1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Are there any differences between firmwares for different models?

Discussion in 'Android Lounge' started by mach101, Apr 27, 2012.

  1. mach101

    mach101 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    79
    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2012

    Feb 16, 2012
    79
    5
    16
    I was wondering if there is a difference between f.x the Gingerbread that is running on a Samsung galaxy SII and on a Samsung galaxy Gio or any other brand?
     

    Advertisement

  2. Crashdamage

    Crashdamage Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    643
    Posts:
    4,446
    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2011

    Feb 25, 2011
    4,446
    2,753
    643
    Mostly retired
    Kansas City, Mo.
    Of course there is. There's specific firmware for each model, specific model variation and (unless you have unbranded, generic unlocked device) carrier and country/region.
     
  3. chanchan05

    chanchan05 The Doctor
    Rank:
     #25
    Points:
    1,108
    Posts:
    15,149
    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2011

    Jun 30, 2011
    15,149
    4,822
    1,108
    Male
    The hardware on each phone is different, that's why the firmware is also different. For example, the Galaxy S II has an OpenGL capable graphics chip, so its able to use hardware acceleration for its version of the TouchWiz interface. The Galaxy Y on the other hand, does not have such a graphics chip, so its interface has less eye candy features.
     
  4. mach101

    mach101 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    79
    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2012

    Feb 16, 2012
    79
    5
    16
    So if one wants to install the firmware from Samsung galaxy SII on Galaxy Y, is it possible?
     
  5. Crashdamage

    Crashdamage Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    643
    Posts:
    4,446
    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2011

    Feb 25, 2011
    4,446
    2,753
    643
    Mostly retired
    Kansas City, Mo.
    No. Read the replies again.
     
  6. chanchan05

    chanchan05 The Doctor
    Rank:
     #25
    Points:
    1,108
    Posts:
    15,149
    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2011

    Jun 30, 2011
    15,149
    4,822
    1,108
    Male

    No, its not possible. As I said, in the example, the firmware of the SII is dfferent because it has a powerful graphics chip. The Y firmware is different because it has a crappy grahics capability. Its not compatible. I understand its difficult to understand since you don't seem very tech literate.

    Lets put it this way: You can't put a Subaru turbo boxer engine in a Toyota Yaris.
     

Share This Page

Loading...