1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root [AT&T] Considering returning the One. Will AT&T refuse with an unlocked bootloader?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by 1080p, May 1, 2013.

  1. 1080p

    1080p Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    73
    Posts:
    254
    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2009

    Oct 1, 2009
    254
    60
    73
    I am considering returning my HTC One for an S4.

    I unlocked the bootloader the very first day. Does AT&T check for that sort of thing when processing a return/exchange?
     

    Advertisement

  2. marctronixx

    Moderator
    Rank:
     #39
    Points:
    643
    Posts:
    6,034
    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2009

    Oct 12, 2009
    6,034
    3,730
    643
    34.0522° N, 118.2437° W
    Depends on the shop. Some will and some won't.
     
  3. SandersJC64

    SandersJC64 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    69
    Joined:
    May 30, 2010

    May 30, 2010
    69
    20
    38
    You could always just re-lock it.
     
  4. 1080p

    1080p Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    73
    Posts:
    254
    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2009

    Oct 1, 2009
    254
    60
    73
    I don't think a stock RUU / Stock recovery is available for download. What happens when you re-lock with a custom recovery installed? (TWRP)
     
  5. EarlyMon

    EarlyMon The PearlyMon
    Rank:
     #1
    Points:
    5,218
    Posts:
    57,632
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010

    Jun 10, 2010
    57,632
    70,421
    5,218
    New Mexico, USA
    It stays installed.
     
    scotty85 and marctronixx like this.
  6. Rxpert83

    Rxpert83 Dr. Feelgood
    Rank:
     #12
    Points:
    1,953
    Posts:
    17,941
    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2011

    Aug 30, 2011
    17,941
    13,153
    1,953
    Male
    Graduate Student
    MN
    If you relock it, it will say so on the bootloader


    ****re-locked**** and not ****locked****
     
    marctronixx and EarlyMon like this.
  7. 1080p

    1080p Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    73
    Posts:
    254
    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2009

    Oct 1, 2009
    254
    60
    73
    On the HTC screen (at power up), will it continue to say "This build is for development purposes only... etc...etc."?
     
  8. Rxpert83

    Rxpert83 Dr. Feelgood
    Rank:
     #12
    Points:
    1,953
    Posts:
    17,941
    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2011

    Aug 30, 2011
    17,941
    13,153
    1,953
    Male
    Graduate Student
    MN
    I'm about 90% sure if you don't RUU it'll still show that... Based on other HTC devices I've owned.

    I don't think its unlocking that triggers that message, as that still shows up when S-OFF. Its probably a result of the phone checking for modded software
     
    scotty85 and EarlyMon like this.
  9. EarlyMon

    EarlyMon The PearlyMon
    Rank:
     #1
    Points:
    5,218
    Posts:
    57,632
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010

    Jun 10, 2010
    57,632
    70,421
    5,218
    New Mexico, USA
    As of this weekend, the RUU on their site was for the development version of the phone. Bad idea to try it on another model I think.
     
    scotty85 likes this.
  10. JimKnuckles

    JimKnuckles Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
     #228
    Points:
    103
    Posts:
    514
    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010

    Jul 20, 2010
    514
    176
    103
    I returned my one for an s4 at sprint. About 5 hours later I brought the s4 back to sprint to get my one back. They were nice enough to do it. The One is a much better phone. The s4 was laggy and noticeabley slower than the One. the voice recognition was abysmal. The widgets aren't good. The keyboard was terrible, and no auto correction. The auto brightness was awful. In direct sunlight I had to go into the phone and turn it to the brightest level because it wouldn't adjust accordingly. All that motion sensing stuff is a gimmick fluff. I turned it all off within the hour of having the phone. It seemed to have excellent battery life tho.

