1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Asurion replacement shows device is not reconditioned.

Discussion in 'Sprint' started by M5Rahul, Aug 24, 2011.

  1. M5Rahul

    M5Rahul Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    149
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2010

    Sep 30, 2010
    149
    12
    38
    DFW TX
    Long story short, I lost my 3D at a beach [ South Padre ] :( So, I got a replacement unit from Asurion!

    It came in a refurbished box ( was expecting new ! ) and has a ' Asurion Re-manufactured ' sticker and another square white sticker in the battery compartment.

    Anyway, I activated the phone and opened the Phone App, dialed ##786# and here's the strange thing:

    Life Timer : 0
    Lifetime Calls : 0
    Data usage : 0

    Reconditioned Status : No
    Activation Date: 08/24/2011 [ Today, said Not Available prior to activation ]


    My question is, how does a refurb. have 0 Lifetime [ calls and data ] usage and reconditioned status as NO ? :thinking: My brother's replacement EVO 4G clearly states the Reconditioned Status as Yes.

    Is this a refurb or New device ?

    Any insights ? Can Asurion reset the lifetimer ? Does the EVO 3D's lifetimer reset to 0 when hard reset [ like the iPhone ] ?

    Sorry about the truckload of questions.. but I'm just curious and Asurion's CS and Tech Support were no help [ what else is new!! :rolleyes: ]

    Thanks!!!
     

    Advertisement

  2. jj14x

    jj14x Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    243
    Posts:
    1,498
    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2011

    Mar 8, 2011
    1,498
    693
    243
    Hate to be the spoil sport, but Asurion does not promise a new device. If you are lucky, you might get a new one. But they can certainly send you a refurb.

    Upon hard reset, I don't think it resets the lifetime counter (at least mine didn't). Can Asurion reset it? Probably not - I don't know. (in theory, I don't see why they can't reset it...)

    Who knows - maybe you got lucky and got a new device. The key question though is - does it work as expected? Does it have any blemishes? If all is well, why bother with whether it is new/refurb? (even when you sell it, the buyer will also see it as non-refurb - unless you tell em)
     
  3. wake69

    wake69 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,808
    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2010

    Jun 8, 2010
    1,808
    513
    213
    Security Engineer
    Georgia
    i know with my evo 4g refurb from asurion it id have counts in the ##786# read out. U may have been lucky and gotten a brand new device
     
  4. M5Rahul

    M5Rahul Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    149
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2010

    Sep 30, 2010
    149
    12
    38
    DFW TX
    I'm not much concerned about it being refurbished ( although acquiring a NIB is always nicer :p ). I'm just a little perplexed with how a refurbished device has zero usage, no activation date, and recond. status as NO

    To my knowledge, with the exception of iphone and some Nokia (GSM) unlocked/unbranded devices ( N95 ; E71 ; N8 .. etc ] can have their lifetimers reset to 0, but I don't think the same is possible with CDMA devices unless done by the OEM.

    I also really doubt Asurion has the authority ( and possibly the software ) to reset the LifeTimer. Wouldn't that be akin to rolling back the odometer ?

    I'm simply curious what makes this device a refurb. Or, if it is new in a refurb. packaging with a refurb sticker :thinking:

    In the box:

    - Phone
    - Battery
    - SD Card
    - Battery Cover

    No wall-charger included.

    The phone looks immaculate. No scratches, blemishes or any signs of use/abuse.
     
  5. M5Rahul

    M5Rahul Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    149
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2010

    Sep 30, 2010
    149
    12
    38
    DFW TX
    You might be right. I wonder why they would mail a new device in a refurb box with a refurb sticker on it though..
     
  6. M5Rahul

    M5Rahul Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    149
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2010

    Sep 30, 2010
    149
    12
    38
    DFW TX
    oh well.. I can't wait to get home and ROOT it .. I already miss ViperROM !!
     
  7. marctronixx

    Moderator
    Rank:
     #36
    Points:
    683
    Posts:
    6,358
    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2009

    Oct 12, 2009
    6,358
    4,061
    683
    34.0522° N, 118.2437° W
    You have a new device.
     
