1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root [AT&T] How to install 4.1.2 on AT&T S3 if I have Clockwork Recovery installed?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Davidd31415, Aug 11, 2013.

  1. Davidd31415

    Davidd31415 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    19
    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010

    Nov 24, 2010
    19
    0
    15
    Hi,

    I tried updating to 4.1.2 on AT&T w/ a Galaxy S3 but I received an error in Clockwork Recovery when the phone rebooted. Is the correct way for me to upgrade to 4.1.2 to download the ROM and then flash via Clockwork? If so, can I download the actual stock ROM? If not I am guessing my only option to change to the stock 4.1.2 (which was recently released) will be to replace Clockwork with the stock recovery??

    Thanks for any help!
     

    Advertisement

  2. funkylogik

    funkylogik share the love peeps ;)
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,443
    Posts:
    21,404
    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2011

    Sep 15, 2011
    21,404
    7,246
    1,443
    Male
    monkey
    Paisley, Scotland, Western Europe
    It will have to be a flashable .zip file to use it with CWM and be an at&t version. where did you download the rom from?
     
  3. breadnatty08

    breadnatty08 pain rustique
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,413
    Posts:
    19,889
    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009

    Nov 8, 2009
    19,889
    6,120
    1,413
    District of Columbia
    Moved to AT&T root subforum. :)
     
  4. Davidd31415

    Davidd31415 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    19
    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010

    Nov 24, 2010
    19
    0
    15
    The download location is what I'm looking for... Alternatively, what's the latest tutorial for removing cwm and switching back to stock recovery? How many different recovery versions are there for s3/at&t?

    Thanks
     
  5. Davidd31415

    Davidd31415 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    19
    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010

    Nov 24, 2010
    19
    0
    15
    After further reading I think I'd be able to get by if I could find the stock AT&T firmware for the S3...that is proving to be a challenge to find, however.
     
  6. MercilessLTD

    MercilessLTD Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    52
    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2011

    Nov 15, 2011
    52
    8
    16
    Male
    Developer, Mechanic
    KY, USA
    You may have better luck simply flashing to a previous versions and using Kies or OTA to update to the latest.

    However, if you are wanting just the original TouchWiz, but want it rooted and keep your original recovery, this may help: http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=2388065
     

Share This Page

Loading...