    The One, in my opinion, is a superior device.
     
    scotty85 and Rxpert83 like this.
  11. Rxpert83

    Rxpert83 Dr. Feelgood
    Rank:
     #12
    Points:
    1,953
    Posts:
    17,941
    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2011

    Aug 30, 2011
    17,941
    13,153
    1,953
    Male
    Graduate Student
    MN
    The no red line under misspelled text is the most annoying thing in the world for someone coming from a different manufacturer (my experience with evos and the s3). I mean why would you get rid of that?
     
    scotty85 likes this.
  12. LoyalServant

    LoyalServant Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,050
    Joined:
    May 24, 2010

    May 24, 2010
    1,050
    267
    163
    Male
    Programmer
    Columbia, SC
    This is what mine says... and with an ominous message like that something tells me they will be less than thrilled :D

    [​IMG]
     
    scotty85 and EarlyMon like this.
  13. 1080p

    1080p Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    73
    Posts:
    254
    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2009

    Oct 1, 2009
    254
    60
    73
    I think I will just keep it. The build quality is very good. I just wish these capacitive buttons at the bottom were a little more user friendly.
     
  14. EarlyMon

    EarlyMon The PearlyMon
    Rank:
     #1
    Points:
    5,218
    Posts:
    57,632
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010

    Jun 10, 2010
    57,632
    70,421
    5,218
    New Mexico, USA
    How so?
     
  15. 1080p

    1080p Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    73
    Posts:
    254
    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2009

    Oct 1, 2009
    254
    60
    73
    They seem like they have a very small footprint of interaction. My previous phone (Note 2... and have owned S3 in the past) seemed to have no problem registering my presses.
     
  16. EarlyMon

    EarlyMon The PearlyMon
    Rank:
     #1
    Points:
    5,218
    Posts:
    57,632
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010

    Jun 10, 2010
    57,632
    70,421
    5,218
    New Mexico, USA
    Ok, yeah, I recall others saying that.

    This is a long shot, something that I just remembered that once helped on a past HTC - check under the settings for a way to calibrate your keyboard.

    It's really a positional calibration for the digitizer and can't hurt to try it.
     
    scotty85 and LoyalServant like this.
  17. LoyalServant

    LoyalServant Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,050
    Joined:
    May 24, 2010

    May 24, 2010
    1,050
    267
    163
    Male
    Programmer
    Columbia, SC
    I have gotten used to it.
    The kernel cookers are working on some neat tricks with that HTC logo.
    I have yet to try one of those kernels but having that work as my home button and the current home button as my menu button would be best.
    I don't care about the logo being wrong in that case.... anyone that uses my phone is going to be confused anyhow :D

    The buttons are one of my nit picky things about the phone.. along with the back key not closing the app drawer.... i just cannot get used to that....
     
    scotty85 likes this.
  18. LoyalServant

    LoyalServant Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,050
    Joined:
    May 24, 2010

    May 24, 2010
    1,050
    267
    163
    Male
    Programmer
    Columbia, SC
    Just an FYI on this I found it in language and keyboard -> HTC sense input -> advanced -> calibration tool
    It has you type a sentence about the quick brown fox and the lazy dog :D

    I did not notice a difference on the buttons after I did it.
    I also did not know it was there until you mentioned it :D
     
    scotty85 and EarlyMon like this.
  19. EarlyMon

    EarlyMon The PearlyMon
    Rank:
     #1
    Points:
    5,218
    Posts:
    57,632
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010

    Jun 10, 2010
    57,632
    70,421
    5,218
    New Mexico, USA
    Same place it's always been then.

    Well, it was worth a shot and now your typing with improve. :)

    I always calibrate mine. :)
     
    scotty85 likes this.
  20. Droid_Genius

    Droid_Genius Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    390
    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2010

    Jun 1, 2010
    390
    18
    58
    Male
    Houston, TX
    No they dont, I exchanged my One X+ it was rooted all they did was check the serial number against the box and I downloaded launcher pro and hid the SU App and then she let me wipe it and put back in the box and this has happened for me several times. A lot of them not really tech saavy may get one every now and then
     
  21. blau808

    blau808 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    31
    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2011

    Oct 12, 2011
    31
    5
    16
    My experience has been that the people at the AT&T store don't know shit and couldn't tell a rooted phone from a stock phone if their life depended on it.
     
  22. clsA

    clsA Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    173
    Posts:
    659
    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2013

    Apr 8, 2013
    659
    554
    173
    Painter
    FLA. USA
    +1
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...