• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Root [AT&T] Experts, Please help with rooting Android 4.4.2 on Galaxy S4

rebel2401

Lurker
Mar 18, 2014
Hi there, I am a pretty tech savy guy, I dont know why I am having so much trouble rooting my galaxy S4,

I have tried 2 methods so far, and followed the instructions carefully, I dont know why its not.
The first method are the instructions in this video here:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eLHt_HCWwr0

The second method is using Kingo, the error I got there is:
It said "Root Failed! Flash Failed"

any ideas why its doing this or more importantly, how to fix it? It's a pretty fresh phone so I can't imagine I could have done much to cause it difficulty.

Here is a pic of the error I'm getting

picture share

I appreciate your help really need to root it as soon as possible
Thank you

There is no root yet for the AT&T S4 on 4.4.2. There is a way though to flash Safestrap recovery, and get a custom rom on, though supported roms are limited. Like @windsorclarenc said, it should be rootable soon.. I feel it will be rootable the day the 4.4.2 bootloader is cracked..

Reactions: kevp75
Upvote 0
Reactions: bill.g
Upvote 0
I just wanted to add my 2 cents - that video above is for the International version and not AT&T.

I was looking to upgrade to the GS5 but they never came out with a 32GB version, so I got tired of waiting and decided to do the workaround with my GS4 and it so far works great. I was on the NB1 firmware and I had to downgrade to MK2 to root and flash a custom ROM with the safestrap recovery. There are some decent ROMs out there and like kevp75 said, it works really well. It takes a bit of patience and following instructions, but this gave my GS4 a new lease on life and I probably will hold off until the GS6.

Upvote 0
Can we get a link? I need to root this beast ASAP. I just got the phone and already had to update around 20 apps. That's a lot of bloat!