVO-DROID

    EVO-DROID Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    67
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010

    Jun 7, 2010
    67
    3
    16
    If there is a thread similar please delete mods.

    I've had pdanet for some time but when I tried downloading to my wife's phone it wasn't in the market. I had to dl the apk. So are carriers blocking these apps?
     

    Advertisement

  2. jefboyardee

    jefboyardee Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    423
    Posts:
    5,524
    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2011

    Jan 18, 2011
    5,524
    1,788
    423
    I just checked the Market, searched “tether” and got no end of apps, including pdanet and Klink, my favorite.
     
  3. UrsusVIIILXXXVII

    UrsusVIIILXXXVII Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    73
    Posts:
    330
    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2010

    Dec 14, 2010
    330
    65
    73
    Yes. Carriers do block tethering apps on the market but you can still get those apps from their respective websites.
     
    alostpacket likes this.
  4. EVO-DROID

    EVO-DROID Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    67
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010

    Jun 7, 2010
    67
    3
    16
     
  5. jerofld

    jerofld Fixing stuff is not easy
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    7,687
    Joined:
    May 10, 2011

    May 10, 2011
    7,687
    4,270
    313
    Male
    I fix stuff
    Over there <points>
    Sprint just started blocking as of last week.

    The other US carriers have been blocking for some time now. International carriers do not block tethering apps.
     
    alostpacket likes this.
  6. EVO-DROID

    EVO-DROID Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    67
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010

    Jun 7, 2010
    67
    3
    16

    Well thats unfortunate. I still got the app. I'm not like most and just tether just to do it, or use it as my primary network. However like right now my ISP is down and I have no internet so I have to resort to it. If sprint would just offer the tethering for a one time fee, I'd gladly pay it and they would make money in the process.
     
  7. EVO-DROID

    EVO-DROID Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    67
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010

    Jun 7, 2010
    67
    3
    16
    Weird, I just searched again. Got klink no pdanet at first. Scrolled to the bottom where it gives you similar apps and boom pdanet.

    Anyone use Klink? I might get that for my wife at the intro price.
     
  8. John Redcorn

    John Redcorn Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    439
    Joined:
    May 9, 2011

    May 9, 2011
    439
    80
    53
    How do they block? Something local on the phone saying "dont display these apps"?

    Or blocking at a network level? (in which case you should be able to see them when connected to your own wifi)

    My inspire shows pdanet in the market and I'm using ATT data right now but I am using cyanogenmod, not the stock os.
     
  9. jerofld

    jerofld Fixing stuff is not easy
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    7,687
    Joined:
    May 10, 2011

    May 10, 2011
    7,687
    4,270
    313
    Male
    I fix stuff
    Over there <points>
    The carriers can tell google to not allow certain apps to be able to be downloaded on to devices that are assigned to them. The market will display "This item is not available on your carrier".

    You can get around this by rooting and installing https://market.android.com/details?id=com.notenking.mf

    CM7 might have a defaulted market setting, so it shows all apps.
     
  10. tcat007

    tcat007 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,722
    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2011

    Jan 31, 2011
    1,722
    262
    163
    Texas
    Can carriers tell if you're tethering? I've never tethered, but do plan on getting a tablet soon. Would be nice to check email while on vacation if not hear a hotspot. My phone supports it with any hotspot widget (I have Widgetsoid2 installed which has one). Just wondering if I check email and am tethered for 2-3 minutes, does the carrier know/care? I'm guessing they monitor large amounts of usage (like streaming a movie).
     
  11. alostpacket

    alostpacket Over Macho Grande?
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    513
    Posts:
    7,972
    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009

    Nov 29, 2009
    7,972
    3,603
    513
    Android App Developer
    NY
    Yes, there are ways they can tell.

    An obvious one would be if they saw your android phone connect to "windowsupdate.microsoft.com"

    They have much more refined tools than that, but you get the idea.

    As far as I know they usually will only chase you down if you are pulling huge amounts of bandwidth.
     
  12. jerofld

    jerofld Fixing stuff is not easy
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    7,687
    Joined:
    May 10, 2011

    May 10, 2011
    7,687
    4,270
    313
    Male
    I fix stuff
    Over there <points>
    Verizon had installed spyware onto Droid X's that would monitor if the device was tethering or not and would check against the account to see if they had a tethering plan. Sprint/HTC installed CIQ onto a few of their handsets which seems to monitor a number of things, including tether usage.

    A lot of the current strategies seem to revolve around putting the monitoring software on the device, itself, rather than look for it server side. I'd be willing to bet because Google doesn't distinguish tethering as something other than generic data use.

    But I would imagine that ALP makes a very good point. If you started looking for windows update from your Android phone or anti-virus definitions, that would look suspicious. But you don't connect your windows laptop? I bet they would also be a little suspicious if your browser user agent said "iPad_2", "Android_Tablet", or a generic Linux user agent and you were pulling some pretty big webpages through your browser. Or connected to the Apple App Store through an Android device. Even the Android Market for tablets is slightly different.

    Food for thought.
     

Share This Page

Loading...