1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

ATT Rep: We'll give you 4g but take away your unlimited data

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by sw33ndawg, Feb 22, 2011.

  1. sw33ndawg

    sw33ndawg Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    119
    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2011

    Feb 8, 2011
    119
    14
    38
    So the ATT rep told me today they can't upgrade my phone to be 4g capable unless I give up my unlimited data package. I took the phone and said bye. Can any ATT employees confirm this? Do they really have to upgrade something on my plan to be 4g capable and will it get rid of my unlimited data?
     

    Advertisement

  2. evilbastard

    evilbastard Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    137
    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2011

    Feb 13, 2011
    137
    10
    38
    Sounds like he didn't know what he was talking about, is the "4G" even available in your area?
     
  3. zizo79

    zizo79 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    251
    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2011

    Feb 5, 2011
    251
    29
    43
    PA
    Some reps are just misinformed and make themselves look stupid. You should be able to keep your unlimited plan, just ask to speak to a manager..
     
  4. roush611

    roush611 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    94
    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010

    Sep 21, 2010
    94
    20
    18
    Yes you can keep it. The proper soc code for it is hsdppb.
     
    sw33ndawg and Ballotechnic like this.
  5. MarcMaiden

    MarcMaiden Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    590
    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010

    Jan 13, 2010
    590
    201
    113
    Bay Area, ca
    +1
     
  6. sw33ndawg

    sw33ndawg Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    119
    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2011

    Feb 8, 2011
    119
    14
    38
    I have absolutely no idea what a soc code is. Is this something I can manually enter to activate hspa+?
     
  7. MarcMaiden

    MarcMaiden Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    590
    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010

    Jan 13, 2010
    590
    201
    113
    Bay Area, ca
    soc code is the code each plan is associated with.

    MSG4 = family messaging
    DPPB = Unlimited 3g
    HSDPPB = Unlimited 4g

    I've kept every customer upgrading to 4g to unlimited and you should be no different.

    You can tell the rep in the store the soc code if he doubts you and watch him be blown away
     
    sw33ndawg likes this.
  8. sw33ndawg

    sw33ndawg Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    119
    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2011

    Feb 8, 2011
    119
    14
    38
    should I just call customer service from the phone and have them do this?
     
  9. roush611

    roush611 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    94
    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010

    Sep 21, 2010
    94
    20
    18

    LOL yes it is real fun doing this!!!!!
     
  10. MarcMaiden

    MarcMaiden Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    590
    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010

    Jan 13, 2010
    590
    201
    113
    Bay Area, ca
    yeah they should have no problem doing it
     
  11. sw33ndawg

    sw33ndawg Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    119
    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2011

    Feb 8, 2011
    119
    14
    38
    can I check somewhere on either the phone or the att website to see what my current soc code is?
     
  12. MarcMaiden

    MarcMaiden Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    590
    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010

    Jan 13, 2010
    590
    201
    113
    Bay Area, ca
    my wireless app on the phone or att.com


    under the data section it should say "X mb out of unlimited"
     
  13. sw33ndawg

    sw33ndawg Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    119
    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2011

    Feb 8, 2011
    119
    14
    38
    no no, not to see if I have unlimited. to see if I have the 4g plan rather than the 3g.
     
  14. roush611

    roush611 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    94
    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010

    Sep 21, 2010
    94
    20
    18

    The easiest way is going to be to call ATT or go to a store. The my wireless does not tell you soc codes. If you message me your number and zip I can let you know what you have.
     
  15. kenio8185

    kenio8185 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    86
    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2010

    Oct 15, 2010
    86
    5
    16
    Wait, they're making people pay extra for HSPA+ and calling that 4G?

    Wow, I'm glad I'm not in America, that's awful.
     
  16. k00ey

    k00ey Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    80
    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2010

    Jul 3, 2010
    80
    5
    16
    Went to a radio shack today and my brother was trying to upgrade from an iphone 3g to the atrix. Was told that because the iphone had its own "iphone" data plan, it could not be grandfathered. The rep basically said if he had any other type of smartphone instead they would have been able to. Can anyone confirm this?
     
  17. thasiccest13

    thasiccest13 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2011

    Feb 20, 2011
    10
    0
    15
    I have the unlimited iphone data plan.
    I upgraded my other line my moms (took off the data) and was going to put my sim in the atrix.
    Will this work? I am in Los Angeles so I want the 4g speeds but don't want to lose my unlimited iPhone plan in case Android and I don't get along, lol

    Thanks,
    Eric
     
  18. zizo79

    zizo79 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    251
    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2011

    Feb 5, 2011
    251
    29
    43
    PA
    Dont listen to that..you sbould be able to keep it! I kept mine, I radioshack doesn't have the ability to look up your account like att. Just go to at&t and they will price match the shack
     
  19. zizo79

    zizo79 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    251
    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2011

    Feb 5, 2011
    251
    29
    43
    PA

    The iphone uses a micro SIM card and it wont fit in the Atrix
     
  20. thasiccest13

    thasiccest13 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2011

    Feb 20, 2011
    10
    0
    15
    I have a sim adapter. That makes the sim standard size.
     

Share This Page

Loading...