1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root [AT&T] Galaxy S4 Rooting Issue

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by sparker781, Jan 16, 2014.

  1. sparker781

    sparker781 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    65
    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2014

    Jan 16, 2014
    65
    2
    36

    Advertisement

  2. KJohns

    KJohns ROM/Application Developer
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    841
    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2011

    Dec 1, 2011
    841
    266
    113
    Male
    student/intern
    Illinois - U.S.
    are you sure you're not on the i337 version? also, what firmware are you on? ( so i can suggest a root method.)
     
  3. sparker781

    sparker781 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    65
    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2014

    Jan 16, 2014
    65
    2
    36
    Your right it is i337....soeey about that
     
  4. sparker781

    sparker781 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    65
    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2014

    Jan 16, 2014
    65
    2
    36
    Thanks for the assistance
     
  5. KJohns

    KJohns ROM/Application Developer
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    841
    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2011

    Dec 1, 2011
    841
    266
    113
    Male
    student/intern
    Illinois - U.S.
    if you're already rooted and such follow the instructions in this guide here:

    ---> Google Play Edition ROM for Galaxy S4! | GalaxyS4Root.com

    the instructions for your device begin towards the bottom of the article. can confirm this works on the tmobile version. Good Luck!
     
  6. sparker781

    sparker781 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    65
    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2014

    Jan 16, 2014
    65
    2
    36
    sadly not rooted
     
  7. KJohns

    KJohns ROM/Application Developer
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    841
    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2011

    Dec 1, 2011
    841
    266
    113
    Male
    student/intern
    Illinois - U.S.
    go to settings>about phone , what firmware and android version are you on? you're gonna need to be rooted before you can google play edition that device
     
  8. sparker781

    sparker781 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    65
    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2014

    Jan 16, 2014
    65
    2
    36
    im on andeoid 4.3. how do I get the firmware version?
     
  9. KJohns

    KJohns ROM/Application Developer
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    841
    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2011

    Dec 1, 2011
    841
    266
    113
    Male
    student/intern
    Illinois - U.S.
  10. sparker781

    sparker781 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    65
    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2014

    Jan 16, 2014
    65
    2
    36
    I dint see anything about firmware
     
  11. electricpete

    electricpete Android Expert
    Rank:
     #77
    Points:
    393
    Posts:
    2,054
    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2012

    Jan 7, 2012
    2,054
    1,013
    393
    Male
    Electrical Engineer
    Look for baseband version....usually ends in something like mf3 or mk2
     
    KJohns likes this.
  12. ironass

    ironass Android Expert
    Rank:
     #19
    Points:
    1,343
    Posts:
    11,394
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010

    Aug 17, 2010
    11,394
    5,593
    1,343
    Male
    Keeping one step ahead of the Tax man
    Cotswolds, England
    The Baseband, also known as the modem or radio, version can and often does, differ from the actual firmware version in many of the Samsung releases and therefore is not a reliable indicator of the actual firmware version.

    To locate your model number and Android version...

    Settings > More > About device > Model number and Android version

    This will give you the model of Samsung Galaxy S4 that you have and which Android version you are on.

    To locate your current Firmware version, (not Baseband)...

    Go to the dial pad and type in...

    *#1234#

    This will give you your, "Version", details in full, usually 3 lines of information which may all be relevant.
     
    KJohns likes this.
  13. wtherrell

    wtherrell Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    371
    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2010

    Aug 1, 2010
    371
    34
    43
    North Carolina
    Dial pad sequence doesn
     
  14. ironass

    ironass Android Expert
    Rank:
     #19
    Points:
    1,343
    Posts:
    11,394
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010

    Aug 17, 2010
    11,394
    5,593
    1,343
    Male
    Keeping one step ahead of the Tax man
    Cotswolds, England
     
  15. Podivin

    Podivin Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    3,679
    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009

    Nov 29, 2009
    3,679
    881
    213
    Jacksonville, Fl
    Moved to the root forum, just to keep things neat and tidy. :)
     
  16. sparker781

    sparker781 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    65
    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2014

    Jan 16, 2014
    65
    2
    36
    what number sequence do you need of the three?

    AP: I337UCUEMK2
    CP: I337UCUEMK2
    CSC: I337ATTEMK2
     
  17. KJohns

    KJohns ROM/Application Developer
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    841
    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2011

    Dec 1, 2011
    841
    266
    113
    Male
    student/intern
    Illinois - U.S.
  18. sparker781

    sparker781 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    65
    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2014

    Jan 16, 2014
    65
    2
    36
    Okay I got my phone rooted but sadly am running into issues installing the ROM...Anyone out there actually install the ROM on their ATT phone?

    Thanks
     
  19. KJohns

    KJohns ROM/Application Developer
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    841
    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2011

    Dec 1, 2011
    841
    266
    113
    Male
    student/intern
    Illinois - U.S.
    what issues are you running into?
     
  20. sparker781

    sparker781 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    65
    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2014

    Jan 16, 2014
    65
    2
    36
    When trying to install the ROM am running issues of the phone hanging and not doing anything. When it starts the install I get a few message about not being to write to something in RED letters.
     
  21. sparker781

    sparker781 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    65
    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2014

    Jan 16, 2014
    65
    2
    36
    Not to mention when I try and open Google Play it just hangs with the spinning circle.
     
  22. KJohns

    KJohns ROM/Application Developer
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    841
    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2011

    Dec 1, 2011
    841
    266
    113
    Male
    student/intern
    Illinois - U.S.
    how exactly are you trying to install the ROM?
     
  23. sparker781

    sparker781 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    65
    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2014

    Jan 16, 2014
    65
    2
    36
    ive tried alot of guides..saving the zip file on my sd card going into some mode i dont even know anymore and installing from sd card...most of the time it just hangs. can i unroot my device and just go back to stock 4.3?
     
  24. KJohns

    KJohns ROM/Application Developer
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    841
    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2011

    Dec 1, 2011
    841
    266
    113
    Male
    student/intern
    Illinois - U.S.
    yes but your going to have to download some software if you didn't make a back-up before you began. i can direct you to the correct downloads if you want.
     
  25. sparker781

    sparker781 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    65
    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2014

    Jan 16, 2014
    65
    2
    36
    PLEASE....I am stuck here
     

Share This Page

Loading...