1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Assistance with s3.amazonaws pop-up

Discussion in 'Android Help' started by Ukbrtn2, Aug 21, 2016.

  1. Ukbrtn2

    Ukbrtn2 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    26
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2016

    Aug 21, 2016
    6
    2
    26
    Male
    I was wondering if anyone can assist with the following pop-up that keeps appearing on my phone's browser please... It says "An embedded page at s3.amazonaws.com says:" proceeding to tell me to that I've been chosen for a chance to win an iPad. Click ok to continue.

    The url starts with data:text/html.

    Browser: chrome
    Phone: samsung galaxy s6

    Any assistance is greatly appreciated.

     

    Advertisement

  2. Ukbrtn2

    Ukbrtn2 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    26
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2016

    Aug 21, 2016
    6
    2
    26
    Male
    Also, I've tried the following:

    Clearing cache and data on chrome app.

    Anti adware app scan shows threats to preloaded apps Instagram (threat: airpush) and Slacker radio (threats: airpush, mopub, inmobi). Tried replacing app with factory version, but scan still shows threats.

    Unfortunately tried phone reset too with no luck.
     
  3. Bg260

    Bg260  
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #32
    Points:
    763
    Posts:
    3,538
    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2016

    Apr 30, 2016
    3,538
    3,667
    763
    Male
    Freelance Entrepreneur
    Lincoln
    Got any Wallpaper Apps? Use the stock Samsung browser. It has an ad block add-on available in the Play Store. Everyone should have ad blocking when Browsing. This adware can be injected on to your device.
     
    #3 Bg260, Aug 21, 2016
    Last edited: Aug 25, 2016
  4. Eileenru

    Eileenru Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2016

    Aug 24, 2016
    2
    1
    16
    The same thing happened to my phone yesterday.
    Any suggestions on how to get rid of it?
    This also popped up:
    www.launcer-apps.xyz says: Droid Turbo System Warning (2) Viruses Detected!
    Is that legitimate?
    @Bg260, How do we access adb locking?
    Thank you,
     
  5. Bg260

    Bg260  
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #32
    Points:
    763
    Posts:
    3,538
    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2016

    Apr 30, 2016
    3,538
    3,667
    763
    Male
    Freelance Entrepreneur
    Lincoln
    Eileenru likes this.
  6. Eileenru

    Eileenru Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2016

    Aug 24, 2016
    2
    1
    16
    Bg260 likes this.
  7. Ukbrtn2

    Ukbrtn2 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    26
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2016

    Aug 21, 2016
    6
    2
    26
    Male
    Update on mine... I've been using the adblock browser on mine since Sunday with no s3 pop-ups so far. Thanks for the assistance Bg260!
     
    Guggy likes this.
  8. Bg260

    Bg260  
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #32
    Points:
    763
    Posts:
    3,538
    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2016

    Apr 30, 2016
    3,538
    3,667
    763
    Male
    Freelance Entrepreneur
    Lincoln
    Good deal! I'm glad.
     
  9. pattyk999

    pattyk999 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2012

    Jul 20, 2012
    6
    0
    5
    Female
    Danville, CA
    I've done everything including a factory reset. The malware is still alive and well. I'm getting a new phone, this malware is indestructible. If you have any other options, kindly let me know.
     
  10. Ukbrtn2

    Ukbrtn2 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    26
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2016

    Aug 21, 2016
    6
    2
    26
    Male
    I hate to hear that patty. I saw another thread where another poster is struggling with this issue too. Until we learn more about it, I think Bg260 provided a good work around. My adblock browser is very similar to chrome and still no pop-ups. Good luck. This is very menacing.
     
  11. Bg260

    Bg260  
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #32
    Points:
    763
    Posts:
    3,538
    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2016

    Apr 30, 2016
    3,538
    3,667
    763
    Male
    Freelance Entrepreneur
    Lincoln
    Is it an s6? There are other options. Have you tried Smart Switch? Some malware like Trojan Virus can imbed itself in the system partition. A factory reset does not clear that. Flashing factory firmware will.
    Smart Switch has a repair feature that does just that.

    There are also other adblocking browsers in the Playstore. Lightning Browser is good. It will import bookmarks from other browsers too.
     
  12. Bg260

    Bg260  
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #32
    Points:
    763
    Posts:
    3,538
    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2016

    Apr 30, 2016
    3,538
    3,667
    763
    Male
    Freelance Entrepreneur
    Lincoln
    @Ukbrtn2 I'm curious, would you mind telling me who your carrier is and if you have received any Over-the-Air updates recently?
     
