1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root atrix lost root with 2.3.6 upgrade

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by racypdx, Feb 17, 2012.

  1. racypdx

    racypdx Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2012

    Feb 17, 2012
    5
    0
    5
    just got the phone. love it. rooted it with a one-click program. perfect. started loading programs. then decided to check for system upgrades, not knowing what it really did.

    not root. apps broken or not showing up.

    - How can i root this new 2.3.6 ?

    - or how can i revert to 2.3.4, which worked perfectly and came with t he phone?

    I only had it rooted for a couple days, so i hadn't backed up anything yet - which means i didn't know how yet.

    is there anything i can do?

    thank you, all.
     

    Advertisement

  2. arana

    arana Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    11
    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2011

    Oct 14, 2011
    11
    0
    15
    try running the same one click app again.

    i also have the 2.3.4 and dont want to update until i know exactly how to root, and when i am sure my webtop hack will still work
     
  3. arana

    arana Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    11
    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2011

    Oct 14, 2011
    11
    0
    15
    repeated reply, dont know how to delete, please mods delete this one
     
  4. racypdx

    racypdx Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2012

    Feb 17, 2012
    5
    0
    5
    trust me, i tried Pete's one-click root as soon as i realized what happened. no go. Fails. they must have fixed the exploit. sofar, there's about zilch on the net regarding this problem.


     
  5. idjpg85

    idjpg85 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2012

    Feb 21, 2012
    2
    0
    5
    Guide can be found @ androidadvices dot com/root-motorola-atrix-4g-45141-gingerbread-236-firmware/2/

    Had to use the alt method but it worked great, hope it helps!
     
  6. racypdx

    racypdx Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2012

    Feb 17, 2012
    5
    0
    5
    you rock! i am saved. thankyou, worked first time.
     
  7. fillefilander

    fillefilander Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2011

    Aug 19, 2011
    2
    0
    5
    It doesn't work for me, I can't get past this bit:

    "After this, your phone will be rebooted. Wait for the phone to get rebooted and then you need to type in the command as
     
  8. djedgarftw

    djedgarftw Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    493
    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2012

    Feb 16, 2012
    493
    49
    43
    Male
    dj, body worker
    Texas
    Keep on going and make sure you put it in debugging mode before you go into fastboot at the beginning
     

Share This Page

Loading...