1. Are you ready for the Galaxy S20? Here is everything we know so far!

AT&T vs. Verizon Dilema

Discussion in 'Android Lounge' started by Randizzledante, Sep 9, 2011.

1. Randizzledante

Hey everybody, I'm a newbie here on the forums, and I find myself in a bit of a pickle.

So I bought an iPhone 3G (on AT&T obviously) when they first came out. As such, I also got the unlimited data plan. Fast forward to nowadays, I have an iPhone 4, and was grandfathered into the unlimited data after they switched to tiered plans.

For a while now, though, I've wanted to switch to Verizon. Most of my friends use it, and their coverage is generally better in my area (as well as in family places that I visit). So today, I went and grabbed a Droid Bionic at Costco (for the awesome deal they had) and am now hooked up with a 2GB data plan.

After review of some AT&T stats, I've never even come close to using 2GB of data in one month, but not having the unlimited option available is already starting to make me uneasy. I absolutely LOVE the Bionic, and am not missing my iPhone at all. My only nagging concern is that at some point in the future, I am going to deeply regret losing my unlimited data (and hell, maybe even switching - the GSII is sounding better and better). It seems android + 4G is going to be making me use my phone's internet quite a bit more.

I have 14 days to take everything back, cancel my new account, etc etc. What would you all?

TL;DR - AT&T w/ unlimited data, or Verizon w/ 2GB plan

Advertisement

2. Mostly Harmless

Mostly Harmless Android Expert

These phone companies are robbing us blind, giving us phones with faster connections that will allow us to use more data and then restricting the data plans. I am glad you court onto the scam. I am not really sure what you should do, but the lack of unlimited plans is keeping me put.

3. Dcastnick

Dcastnick Newbie