1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

At long last, I have gone over to the Dark Side

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Hawker, Sep 17, 2011.

  1. Hawker

    Hawker Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    433
    Posts:
    4,095
    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2011

    Aug 2, 2011
    4,095
    1,911
    433
    Male
    UK
    I eventually plucked up the courage and rooted today.

    Not sure why I held out for so long, but there you go.
    I also did a full wipe then installed Revolution ROM. In for a penny..... :D

    Early signs are pretty good, with browsing seeming much more snappy, a few nice cosmetic features too (I like the overscroll effect and the improved battery level gauge)
    I've got a problem browsing over wifi at work (home is ok) so I will be interested if this makes any difference when I go in next week.

    I did a titanium backup, and my battery level dropped instantly from 50% to 17%!!! Not sure what was wrong there. Got it back on charge now so I'll have to keep an eye on that.

    I would like to thank ironass, syndey99 slug steslatt and others for all their help and comments on here, whithout which I would still be stuck in the doldrums of an Orange branded unrooted boy-in-man's-pants of a handset!

    Thinking I'll stick with Revolution for a while to see how it goes, but then give Sicopat's a go now i have the bug!

    By the way, there is a very nice full-circle battery gauge indicator available in Sicopat's Rom. Is there any way I can put this into Revolution? If so, where from and how please.

    Also, in Revolution, can you turn off the full battery beep notification, or do i still need to download a market app?

    Many thanks again to you all fellas!
    :)
     

    Advertisement

    mattyboyo and Twinn like this.
  2. wrighty.uk.gor

    wrighty.uk.gor Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    98
    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2011

    Jul 29, 2011
    98
    11
    18
  3. Hawker

    Hawker Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    433
    Posts:
    4,095
    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2011

    Aug 2, 2011
    4,095
    1,911
    433
    Male
    UK
    I've already got that installed thanks mate.
    I cant see where I get the battery icon and beep silencer option tho.
     
  4. wrighty.uk.gor

    wrighty.uk.gor Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    98
    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2011

    Jul 29, 2011
    98
    11
    18
    download Jkay Theme Settings 9.1 from the kitchen

    The options are in there

    the battery icons etc are under themes

    click on a theme eg pureblue 4.2
    Then click the image and it will enlarge the photo to you can see what the icons will change to etc
     
  5. Hawker

    Hawker Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    433
    Posts:
    4,095
    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2011

    Aug 2, 2011
    4,095
    1,911
    433
    Male
    UK
    Thanks for that wrighty mate.
    I shall give it a go.....

    Just opened the JKay theme icon in apps.
    There are a load of options under "Lockscreen actions (long press for icons)
    under this is "phone", "messaging", "Music" to name but a few.
    Under these are top left shortcut, top right shortcut and you can assign shortcuts to these.

    What do these do? What is Phone top left shortcut, messaging top right shortcut???

    If I apply a theme and dont want to use one of the others under this app, how to I get the theme back to default?
     
  6. wrighty.uk.gor

    wrighty.uk.gor Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    98
    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2011

    Jul 29, 2011
    98
    11
    18

    No worries any time.
     
  7. mattyboyo

    mattyboyo Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    76
    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2011

    Jul 15, 2011
    76
    7
    16
    I'll be in this situation in a couple of weeks. I'm waiting for my vodafone contract to end and i'll get an sgs2 on orange. Main reason for wanting root and debrand at least is to get rid of the bloatware and enable wifi tethering.

    Has going to revolution made the gps work any better? I see he Leo has changed the gps server to a european one the same as faster fix does.
     
  8. Hawker

    Hawker Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    433
    Posts:
    4,095
    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2011

    Aug 2, 2011
    4,095
    1,911
    433
    Male
    UK
    I dont quite get this KJay theme app.
    Within this I have 2 theme settings, JKay Glass Deluxe (selected) and JKay AOSP Deluxe
    I dont get what these shortcut settings are under the Lockscreen section
    Also I cant get the battery silencer on full charge to work.
    Its as if the theme is not actually active. How do I activate this JKay theme?
     
    mattyboyo likes this.
  9. wrighty.uk.gor

    wrighty.uk.gor Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    98
    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2011

    Jul 29, 2011
    98
    11
    18
    Pick a theme from the kitchen first mate leomar updated every thing couple days ago and got a feeling thats why. As he had to update all the themes to get jkay 9.2 to work.

    Give it a try and let me know,
     
    Hawker likes this.
  10. Hawker

    Hawker Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    433
    Posts:
    4,095
    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2011

    Aug 2, 2011
    4,095
    1,911
    433
    Male
    UK
    Cheers wrighty. I can see how it fits in now. Thanks mate.

    Can someone else on revolution with ninphetimine try something for me please.
    If I go into location and security and try to tick the remote control check box I get a force close on the android.settings app.

    Is this just me?

    And had anyone got BLN working? It says in the kitchen that it needs a compatible kernel but it seems ninphetimine isn't one of then.

    Thanks
     
  11. wrighty.uk.gor

    wrighty.uk.gor Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    98
    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2011

    Jul 29, 2011
    98
    11
    18
    I am running ninphetimine and the same thing happen to me force close.