  8. PyroSporker

    PyroSporker Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    1,779
    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2010

    Apr 3, 2010
    1,779
    1,286
    323
    Maybe it arrived to the store or guest with a shattered screen. That is one possibility of a situation where the phone may not have been activated nor even powered on before it was returned for a refurbishment. I'm pretty sure they can replace a screen and digitzer without needing to even turn on the device, although you would think they would at least power it on to ensure it is functioning properly.

    Also, there is no doubt some possible way to reset those metrics in some way, just not readily available to the end user. HTC or Sprint (not store) can probably reset all that info if they want to (probably locked and encrypted).

    In any case, it seems you have stumbled upon a lucky situation with this replacement device.

    Maybe you ought to invest in a GPS phone locating application from the market, or use the free built in function unlocked through HTCSense.com?
     
  9. evolution3d

    evolution3d Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    219
    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2011

    Jul 18, 2011
    219
    45
    43
    Sprint Technician
    As a Sprint tech when i receive advance exchange phones new ones come in a new package. I rarely ever see them, even with the EVO 3D. The fact that yours says no under reconditioned is quite curious though. They may have forgot to update it... but that wouldn't explain the 0 hr usage.
     
  10. marctronixx

    Moderator
    Rank:
     #36
    Points:
    683
    Posts:
    6,358
    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2009

    Oct 12, 2009
    6,358
    4,061
    683
    34.0522° N, 118.2437° W
    OP,

    if you are still around, why not contact lockline/asurion and ASK? "hey did you guys send me a NEW device?" or "is it possible you guys send out new/unused devices?"

    the evo 3D is still a fairly new device and I do not see a reason to NOT believe the OP simply has a NEW device....

    the evo 4G for example, has been out for so long and production had been discontinued on it, that ANY handset replacement now a days is almost virtually guaranteed to be used. there may be no used 3D handsets in the pipeline at this time... this is not impossible.

    hahahaa, i mean what is the issue? does the OP WANT a used device? is the OP upset he/she received a device that could be new? I guess i don't understand the original post?? :thinking:

    i would think by some legal reason these companies can not alter those settings to show a USED phone as NEW.. kind of like its illegal to tamper with a speedo in a vehicle when trying to sell it/keep it within warranty guidelines, etc etc....
     
  11. z50king

    z50king Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    126
    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2011

    Jul 21, 2011
    126
    21
    38
    Student, Student Assistant
    Upland, CA
    Yeah I am assuming almost all the refurb devices are new based on the lifetime of the phone. Has been available to consumers for 2 or 3 months? The first returned ones are probably getting fixed right now.
     
  12. jlear3

    jlear3 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    77
    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2011

    Aug 7, 2011
    77
    17
    18
    my 2d/3d switch is really loose and the guy at sprint said its a known issue that can be fixed, he actually talked me into exchanging mine in...

    Just wondering, will I get a refurb?
     
  13. AndroidMax

    AndroidMax Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    304
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010

    Jun 10, 2010
    304
    60
    53
    Male
    Did you notice that when you hit menu on the ## status screen, one of the choices is reset?
     
  14. Racer Of All

    Racer Of All Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2011

    Aug 28, 2011
    4
    0
    5
    I have to send my phone in for a replacement to Asurion (which btw, they're a PAIN to deal with, seven days and still no progress on even PLACING the claim). Anyway, I did notice the reset, so I gave it a shot.

    When you touch reset it asks for a password (which is your MSL code) I typed that in and it gave me a warning saying that it was going to wipe ALL data and return it to stock.

    After it booted back up and reactivated itself, I did the ##786# code again and the LIFE timer, calls data, etc were NOT wiped. Neither was the reconditioned status (but mine ISN'T reconditioned so that might reset) either way, the timer's do NOT reset. So you probably got a new phone. Wish me that luck =p

    EDIT: Also, the Activation date on my phone is the 7/29/2011 which is the day I got the phone, even though it reactivated today after the wipe, it still remembers when it was first activated.
     
