1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support At my wits end!!!!

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Kaido87Masenko, Aug 4, 2013.

  1. Kaido87Masenko

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2013

    Jul 31, 2013
    3
    0
    5
    Ok... so this is my problem...

    I have a galaxy s3, for which im using the tmobile byop service. I was using it for a while, andit was working just fine save for mms. All of a sudden one day a few months ago, my data stopped working. Ive called straight talk, and done their phone trouble shooting over a dozen times, to no prevail. Ive put my sisters sim in, who uses t mobile, and both her apn, and my straight talk apn works with her tmo sim... but when I put mine in, and use the wap.tracfone apn, the 4g disappears, and I get no access to mobile networks error message when I try to access the web. Ive replaced the sim card, ive changed my number, and ive rooted my phone, still to no prevail. Im seriously about to give up, and I have no idea what the problem is... just to post, my apn settings are...

    Apn: wap.tracfone
    Port:8080
    Mms port:8080

    ... please help?
     

    Advertisement

  2. funkylogik

    funkylogik share the love peeps ;)
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,443
    Posts:
    21,404
    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2011

    Sep 15, 2011
    21,404
    7,246
    1,443
    Male
    monkey
    Paisley, Scotland, Western Europe
    It does sound like the APN is wrong. Want a link to the s3 forum http://androidforums.com/samsung-galaxy-s3/
    Post there as well but try to make the title a bit more clear like "help with data on [your carrier]" (you should maybe change the title here too)
    :beer:
     
    josborne6 and Rush like this.
  3. Rush

    Rush {<>}~{<>}
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,143
    Posts:
    18,742
    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2011

    Jan 31, 2011
    18,742
    3,171
    1,143
    Male
    Entrepreneur / Business Owner - Freelance Writer
    Loganville, GA
    Hello and welcome to the community... Kaido87Masenk

    Hopefully the kind folks inside here will be able to assist you with your concerns.

    Best luck. ;)
     
    funkylogik likes this.
  4. josborne6

    josborne6 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    188
    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2012

    Sep 18, 2012
    188
    15
    38
    Male
    Healthcare
    Lithia, FL
    What carrier is your S3 from originally?
    What service is your Sim card? Straight talk or T-Mobile?
     
    funkylogik likes this.
  5. Kaido87Masenko

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2013

    Jul 31, 2013
    3
    0
    5
    The carrier for my phone is tmobile, and my sim is from straight talk. Im using their byop service to use my s3 for straight talk service... the weird thing is if I change the apn to anything other than wap.tracfone the 4g icon pops back up, but I still do t have ne data. But the second I make the apn set to wap.tracfone, the 4g disappears and I get the error no signal found for mobile networks when im trying to access the internet

    Also, ive tried putting my sim into my old tmobile Samsung Exhibit II, and creating the apn, and it did the same thing, so i really dont think its my s3
     
  6. josborne6

    josborne6 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    188
    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2012

    Sep 18, 2012
    188
    15
    38
    Male
    Healthcare
    Lithia, FL
    It sounds like there is a problem with your Sim acct setup. Not sure. I would try calling again and see if you can get someone helpful that can walk you through it.
     
  7. funkylogik

    funkylogik share the love peeps ;)
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,443
    Posts:
    21,404
    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2011

    Sep 15, 2011
    21,404
    7,246
    1,443
    Male
    monkey
    Paisley, Scotland, Western Europe
    I take it phone and text still work?
    What we need is if someone on the same carrier can show a screenshot of their APN :thumbup:
     
  8. Kaido87Masenko

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2013

    Jul 31, 2013
    3
    0
    5
    [​IMG]


    [​IMG]

    The part that got cut off up top is the name of the apn. Which i just name ST
     

    Attached Files:

Share This Page

Loading...