1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General Are you guys getting throttled?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by EricH4753, Feb 4, 2014.

  1. EricH4753

    EricH4753 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    623
    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2012

    Jun 24, 2012
    623
    25
    68
    Male
    Unemployed
    Wheeling, WV
    Well I haven't been here in awhile, but are you getting throttled at all? s3 getts capped at 256 kps, but I remember the evo not getting limited... is this true or am I making things up?

    Thanks,
    Eric
     

    Advertisement

  2. ochenta

    ochenta Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    147
    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2012

    Oct 5, 2012
    147
    24
    38
    I have never noticed getting throttled on the Evo V. They used to not even track my usage on their website but it looks like that's changed, so maybe they throttle and I haven't noticed it.
     
  3. EricH4753

    EricH4753 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    623
    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2012

    Jun 24, 2012
    623
    25
    68
    Male
    Unemployed
    Wheeling, WV
    okay thanks, I'm thinking of getting an evo for my home internet, because s3 is throttled and I'm not paying 100 for sprint or satellite internet.

    Thanks,
    Eric
     
  4. ochenta

    ochenta Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    147
    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2012

    Oct 5, 2012
    147
    24
    38
    Wait for someone else to reply before making the switch, it's possible I just haven't noticed it.
     
  5. New_droid

    New_droid Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    29
    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2011

    Mar 19, 2011
    29
    6
    16
    You are throttled now.
     
  6. EricH4753

    EricH4753 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    623
    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2012

    Jun 24, 2012
    623
    25
    68
    Male
    Unemployed
    Wheeling, WV
  7. aml1025

    aml1025 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
     #170
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    438
    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2013

    Jan 31, 2013
    438
    128
    98
    Twin Cities, MN
    Some LTE phone users on Virgin Mobile have gotten texts notifying them of throttling beginning for them, but I haven't yet. I've been using at least 6 - 7 GB a month on LTE, completely unthrottled. At some point soon I'm sure that will change, but I'm enjoying it while it lasts.
     
  8. correirb

    correirb Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    12
    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2012

    Apr 15, 2012
    12
    0
    15
    I've been throttled in the past. Both 3g and 4g were cut back to 256k.

    Fortunately or unfortunately, 3g is so bad in my area that the throttle speed was more than my actual download speeds. But, I did do a speedtest while connected to 4g, and normally it is 7mb, but was throttled to 256k.

    And the speed reduction was implemented promptly when I hit the cap.
     
  9. EricH4753

    EricH4753 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    623
    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2012

    Jun 24, 2012
    623
    25
    68
    Male
    Unemployed
    Wheeling, WV
    so is 3g throttled on this phone?
     
  10. TDOW

    TDOW Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    226
    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2013

    Feb 21, 2013
    226
    11
    58
    After 2.5 GB, yes. But honestly, our 3G speeds out here are slow to begin with so it is not very noticeable to me.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...