1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root [AT&T] I feel like an idiot..

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by btv1993, Jan 8, 2014.

1. btv1993

btv1993 Lurker
    None

Dec 2, 2013
    Male
    Student
    New Jersey
    Right now, I feel completely helpless when it comes to this rooting thing and want to apologize to whoever reads this for my stupidity. Could somebody please give me step by step instructions on how i root my GS3, or at least link me to directions? I've looked it up numerous times and for some reason I can't figure it out because i'm not too good with technology. My galaxy s3 is running android 4.3 right now.

Thanks,

Brian

Advertisement

2. Rukbat

Rukbat Android Expert
    None

Jan 16, 2012
    Male
    Being retired and writing Tasker tasks.
    Fayetteville, NC, USA
    First question is why you want to root. "Just to be rooted" isn't a good answer. Rooting voids the warranty, so you should have a good reason to do it.

If you still want to, try Kingo Just download it, run it, connect the phone to the computer, click the Root button and wait.

If it tells you that you need the drivers, they're at SAMSUNG_USB_Driver_for_Mobile_Phones

coconutthepit likes this.
  3. btv1993

btv1993 Lurker
    None

Dec 2, 2013
    Male
    Student
    New Jersey
    I want to root because I was told I can get rid of TouchWiz, remove irrelevant apps, and get better battery life

4. jamjr74

jamjr74 Well-Known Member
    None

Sep 29, 2013
    MA
    You can just use a different launcher to get rid of touchwiz!

5. GTWalling

GTWalling Android Expert
    None

Sep 9, 2012
    Alabama USA
    Also a lot of the irrelevant apps can be stopped and hidden using the App Manager in Settings.

6. btv1993

btv1993 Lurker
    None

Dec 2, 2013
    Male
    Student
    New Jersey