1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root [AT&T] Removing Clockwork Mod Recovery

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Ethanflux, Aug 1, 2013.

  1. Ethanflux

    Ethanflux Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2012

    Apr 20, 2012
    10
    0
    15
    What is the easiest way to remove this from my phone? I have to send my phone back to AT&T for a warranty issue. Your help is much appreciated.
     

    Advertisement

  2. funkylogik

    funkylogik share the love peeps ;)
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,443
    Posts:
    21,404
    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2011

    Sep 15, 2011
    21,404
    7,248
    1,443
    Male
    monkey
    Paisley, Scotland, Western Europe
    flash a factory at&t rom and that will return it to factory state. But, if when u boot into download mode, it shows that the device has been modified (the flash counter), use the Triangle Away app to reset the counter and then unroot :thumbup:
     
  3. Ethanflux

    Ethanflux Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2012

    Apr 20, 2012
    10
    0
    15

    When I install factory rom, do I just do that through the recovery menu or do I have to use Odin?
     
  4. funkylogik

    funkylogik share the love peeps ;)
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,443
    Posts:
    21,404
    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2011

    Sep 15, 2011
    21,404
    7,248
    1,443
    Male
    monkey
    Paisley, Scotland, Western Europe
    If you can find a zip of the firmware then use CWM but if you have a pc, use Odin and get the firmware from sammobile.com
    remember though, Triangle Away will only work while youre rooted so do that 1st :thumbup:
     
  5. Ethanflux

    Ethanflux Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2012

    Apr 20, 2012
    10
    0
    15

    Well I am hoping I can find a file that will install via the recovery, because I am having issues with using a USB cable from my phone to my PC. Not having much luck. :( If anybody knows of a link for the file, let me know.
     
  6. Rxpert83

    Rxpert83 Dr. Feelgood
    Rank:
     #16
    Points:
    1,953
    Posts:
    17,910
    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2011

    Aug 30, 2011
    17,910
    13,145
    1,953
    Male
    Graduate Student
    MN
    I know on the sprint side we have zips that will flash the stock ROM, stock recovery, and reset the flash counter all from one zip you flash through recovery. Obviously you wouldnt want to use that particular zip, but there should be one for your version of the phone as well.
     
  7. Rxpert83

    Rxpert83 Dr. Feelgood
    Rank:
     #16
    Points:
    1,953
    Posts:
    17,910
    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2011

    Aug 30, 2011
    17,910
    13,145
    1,953
    Male
    Graduate Student
    MN
  8. Ethanflux

    Ethanflux Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2012

    Apr 20, 2012
    10
    0
    15
  9. Ethanflux

    Ethanflux Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2012

    Apr 20, 2012
    10
    0
    15
    Ok that worked awesome! Returned phone to stock ROM, Reset Custom Counter, and Unrooted my phone! You are the best!
     
  10. leothez

    leothez Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2014

    Jul 5, 2014
    2
    0
    5
    I am facing the same problem. but phone is not from any of the mentioned phone companies. so i need a basic rom with unroot and get rid of cwm recovery system.
    It would be a great help if any of you can help. also please tell me the process to do this thing.

    Thanks
     
  11. GTWalling

    GTWalling Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,277
    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2012

    Sep 9, 2012
    1,277
    412
    163
    Alabama USA
    We would need to know which model/variant of the S3 you have to point you in the right direction.
     
  12. leothez

    leothez Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2014

    Jul 5, 2014
    2
    0
    5
    My apologies. Its a Samsung Galaxy S Duos GT-S7562. Not a S III. but the problems are identical.
    This is my first android and fast root as well. so please treat me as a layman.

    Thanks.
     

Share This Page

Loading...