    BLN have to leave someone else to help you out there though
     
  12. Sydney99

    Sydney99 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,733
    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2011

    Jul 7, 2011
    1,733
    467
    163
    UK
    ditto remote control - ? a bug to report on the XDA thread

    BLN works fine for me, and is a great additional feature

    interestingly I tried it before switching to revolution (when on KG5 + ninphet) and I had the same problem as you. on revolution + ninphet it is working fine.

    sorry, cannot really think of a solution, except trying uninstalling and reinstalling?? but certainly worth playing around with and seeing if you can get it to work, 'cause it should work with ninphet
     
  13. steslatt

    steslatt Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,145
    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010

    Jul 20, 2010
    1,145
    303
    163
    Male
    Design Engineer
    Manchester
    I'm guessing you need to add the samsung dive package in the kitchen app under widgets/apps for the remote control to work. Is it the samsung remote that you are using or do you have something else like seekdroid?

    BLN works on ninphet.
     
    Hawker likes this.
  14. Hawker

    Hawker Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    433
    Posts:
    4,095
    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2011

    Aug 2, 2011
    4,095
    1,911
    433
    Male
    UK
    Thanks for the replies fellas.

    I installed bln via the kitchen app and out rebooted. Do you need to activate it somewhere perhaps?
    I'll give the dive idea a go and let you know how I get on.
     
  15. steslatt

    steslatt Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,145
    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010

    Jul 20, 2010
    1,145
    303
    163
    Male
    Design Engineer
    Manchester
    You need the BLN control app off the market
     
  16. ironass

    ironass Android Expert
    Rank:
     #21
    Points:
    1,343
    Posts:
    11,456
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010

    Aug 17, 2010
    11,456
    5,676
    1,343
    Male
    Keeping one step ahead of the tax man.
    Cotswolds, England
    Am using the BLN Control Free app from the Market with sipocat's ROM and ninphetamine kernel. All working as planned. I did miss the LED message notification on my Nexus One... not anymore! :D

    See here:-

    https://market.android.com/details?id=neldar.bln.control.free&feature=search_result

    Hope this helps. :D


    UPDATE

    Should add that I'm using it with Handcent messaging app and not the built-in one which I have disabled.


    (What do you mean... the Darkside? hawker, I am your father)
     
  17. Hawker

    Hawker Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    433
    Posts:
    4,095
    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2011

    Aug 2, 2011
    4,095
    1,911
    433
    Male
    UK
    Thereis a bln app downloadable from the kitchen and I thought this was all that I needed.
    I'll give the market app a go then.
    thank u both.

    By the way u were right about needing to install samsung dive. The tick box now works without force close. Thanks again.
     
  18. steslatt

    steslatt Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,145
    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010

    Jul 20, 2010
    1,145
    303
    163
    Male
    Design Engineer
    Manchester
    The bln in the kitchen is just the stock messaging app with a tweak to allow bln to work with it instead of having to use handcent or another 3rd party app. You still need the BLN control app from the market. Also if you want missed calls to work with bln you need the pro version.
     
  19. Hawker

    Hawker Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    433
    Posts:
    4,095
    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2011

    Aug 2, 2011
    4,095
    1,911
    433
    Male
    UK
    Thanks again fellas.
    I use the stock messaging app. I like go sms and hancent but the one thing that deters me from using either is that they do not add to the call logs on send/receive sms.
     
  20. Twinn

    Twinn Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    820
    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2011

    Jul 24, 2011
    820
    261
    113
    Male
    Ireland
    Good to hear mate that you finally decided to go rooted :D now try Litening rom! As i said few times before it`s really good, fast, stable and looks great :)
     
  21. Sydney99

    Sydney99 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,733
    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2011

    Jul 7, 2011
    1,733
    467
    163
    UK
    have you downloaded BLN control and got it working yet then??
     
  22. Hawker

    Hawker Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    433
    Posts:
    4,095
    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2011

    Aug 2, 2011
    4,095
    1,911
    433
    Male
    UK
    I might give lightning a go and also sicopat's

    I've downloaded bln. Just waiting for some bugger to text me now! : D
     
  23. ironass

    ironass Android Expert
    Rank:
     #21
    Points:
    1,343
    Posts:
    11,456
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010

    Aug 17, 2010
    11,456
    5,676
    1,343
    Male
    Keeping one step ahead of the tax man.
    Cotswolds, England

    Every body sing along...

    Nobody likes me, everybody hates me,
    Guess I'll go eat worms,
    Long, thin, slimy ones; Short, fat, juicy ones,
    Itsy, bitsy, fuzzy wuzzy worms.
    ...

    :D
     
  24. Riche101

    Riche101 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    739
    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2011

    Aug 19, 2011
    739
    137
    113
    Male
    EarthCaust Photography, Volunteer, Enviromental Re
    UK- Edinburgh, Brazil - 2 hrs from Rio de Janeiro
    Would BLN work on CF Rooted phones Noled is nice but a battery drainer

    By any chance ironass do you work for cold calling companies some of the breathing you get sounds like its from the Darkside lol

    Lol am worried now what I would be I jumped the fence only after hawker had done

    @ hawker Maybe ironass's avatar is the new design Deathstar lol
     
  25. Hawker

    Hawker Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    433
    Posts:
    4,095
    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2011

    Aug 2, 2011
    4,095
    1,911
    433
    Male
    UK
    A death star with very creepy eyes richie!

    Just finished my tea (worms + chips) and STILL no texts! :|
     

Share This Page

Loading...