1. Are you ready for the Galaxy S20? Here is everything we know so far!

[AT&T] SIM card not recgnized, Help!

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by redraider25, May 17, 2014.

  1. redraider25

    redraider25 Newbie
    Thread Starter

    Well, I just picked up a replacement HTC One after my previous unit had speaker problems. I decided to root it and now I have have run into a problem. Seems to me that the root process went fine, however, the phone is not recognizing my SIM card. I have been looking around the threads here and I have not been able to come up with a fix. The kicker to the whole thing is that when I was trying to reload a rom (because I thought I had a bad download) I accidentally deleted my stock backup. I don't know how much trouble I am in but if anyone has a solution it would be much appreciated. Thanks in advance.

    If you need more information just let me know, I am not a pro at this but I have been through it a few times.
     

    Advertisement

  2. BRAINZ2013

    BRAINZ2013 Extreme Android User

    Hmmmmm you have a problem with the sims. Maybe the sims card just died
     
  3. redraider25

    redraider25 Newbie
    Thread Starter

    I guess that could have happened, however, it was working fine before rooting. Have you ever heard of rooting frying a SIM card? Is that common?
     
  4. BRAINZ2013

    BRAINZ2013 Extreme Android User

    Yes . hey I have to admit something . when I was new to this without knowing anything about androids I said and thought that the carrier hacked the phone.:eek::D:rolleyes::what: I felt so dumb asking but yes it has happened
    I did it to 3 of my phones upon rooting
     
  5. redraider25

    redraider25 Newbie
    Thread Starter

    i just flashed a new copy of CM11 nightly 20140425 and during the initial setup I got an error message which reads "Insert SIM card - you need to refer to the SIM card instructions that came with your phone"

    I have reinserted the SIM card multiple times, maybe it did get fried but I don't think so. I found a thread about a different phone with this problem and there was a solution through adb but I am hesitant to use it since it is for another phone. Any advice?

    Also, all of the other functions (wifi, camera, bluetooth etc) are working fine. Thanks in advance
     
  6. redraider25

    redraider25 Newbie
    Thread Starter

    Well I am not trying to get a stock rom back on my phone because I somehow erased my nandroid backup of the stock rom. I have tried a few methods I have found on this site and none have worked. When I try to flash the RUU through recovery I get a failed message.

    Any help or a point in the right direction would be great...thanks in advance.
     
  7. BRAINZ2013

    BRAINZ2013 Extreme Android User

    You can't just try any ruu did u have the correct one with correct also do u have another device to test sims card in
     
  8. redraider25

    redraider25 Newbie
    Thread Starter

    this is the RUU that I tried -

    RUU Zip M7_UL_JB43_SENSE50_MR_Cingular_US_3.17.502.3-decrypted.zip

    Is this the correct one? If not can you direct me to correct one? The only other phone I have access to is an AT&T iphone 4s. I don't even know if the sim cards are the same size. I know the iphone 3 had a larger sim card. If it is the same size card and I put it in the iphone 4s will it just work or do I have to do something to check it. Any help would be appreciated.

    About to go pick up a burner phone until I can hopefully get this resolved.
     
  9. clsA

    clsA Android Enthusiast

    the 4s uses the same sim
    you need the RUU.exe you can't flash a decrypted RUU unless your s-off and you can't downgrade if your phone is already 4.xx.502.x you need a RUU above 3.xx

    also some of the older HTC one's had a defective sim card tray and there was a trick using a piece of tape on the back of the sim to make it thicker
    (be careful trying anything like this as the tape could come off and be stuck inside the phone... not good!)
     
    scotty85 likes this.
  10. redraider25

    redraider25 Newbie
    Thread Starter

    how can I tell if my phone already has 4.xx.502.x? Also can you direct me to a specific RUU.exe which should work? Finally, I know how to flash zips but what do I do with the .exe file? Sorry if these are all lame questions, just in over my head I think.

    Thanks in advance
     
  11. redraider25

    redraider25 Newbie
    Thread Starter

    quick update - I tested my sim card in another phone and it worked fine. earlier today my sim card was magically recognized for about 30 min followed by multiple reboots, one after another. It was not a boot loop because it would fully load the rom but then a couple of minutes after it would just reboot itself. I am looking at using
    Guru Reset M7 1.26.502.12


    to try to get back to stock. I know i need and otg cable and I will pick one up tomorrow. does anyone have experience with this. I am starting to think the root process somehow messed up my radio. any suggestions before I try this?