  15. lion2

    lion2 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    46
    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010

    Apr 9, 2010
    46
    9
    16
    Just read this thread because I also lost my phone and had Asurion send me a replacement two weeks ago. Like the OP, Asurion sent me a phone that's not in the original box and with a reconditioned sticker on the back.

    It seems like I have a new phone. The life calls shows 82 calls and the life timer shows 48 minutes. Both those numbers seem to match up what my usage was for the past two weeks. The Reconditioned status also says "no." The phone seems in perfect condition with no blemishes.

    Also working with Asurion was a breeze. I put my claim in on a Monday and got the replacement phone the next day.

    Edit: My activation date on the log was 8/16/2011 the same day I received the replacement.
     
    M5Rahul likes this.
  16. Racer Of All

    Racer Of All Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2011

    Aug 28, 2011
    4
    0
    5
     
  17. M5Rahul

    M5Rahul Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    149
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2010

    Sep 30, 2010
    149
    12
    38
    DFW TX
    Sorry, haven't been as active on the forums lately. Work + Moving to a new place eats up all my energy :p

    There is no issue, per se. I have used Asurion a few times over the years, and this is [was] the first instance where I received a *new* phone with a *refurb* sticker. So, I was simply curious whether it's really new [ as indicated by the Lifetimer and Reconditioned Status ] or, infact, a refurb.

    I am delighted to have received a [supposedly] new device. I simply wasn't sure if it was/is indeed new.

    I did call Asurion [prior to creating this thread] and they basically were clueless because their CS Dept [including Tech Support] and Equipment Fulfillment Dept are completely detached.

    Tech support said they only handle *functional issues* [ wherein they basically have you Hard Reset :rolleyes: followed by ordering a replacement unit if within 7 days] and are unable to tell whether a unit is new or refurb. :thinking: One would think they have the ESN in their database with all the relevant info! Oh well..

    BTW, my experience with Asurion has been, for the most part, painless as long as I don't have to call them!! Order/Pay online and phone arrives next day by noon.

    Dealing with them over the phone can be a PITA!
     
  18. M5Rahul

    M5Rahul Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    149
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2010

    Sep 30, 2010
    149
    12
    38
    DFW TX
    Wow, that's odd. Did they send you any tracking info ?
     
  19. Racer Of All

    Racer Of All Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2011

    Aug 28, 2011
    4
    0
    5
     
  20. lion2

    lion2 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    46
    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010

    Apr 9, 2010
    46
    9
    16
    I also had to fill out a form and fax it. I provided all the needed materials the same day and they called me that same day to pay the premium and the phone got delivered the next day. Don't know why they are giving you a hard time.
     
  21. Racer Of All

    Racer Of All Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2011

    Aug 28, 2011
    4
    0
    5
    Don't know either, but I have good news! I got my phone in a BRAND new box, here's the copypasta of a post I made in a different forum, let me know if anyone else got the replacement like this:

    Awesome news! I got mine today and it was in a BRAND NEW box, everything was in it. Here are pictures, click for a MUCH larger one:

    Box, notice the sealed stickers and how it isn't a refurbed box:
    [​IMG] [​IMG]

    Here's the phone with all the default HTC stickers and battery/SD card:
    [​IMG] [​IMG]

    Pictures of the bootloader version/usage, new phone on left, my cracked on on right:
    [​IMG] [​IMG]

    Is that weird or what? Anyone else get EVERYTHING as if you bought the phone off the shelf? I have literally everything, charger and all, here's a pic of everything in the box (excuse my mess of a table =p):
    [​IMG]
     
  22. M5Rahul

    M5Rahul Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    149
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2010

    Sep 30, 2010
    149
    12
    38
    DFW TX
    That's awesome Racer!! You finally got your replacement and a BNIB one too! :D

    Mine didn't come in that OEM box you received. Mine came in a refurbished box with battery and SD Card only. Even has a Asurion Refurbished sticker on the back. However, the display readout [##786#] is the same as yours!
     
  23. 0837s

    0837s Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    224
    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2009

    Oct 19, 2009
    224
    7
    36

    Could have had physical damage when it was taken out of the box at the store, to be activated, and sent back to the manufacturer to be fixed, then Assurion got ahold of it.
     

Share This Page

Loading...