1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General are there any cpu control apps for non rooted phones

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by nizlovelots, Sep 15, 2012.

  1. nizlovelots

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    269
    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2012

    Jul 17, 2012
    269
    40
    43
    don't really want to root my phone yet just tweak uphold and down-hold thresholds on the cpu would be good for now. any help would be appreciated THANKS
     

    Advertisement

  2. Rxpert83

    Rxpert83 Dr. Feelgood
    Rank:
     #12
    Points:
    1,953
    Posts:
    17,940
    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2011

    Aug 30, 2011
    17,940
    13,151
    1,953
    Male
    Graduate Student
    MN
    No, I don't think you can change the CPU without root.


    In most cases you can't change anything without a custom kernel anyway
     
    nizlovelots likes this.
  3. old_member

    old_member Guest
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    Root wont help , You need a custom kernal like Rxpert83 said , You need ussually a ROM for that so wait about 1 year and 5 ROMs might be out , Theming starting fast for this phone :) Black Status bar and notification drawer already
     
  4. Rxpert83

    Rxpert83 Dr. Feelgood
    Rank:
     #12
    Points:
    1,953
    Posts:
    17,940
    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2011

    Aug 30, 2011
    17,940
    13,151
    1,953
    Male
    Graduate Student
    MN
    A year and 5 ROMs? That's painfully slow.:sly:


    I guess I've always been spoiled with development
     
  5. eljefe0000

    eljefe0000 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    673
    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2011

    Jan 18, 2011
    673
    87
    78
    importer/exporter/gravedigger
    NYC
    the only way to change it as far as i know is thru root and i dont think u need a custom kernel for it either im rooted and change it with rom toolbox overclocking is not yet possible because for this you do need a custom kernel but otherwise u underclock or set it as high as it allows you which is 1.5 for me
     
  6. old_member

    old_member Guest
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    I said that because LG Connect has been out for quite some time and only Broken Out ROM and Black Plague (2 Custom ROMs) and then the stock recovery ones , nothing special ....
     
  7. eljefe0000

    eljefe0000 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    673
    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2011

    Jan 18, 2011
    673
    87
    78
    importer/exporter/gravedigger
    NYC
    well the only thing he can do right now if he wants is to root so he can underclock its better than nothing and at least it saves some battery life.
     
  8. Khemul

    Khemul Well-Known Member
    Rank:
     #622
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    136
    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2010

    Aug 21, 2010
    136
    29
    43
    Yeah, without a custom kernel we are limited to what LG set for CPU options. Which is obviously never going to be past what the CPU is rated for. And without root one is limited to whatever the phone is set at, since phones by default don't like people messing with system settings like that.

    And we aren't likely getting a custom kernel anytime soon, so underclocking is about it. But on the good side, overclocking this phone is basically a benchmark game anyways. Underclocking doesn't effect real world performance much at all, so overclocking isn't going to either. All it'll do is increase benchmark scores.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...