    Thanks in advance - I did go pick up a burner phone today, had to go old school with a flip phone, haha
     
  12. clsA

    clsA Android Enthusiast

    The OS version is in the bootloader

    here is the 4.3 RUU exe
    RUU M7 UL JB43 SENSE50 MR Cingular US 3.17.502.3 Radio 4A.19.3263.13 10.38j.1157.04 Release 334235 Signed 2 - HTC1Guru

    and here's the 4.4.2 RUU exe
    AndroidRUU | The #1 source for Android RUU files
     
    redraider25 and scotty85 like this.
  13. redraider25

    redraider25 Newbie
    Thread Starter

    Not sure if this needs a new thread but here it goes.

    well I am running out of options. because I erased my original nandroid several days ago I went ahead and reformatted my phone and erased all of the crap I have tried to do to it the last several days.

    I tried the 4.3 RUU.exe listed above to no avail. Before running the program I relocked my bootloader and followed in installation wizard. everything seemed to go good and the phone rebooted, and then rebooted again and again. It loads to the white screen with the green htc and after about 2 minutes it just reboots. it then loads to the exact same spot and reboots again. I really don't know what else to do because now my bootloader is locked and the RUU flashed a stock recovery. when i click on recovery from the bootloader all I get is and image of the phone with a red triangle. below is what my bootloader says

    ***relocked***
    M7_UL PVT SHIP S-ON RH
    HBOOT-1.55.0000
    RADIO-4A.19.3263.13
    OpenDSP-v31.120.274.0617
    OS-3.17.502.3
    eMMC-boot 2048MB
    (date and time)

    if anyone has any idea of what else I can do I will be in your debt. Thanks for the help in advance
     
  14. redraider25

    redraider25 Newbie
    Thread Starter

    update - now as the phone reboots on its own I am not hearing the "song" played as the ATT globe comes on the screen and then i get a request to allow debugging on this computer (it is plugged in). after i click ok it just reboots again. Just wanted to add that incase it helps diagnose the problem.

    Is there a diagnostics that I can run to see if something is wrong? I have not idea just thinking out loud...Thanks in advance, btw I love my new flip phone
     
  15. clsA

    clsA Android Enthusiast

    From the bootloader choose recovery and then push power + vol up to see the menu. from here try and clear the cache and/or factory reset.

    Did the RUU finish with no error's ?
     
    scotty85 likes this.
  16. redraider25

    redraider25 Newbie
    Thread Starter

    yup, the RUU finished with no problems (actually had a huge ray of hope when it finished)

    From the bootloader when I choose recovery and try to push power + vol up the buttons on the bottom flash a few times and I get the white htc screen but then it goes black, then back to white screen with htc and a slight vibrate, then back to black. Ultimately it winds up back to the image of the phone with a red triangle.

    in the bootloader i have the option of factory reset should i try that? thanks for the help
     
    scotty85 likes this.
  17. redraider25

    redraider25 Newbie
    Thread Starter

    update - now my phone will boot to the screen where the set up begins and asks to set up my account and connect to wifi, then again, it reboots and loads to that same point and reboots...

    Any ideas?
     
  18. clsA

    clsA Android Enthusiast

    Flash the RUU again
     
    scotty85 likes this.
  19. redraider25

    redraider25 Newbie
    Thread Starter

    I have flashed it twice now and still the same result. I did find through some more reading that in the OS my baseband says "unknown", however when I getvar all my baseband has a number. I don't know if that means I am screwed but I will keep trying, going to run the RUU again

    Thanks
     
    scotty85 likes this.
  20. redraider25

    redraider25 Newbie
    Thread Starter

    I have tried to run ruu.exe several times and I am not getting anywhere, does anyone have another ideaa? I am about to just chunk this thing and find something else..
     
    scotty85 likes this.
  21. clsA

    clsA Android Enthusiast

    If your running the RUU and the Phone will not boot after
    Your phone is broken (hardware)
    Theirs nothing you can do for broken hardware besides sending it in for repair.
     
    scotty85 likes this.
  22. scotty85

    scotty85 Extreme Android User

    did you try the factory reset? if not,then do so... if you did,then you prolly do have some sort of hardware malfunction :( successful install of signed ruu+factory reset is about as good as it gets to fix software/firmware issues.
     
Loading...
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...