1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root atrix update cause unroot?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Lilardoin85, Apr 5, 2011.

  1. Lilardoin85

    Lilardoin85 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2011

    Mar 4, 2011
    1
    0
    5
    So I upgraded my device with the new software for the Motorola atrix
    My device was rooted prior before this updated but now when
    I use root checker is says its not rooted. I try to use super click
    again to root the phone but it doesn't work anymore..... it his keeps getting
    stuck saying running .... I even tried unchecking debugging option
    And it still doesn't work. Is there any other way or place to root my device
    Again? Am I suppose to redownload the drivers since the software upgrade?
    Super user icon is still showing on my phone also and doesn't allow me to
    Remove it or unroot my device.
     

    Advertisement

  2. mdram

    mdram Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    559
    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2010

    Nov 16, 2010
    559
    58
    78
    Engineer
    Maryland
    i had this issue on my fascinate after an update
    you have to get temp root, then unroot
    then reboot and reroot

    forget the one click, do it all manual
     
  3. Yeahha

    Yeahha Usually off topic
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    813
    Posts:
    10,472
    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010

    Jul 29, 2010
    10,472
    4,693
    813
    ...
    FG
    If you update with an official update you will lose root. You will either need to flash back to an older version or wait until someone gets the scripts written for a root on the OTA...might want to check out the Atrix forums. Motorola Atrix 4G - Android Forums
     
  4. Roze

    Roze Hiding behind a mystery
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    9,813
    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010

    Jan 20, 2010
    9,813
    2,184
    333
    Where the Sakura grows
    I've moved the thread to the Atrix root forum.
     
    james27007 and Lilardoin85 like this.
  5. Rred

    Rred Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    26
    Posts:
    77
    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2010

    Sep 23, 2010
    77
    9
    26
    Dead link, Roze. Was it scrubbed, or moved again?
     
  6. Roze

    Roze Hiding behind a mystery
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    9,813
    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010

    Jan 20, 2010
    9,813
    2,184
    333
    Where the Sakura grows
  7. james27007

    james27007 Look into my Eye
    Rank:
     #106
    Points:
    193
    Posts:
    1,187
    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010

    Mar 6, 2010
    1,187
    466
    193
    Male
    Travel and teaching for tech and automotive
    Riverside, CA
    Yea that link was to an old script that was used to move the root files to a folder that the update does not touch, then moves the root files back. Which gave root after the update. There are multiple issues with that method, so the thread was removed. Personally it was not a clean method and can cause issues, so I do not recommend using it I'd you happen to try.

    However gingerbreak works great and does not require root before you update. Check out the thread Roze linked to about Gingerbreak. If anyone has any questions about it or needs help, please PM me.

    Also check out this thread http://androidforums.com/atrix-4g-all-things-root/352510-atrix-rooting-help.html for install help.
     
  8. cys920622

    cys920622 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    63
    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2011

    Apr 16, 2011
    63
    4
    16
    Canada
    This happened to me too. After that recent Bell update, my root privileges got revoked. None of these methods seem as foolproof as Superoneclick and I'm not code-savvy enough to avoid bricking my phone, so I guess I'll have to patiently wait for gingerbread...
     
  9. Roze

    Roze Hiding behind a mystery
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    9,813
    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010

    Jan 20, 2010
    9,813
    2,184
    333
    Where the Sakura grows

    How's your phone after the update? I am not sure giving up root is worth it for the Bell upsate
     
    james27007 likes this.
  10. ultradroid

    ultradroid So many android phones...
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    472
    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2010

    Apr 24, 2010
    472
    71
    53
    Title Insurance Underwriter
    Cleveland, Ohio - the North Coast!
    Hey Roze - you changed your avatar! :thinking:

    -Mike
     
  11. cys920622

    cys920622 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    63
    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2011

    Apr 16, 2011
    63
    4
    16
    Canada
    No noticeable change for me... other than that Adfree can't do it's thing anymore! (which is annoying... wasting data on ads isn't cool).


    ALSO... come to think of it, I can't unfreeze apps in Titanium Backup now without root!!! This might bar me from OTA updates to Gingerbread. Not good...

    On that note, is it possible to "flash" back to a backup I did with CWM? I'm not so android-savvy yet so I don't even know if that's possible, but I did make a full backup.
     
  12. Roze

    Roze Hiding behind a mystery
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    9,813
    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010

    Jan 20, 2010
    9,813
    2,184
    333
    Where the Sakura grows

    I don't think so since cwm is not a full system backup like an sbf. Also you don't have root anymore unless one of the devs added root to the newest Bell Atrix version.
     
  13. cys920622

    cys920622 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    63
    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2011

    Apr 16, 2011
    63
    4
    16
    Canada
    Sigh... looks like the easiest way out of this is a factory reset (I think).
     
  14. Roze

    Roze Hiding behind a mystery
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    9,813
    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010

    Jan 20, 2010
    9,813
    2,184
    333
    Where the Sakura grows
    I have decided not to go for the update. I don't think the benefits is worth it takes lose root... and reroot if XDA got a fix on it.
    @your adfree post, I think that it's not working for a LOT of phones if you read the reviews on the market.
     
  15. ultradroid

    ultradroid So many android phones...
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    472
    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2010

    Apr 24, 2010
    472
    71
    53
    Title Insurance Underwriter
    Cleveland, Ohio - the North Coast!
    Roze, am I clear on this - it's a *Canadian* update you're talking about, not an update for AT&T users - Right? I was trying to figure out what recent update I missed out on, since my last update was the first day I got the phone, back in very early May.

    Thanks!

    -Mike
     
  16. james27007

    james27007 Look into my Eye
    Rank:
     #106
    Points:
    193
    Posts:
    1,187
    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010

    Mar 6, 2010
    1,187
    466
    193
    Male
    Travel and teaching for tech and automotive
    Riverside, CA
    Yep, the update Roze is talking about is the Canada update. 4.1.83 is the last one we have on the AT&T Atrix right now
     
    ultradroid likes this.
  17. Infinite-t

    Infinite-t Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    412
    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010

    Jul 23, 2010
    412
    74
    53
    cys920622, james27007 and Roze like this.
  18. Roze

    Roze Hiding behind a mystery
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    9,813
    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010

    Jan 20, 2010
    9,813
    2,184
    333
    Where the Sakura grows
  19. cys920622

    cys920622 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    63
    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2011

    Apr 16, 2011
    63
    4
    16
    Canada
    I can confirm this, I re-rooted my atrix yesterday using gingerbreak.
    Sadly, I only backed up the SD card and not the phone memory so I ended up using data recovery software to get all my photos back.

    So let that be a warning to everyone... this didn't wipe my SD card but it did wipe the 11GB storage space within the phone.
     

Share This Page

Loading...