1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!
  2. We apologize for the disruption in email services! They are sending out now, but there is a backlog, so it may take a little time to catch up.

Root [AT&T] Root my phone

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Chevyman1580, Jan 27, 2013.

  1. Chevyman1580

    Chevyman1580 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    167
    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2013

    Jan 18, 2013
    167
    13
    58
    Male
    Millwright
    Hammond Louisian
    Just wanna know a good guide or site I can read up on this. Using AT&T if that matters like to do this to my phone today. If my little girl gives me the time hehe thank you
     

    Advertisement

  2. UserName872

    UserName872 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    621
    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009

    Nov 4, 2009
    621
    89
    78
    Network Administrator
    Philadelphia, PA
    Take a look at the AT&T Galaxy S3 root sub-forum at the top of the page. There are guides and questions regarding root for this specific model in there.
     
    Chevyman1580 likes this.
  3. Chevyman1580

    Chevyman1580 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    167
    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2013

    Jan 18, 2013
    167
    13
    58
    Male
    Millwright
    Hammond Louisian
    Ok will do thank you
     
  4. Chevyman1580

    Chevyman1580 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    167
    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2013

    Jan 18, 2013
    167
    13
    58
    Male
    Millwright
    Hammond Louisian
    Just so much to do and download scared I'm gonna mess this phone up
     
  5. UserName872

    UserName872 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    621
    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009

    Nov 4, 2009
    621
    89
    78
    Network Administrator
    Philadelphia, PA
    It may seem overwhelming but as long as you follow each step you shouldn't have a problem. I know I was nervous the very first time I rooted my original HTC hero. I believe you can find some videos out there too of people who walkthrough the whole process step-by-step.
     
    Chevyman1580 likes this.
  6. Chevyman1580

    Chevyman1580 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    167
    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2013

    Jan 18, 2013
    167
    13
    58
    Male
    Millwright
    Hammond Louisian
    think i may do that like on youtube eh? ill take a search when my little one gives me time
    we potty training now should be a fun day
     
  7. UserName872

    UserName872 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    621
    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009

    Nov 4, 2009
    621
    89
    78
    Network Administrator
    Philadelphia, PA
    Good luck! Our son is currently potty training as well!
     
  8. Chevyman1580

    Chevyman1580 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    167
    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2013

    Jan 18, 2013
    167
    13
    58
    Male
    Millwright
    Hammond Louisian
    ya i bet its fun with a boy. My little one has picked up pretty quick she must take after her dad :)
    I may look at some youtube videos when she takes her nap at noon
     
  9. lennydude

    lennydude Android Expert
    Rank:
     #157
    Points:
    153
    Posts:
    1,000
    Joined:
    May 19, 2010

    May 19, 2010
    1,000
    244
    153
    Male
    Derivative Trader - AIG "JK"
    Maine USA
    I am using Mark Skip's toolkit to do my rooting. Kit works on all models worldwide!

    I just make my choice and the toolkit does the rest.

    I would rate the kit as 100%. Works awesome.

    Check out this link and do a bit of reading............pretty simple.......AND you can reverse the process easily. Have done this to make sure. Works fine.

    http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=1746665
     
    Chevyman1580 likes this.
  10. Chevyman1580

    Chevyman1580 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    167
    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2013

    Jan 18, 2013
    167
    13
    58
    Male
    Millwright
    Hammond Louisian
    do i need to do a backup or anything?
     
  11. Chevyman1580

    Chevyman1580 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    167
    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2013

    Jan 18, 2013
    167
    13
    58
    Male
    Millwright
    Hammond Louisian
  12. Chevyman1580

    Chevyman1580 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    167
    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2013

    Jan 18, 2013
    167
    13
    58
    Male
    Millwright
    Hammond Louisian
    Can this be done on a Mac?
     
  13. Chevyman1580

    Chevyman1580 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    167
    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2013

    Jan 18, 2013
    167
    13
    58
    Male
    Millwright
    Hammond Louisian
    Followed a YouTube video for Mac and well I failed :( back to the drawing board
     
  14. UserName872

    UserName872 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    621
    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009

    Nov 4, 2009
    621
    89
    78
    Network Administrator
    Philadelphia, PA
    Where did you fail at?
     
  15. Chevyman1580

    Chevyman1580 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    167
    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2013

    Jan 18, 2013
    167
    13
    58
    Male
    Millwright
    Hammond Louisian
    I put phone into that mode it ask me to. Browse the file add the file it said in video. Then added the other one. And clicked start and got some exploit failed error. Figure I quit and read up some more.
     
  16. jackroo

    jackroo Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
     #212
    Points:
    103
    Posts:
    715
    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2012

    Aug 5, 2012
    715
    159
    103
    Male
    Chevyman, are you running 4.1.1 on your S3? I'm trying to find a way to root my Sprint S3 4.1.1 using a Mac as well.
     
  17. Chevyman1580

    Chevyman1580 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    167
    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2013

    Jan 18, 2013
    167
    13
    58
    Male
    Millwright
    Hammond Louisian
  18. jackroo

    jackroo Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
     #212
    Points:
    103
    Posts:
    715
    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2012

    Aug 5, 2012
    715
    159
    103
    Male
    What are you using to try and root?
     
  19. Chevyman1580

    Chevyman1580 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    167
    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2013

    Jan 18, 2013
    167
    13
    58
    Male
    Millwright
    Hammond Louisian
    Nothing now at work. Haven't looked up anything since the other day. What I tryed is a couple post up.
     
  20. jackroo

    jackroo Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
     #212
    Points:
    103
    Posts:
    715
    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2012

    Aug 5, 2012
    715
    159
    103
    Male
    I wish there was an easy method for rooting using a Mac.
     
  21. Chevyman1580

    Chevyman1580 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    167
    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2013

    Jan 18, 2013
    167
    13
    58
    Male
    Millwright
    Hammond Louisian
    Ya seems to be a bit more time consuming with it.
     
  22. Mikestony

    Mikestony ~30% Carbon Black ±
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #6
    Points:
    3,118
    Posts:
    28,555
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2010

    Sep 10, 2010
    28,555
    21,995
    3,118
    Male
    Next to you
    Hey guys!
    I moved your thread here so others can help out:)
     
  23. Chevyman1580

    Chevyman1580 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    167
    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2013

    Jan 18, 2013
    167
    13
    58
    Male
    Millwright
    Hammond Louisian
    Thank you sorry about that
     
  24. Mikestony

    Mikestony ~30% Carbon Black ±
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #6
    Points:
    3,118
    Posts:
    28,555
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2010

    Sep 10, 2010
    28,555
    21,995
    3,118
    Male
    Next to you
    No worries Chevy! :) It's my job! moving stuff around :p
     
  25. Chevyman1580

    Chevyman1580 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    167
    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2013

    Jan 18, 2013
    167
    13
    58
    Male
    Millwright
    Hammond Louisian
    Gonna do some more reading tonight see if I can git it
     

Share This Page

Loading...