1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root [AT&T] To root or not to root, that is the question..

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Eldarwen, Jan 23, 2013.

1. Eldarwen

Eldarwen Lurker
    None

Jan 23, 2013
    Right, I'm a complete noob at modding anything software and therefor also terrified to make an error.

I love my phone (Galaxy S3 using android 4.0.4) but I hate some of the useless apps that I can't uninstall from my phone because the manufacturer decided they want it on there. What I also hate is that I can't move apps and pics etc to SD so my phone is stuffed to the limit but my sd card is picking it's nose. And I don't know whether rooting my device will help me fix these things and maybe (since I heard about jailbreaking providing more free apps which otherwise would have required payment) also expand my app world.

Does rooting really change the complete look of your phone? is it easy to undo if you're not happy with it? Will regular apps from google play be affected (I'm a Sims addict, shame on me hahaha)? What do you have to back-up? and will my phone stop bugging me whenever I try to dock it to my laptop (mtp sync crash)? And are the instructions you find on the internet universal or just for the USA (I live in The Netherlands and have a Dutch phone with Vodafone)

I know that's a lot of questions. But I'm ready to fix my phone since I now have the inssuficient data notice popping up every day no matter how much I uninstall.

Thank you for your time

Advertisement

2. Unforgiven

Unforgiven I didn't know there were cacti in Aruba.

Jun 23, 2010
    Male
    Douglas, MA
    A lot of questions here. I'll do my best to answer the ones I can.:)
    All of us were noobs when we started, no worries there.:D