  13. Ukbrtn2

    Ukbrtn2 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    26
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2016

    Aug 21, 2016
    6
    2
    26
    Male
    Verizon... Aug 25th was my last system update. I've also wiped the cache partition along with uninstalling and reinstalling chrome.
     
  14. Bg260

    Bg260  
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #32
    Points:
    763
    Posts:
    3,538
    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2016

    Apr 30, 2016
    3,538
    3,667
    763
    Male
    Freelance Entrepreneur
    Lincoln
  15. pattyk999

    pattyk999 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2012

    Jul 20, 2012
    6
    0
    5
    Female
    Danville, CA
    I have Verizon and last update was May 5th, running 5.1. No over air updates.
    I've tried ad blockers but to no avail. My concern is that it's more devious than a pop up ad that needs to be supressed. I've factory reset, wiped out cache, uninstalled/reinstalled chrome and all apps that look questionable.
    I'm not savvy enough to know how to flash factory firmware (not technically inclined)!
    Thank you so much for all of the assistance.
    I have also attached 2 screen shots of what I'm getting.
     

    Attached Files:

  16. pattyk999

    pattyk999 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2012

    Jul 20, 2012
    6
    0
    5
    Female
    Danville, CA
    Here's the 1st screen shot

    By the way, I have a Motorola Droid turbo
     

    Attached Files:

  17. Jfalls63

    Jfalls63 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #30
    Points:
    818
    Posts:
    4,220
    Joined:
    May 15, 2015

    May 15, 2015
    4,220
    3,185
    818
    Male
    Electrician
    Satsuma,Alabama
    Bg260 likes this.
  18. Bg260

    Bg260  
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #32
    Points:
    763
    Posts:
    3,538
    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2016

    Apr 30, 2016
    3,538
    3,667
    763
    Male
    Freelance Entrepreneur
    Lincoln
    I'm beginning to think this is a Verizon issue. Thanks for the help. I'm going to Motorola School this weekend!
     
  19. Jfalls63

    Jfalls63 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #30
    Points:
    818
    Posts:
    4,220
    Joined:
    May 15, 2015

    May 15, 2015
    4,220
    3,185
    818
    Male
    Electrician
    Satsuma,Alabama
    One of the best things Verizon has going for it besides coverage are their repair tools for their major brands.
     
  20. Bg260

    Bg260  
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #32
    Points:
    763
    Posts:
    3,538
    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2016

    Apr 30, 2016
    3,538
    3,667
    763
    Male
    Freelance Entrepreneur
    Lincoln
    Yeah, somewhere along the way I managed to delete mine.
    Saved by bacon the first time I soft-bricked though.
     
  21. Ashley_505

    Ashley_505 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2016

    Aug 29, 2016
    1
    0
    5
    Is it a virus it always pops up on mine ...
     
  22. Bg260

    Bg260  
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #32
    Points:
    763
    Posts:
    3,538
    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2016

    Apr 30, 2016
    3,538
    3,667
    763
    Male
    Freelance Entrepreneur
    Lincoln
    It's not a virus in the sense that you are thinking. Its adware. Extremely annoying. Usually it will want you to download an app or something. That's about it. What device?
     
  23. Silicon Valley Crone

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2016

    Aug 29, 2016
    2
    0
    5
    Female
     
  24. Silicon Valley Crone

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2016

    Aug 29, 2016
    2
    0
    5
    Female
    Well, it's not a Verizon problem. I just encountered it on
    T-Mobile, using Chrome on my Galaxy S6, running Android Marshmallow. The ad offered me, as a Comcast user, the chance to win a new mobile phone. (Did any non-Comcast users get the same ad?) I could not kill it, and I could not use Chrome at all.

    I took Bg260's advice to install adblocker, and, for the moment, everything seems to be resolved.

    BTW, BG260's instructions didn't exactly work for me, since I couldn't do anything using my browser! So I used the Play Store icon and searched on 'adblock plus android' and installed the free app.

    Interestingly, I'm not using the adblock browser (I'm still using Chrome), but the problem is resolved anyway! :specsdroid:
     
  25. Bg260

    Bg260  
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #32
    Points:
    763
    Posts:
    3,538
    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2016

    Apr 30, 2016
    3,538
    3,667
    763
    Male
    Freelance Entrepreneur
    Lincoln
    So we're back to the S6 then. Chrome is still a suspect. I can't find any other way to share a link to the Playstore. Glad you found it. Thanks for sharing.
     

Share This Page

Loading...