1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General AT&T Unlocked Galaxy S3 I747 for Metro/Tmobile

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by afroag, Dec 27, 2013.

  1. afroag

    afroag Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    39
    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013

    Dec 27, 2013
    39
    7
    16
    I was gonna buy one off of ebay but before I did that, I wanted to see if anyone has done this and if the S3 works properly on MetroPCS. For those of you that have done this have there been any problems, bad battery life, poor connectivity? Metro's lack of good mid range phones is driving me crazy.

    Its between the S3 and HTC One S but the One S doesn't have a microSD for all my music.
     

    Advertisement

  2. Mikessv

    Mikessv Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    643
    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2011

    Oct 11, 2011
    643
    100
    93
    Male
    Well I have that exact phone and I'm using T-Mobile, which Metro runs off of. They say At&t phones can't use certain frequencies that T-Mobile has such as the 1700 and 2100 network but a lot of places are still using 1900 which At&t uses. To tell the truth it works great for me and I even pulled a 40,000 mbps speed test on full lte.
     
  3. Mikessv

    Mikessv Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    643
    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2011

    Oct 11, 2011
    643
    100
    93
    Male
    Make sure the phone is carrier unlocked though
     
  4. afroag

    afroag Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    39
    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013

    Dec 27, 2013
    39
    7
    16
  5. afroag

    afroag Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    39
    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013

    Dec 27, 2013
    39
    7
    16
    I am not very family with phone frequencies. Is the 1700 euivalent of 2G or something like that? what part of the country are you in? I mean if the S3 works for you then thats all the confirmation I need right?

    How's the battery life? and can you upgrade the phone to 4.3?
     
  6. Mikessv

    Mikessv Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    643
    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2011

    Oct 11, 2011
    643
    100
    93
    Male
    It just means that T-Mobile use different frequencys on their towers. 1700 and 2100 I believe are lte but like I said I have the same phone and I have lte because they started using 1900 also. I'm in New Jersey and I can't comment on battery life because I'm rooted and running a custom rom.

    Yes you can upgrade to 4.3 though I'm running 4.4
     

Share This Page

Loading...