1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root [AT&T] Install Note 2 Titanium backup to Note 3?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by spinedoc, Sep 13, 2013.

  1. spinedoc

    spinedoc Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    83
    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2010

    Nov 1, 2010
    83
    3
    16
    I have a Titanium backup from my old Note 2, anyone care to venture a guess if this would install onto a Note 3? It would be nice to get setup this quick, I miss Apple's backup method and wish Google had something like it.
     

    Advertisement

  2. bonerp

    bonerp Android Expert
    Rank:
     #166
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,154
    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010

    Apr 12, 2010
    1,154
    136
    143
    Project Manager
    UK
    I would and have safely done this before between s2 and note, then note to note 2. I will restore my latest back up pro to my new note 3 but others argue not to. I've seen no evidence this causes problems.
     
  3. spinedoc

    spinedoc Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    83
    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2010

    Nov 1, 2010
    83
    3
    16
    Very cool, thanks. One less hassle to worry about.
     
  4. drexappeal

    drexappeal Android Expert
    Rank:
     #22
    Points:
    1,133
    Posts:
    10,781
    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010

    Apr 8, 2010
    10,781
    3,118
    1,133
    Male
    Entertainment Industry
    West LA, CA
    Does Titanium backup restore all settings a person made, as far as UI is concerned? Or is it just like all the other backup apps (e.g. pics/music/videos/etc.).

    I know root is required to use it, but I've always been curious what makes Titanium backup more thorough than any of the other popular backup apps.
     
  5. NJRonbo

    NJRonbo Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    443
    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2012

    Aug 25, 2012
    443
    35
    43
    Is Titanium Backup only for rooted phones?

    I ask, because I would guess you have to root the Note III first to do the restore and I am not certain there is a root available.

    This is all speculation on my part.
     
  6. El Presidente

    El Presidente Beware The Milky Pirate!
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #5
    Points:
    3,118
    Posts:
    31,502
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011

    Jan 3, 2011
    31,502
    22,914
    3,118
    Scotland
    It does apps and associated data, so if you have a custom launcher, it will do widgets and home screen stuff.

    Whilst TB will do system settings, it's not recommended. So stuff like ringtones, brightness etc, its best to do manually.

    I think helium handles system settings though.
     
    ocnbrze and drexappeal like this.
  7. drexappeal

    drexappeal Android Expert
    Rank:
     #22
    Points:
    1,133
    Posts:
    10,781
    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010

    Apr 8, 2010
    10,781
    3,118
    1,133
    Male
    Entertainment Industry
    West LA, CA
    Yes. From the actual app title, it says for rooted only.
     
  8. rawhide85

    rawhide85 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    107
    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2011

    Sep 23, 2011
    107
    40
    63
    Male
    Firefighter
    South Florida
    spine- Just wondering if the restore worked. On XDA they have found that Knox will register even flashing CWM, which may void your warranty.
     
  9. The_Chief

    The_Chief Accept no imitations!
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #10
    Points:
    2,043
    Posts:
    12,981
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009

    Nov 17, 2009
    12,981
    12,809
    2,043
    Male
    I'm retired: every day's a Monday :P
    Manchester, TN
    Warranty shmarranty... :D

    Unless the Note 3 has a mechanism in place to report a rooting action (wouldn't surprise me), you can always unroot/lock it and turn it in for warranty repairs. Then unlock/root it again.

    The concern I have is whether or not someone will find a successful root exploit. I don't NEED CWM or a ROM... all I want is root so I can do exactly this: transfer a TiBU file from my Nexus to the new Note 3 and restore all my app DATA.
     
  10. GiggityGiggity

    GiggityGiggity Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    288
    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2011

    Dec 3, 2011
    288
    45
    63
    Male
    Professional Waste Of Space
    NW London, UK
    My Note 2 is rooted but my Note 3 isn't. If I only backup user apps and leave the system stuff can I restore that backup to the unrooted Note 3?
     
  11. El Presidente

    El Presidente Beware The Milky Pirate!
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #5
    Points:
    3,118
    Posts:
    31,502
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011

    Jan 3, 2011
    31,502
    22,914
    3,118
    Scotland
    No, with TB, you need root to restore the data.

    You might want to take a look at Helium though, I think that can restore without root.
     
    ocnbrze and GiggityGiggity like this.
  12. GiggityGiggity

    GiggityGiggity Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    288
    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2011

    Dec 3, 2011
    288
    45
    63
    Male
    Professional Waste Of Space
    NW London, UK
    Cool, I'll check it out, thanks.
     
  13. GiggityGiggity

    GiggityGiggity Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    288
    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2011

    Dec 3, 2011
    288
    45
    63
    Male
    Professional Waste Of Space
    NW London, UK
    Well, that didn't go well. Many problems, lost settings, phone behaving erratically even after reboot. Had to factory reset it. Guess it'll have to be Titanium Backup. I know the Note 3 can be rooted but I'm using a Mac. Anyone know of a way to root it using a Mac instead of a pc?
     

Share This Page

Loading...